jump to navigation

The Generous Eyes of Spirit June 20, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
comments closed

Our perspective on life changes drastically when we look at issues through the generous eyes of Spirit, rather than through the clouded lens of Ego.

When we abandon Ego’s attempt to control the environment around us (a virtual impossibility) and learn to embrace Spirit’s  acceptance of the world (both without and within), we flow more gently through life.

Instead of shaking our fist at the sky in a futile attempt to stop the rain from falling, we embrace the rain with joy . . . by splashing around in the puddles.

Quotes to Ponder:

* Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass . . . it’s about learning how to dance in the rain.  ~ Vivian Greene

* Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance. ~ Anonymous

* The purpose of our lives is to be happy. ~ Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama

* Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm,
but to add color to my sunset sky. ~ 
Rabindranath Tagore

Artwork by Maitte Van Arsdel ~ available at Island Gallery West.

No rules.  Just write!

Related posts:  Growing Wiser With GraceAdvice From Erma * Dare to Make Mistakes * When I Am An Old Woman * Life Lessons ~ Randy Pausch * The Awakening by Sonny Carroll

The Value of a Dollar June 20, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Less IS More, Poetry, Sustainable Living.
comments closed
Lithograph of

Poor Richard’s Almanac ~ Lessons for the Young & Old on Industry, Temperance, & Frugality by Benjamin Franklin

As a kid
I understood
The value of a dollar.

I scrimped and saved
For rainy days
As Poor Richard did before me.

“A penny saved
Is a penny earned,”
Franklin did admonish

My mom’s thrift
Mirrored his
No surprise ~ she’s Scottish

Frugal, I am
Scrooge, I am not
I just don’t spend what I don’t got!

No rules.  Just write!

What about you?

Would you describe yourself as thrifty and frugal?  Or extravagant to the extreme?  Are you miserly and mean like Scrooge . . . or something in between?

Related posts:  Thrifty, Frugal, or Cheap  (Respiratory Therapy) * You Better Stop Shopping Around * I Don’t Want Stuff Anymore (Raptitude) * Take ChargeThose Alluring Lures * Annie Leonard & The Story of Stuff  * OMPM: Overkill