jump to navigation

Unusual Angles June 24, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
comments closed

Donald-DuckaSLTW often offers an unusual angle or slant on issues like bullying,  marriage, infidelity, suicide, and religion.

When we think for ourselves about matters of import, rather than accepting the “standard wisdom” on a subject, people may look at us a bit askance.

If we shrug off their censure, it throws them for a loop . . .  because they view the goal of life as conformity.

They want to fit in with the pack.

Not me . . . I’m no longer interested in playing Follow The LeaderSimon SaysMother May I? or Monkey See, Monkey Do.

I feel far more balanced now than when I viewed life through the skewed and clouded lens of the fearful and fragile Ego.

I’m no longer thrown “off kilter” by looking over my shoulder to emulate others or conform to their expectations.

My life is my own . . . with all its unusual angles.

Quotes to Ponder:

* He who trims himself to suit everyone else will soon whittle himself away. ~Raymond Hull

* The Spiritual path requires renunciation, a letting go of attachment to self-centered Ego concerns, such as the desire for approval.

* Nature does not ask, “what do they want me to be?”  Its glory lies in its authenticity.

No rules.  Just write!

What about you?

Do you worry about what “they” think of you?  Or do you embrace the unusual angles and unique slant of your life?

Related posts:  Sidey’s Weekend Theme ~ Unusual AnglesAngle Kingdoms in England (Adee) * Unusual Angles ~ Butterfly (Reflections) *Unusual Angles  (Woman Wielding Words) * Unusual Angles ~ Video (Adee’s Blog) * Unusual Angles (Sidey) * He’s Got A Nose For It (Laughing Housewife)

Art as a Way of Life June 24, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Magick & Mystery, Nature.
comments closed

LE3502Need some inspiration to get your creative juices flowing?

Roderick MacIver inspires those who read his words (and admire his paintings) to look within and access the creative spirit . . . by stepping into the flow of life:

We each have a spiritual current that runs through our lives ~ a river. Connected to that current, our work, our life, has power.

I constantly ask myself: What is my relationship to that current? Am I letting it guide me or am I forcing my will upon my life?

When I am connected, my life has flow. The most amazing things happen. Help comes my way, I meet “fellow-travelers,” people whose energy supports mine, and we both come away reinforced. Doors open. Bills get paid. In a good month, I spend about a third of my time in that state of synchronicity.

Being in touch with the spiritual current means first being able to listen to oneself, being in sync with oneself.

You need silence to get there. Work of the spirit requires strength of spirit.

~ Roderick MacIver, from Issue 13 of Heron Dance

Be inspired! Live, work and love in the flow of the creative spirit.

No rules. Just write!

Artwork available at Roderick MacIver Arts.  The beauty of Rod’s art lies in his ability NOT to control all aspects of the water ~ he allows it latitude to do its thing while he does his. The result speaks for itself.