jump to navigation

Fun with Numbers: Take Charge September 4, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Less IS More, Life Balance, Sustainable Living.
trackback
TaiwanMoney contactless Smart card in use, a c...

Wikipedia ~ Taiwan Money Card (in Public Domain)

Many Americans are in debt up to their eyeballs.

They want more than they can afford.

They want the latest and greatest, even before they’ve finished paying for their last spending spree.

Personally, I’d rather put something aside for a rainy day, than shop until I drop, but to each his own.

However, if you are in debt due to excess consumption (rather than loss of employment), please don’t play the victim.

The other night, an advertisement came on with the central message:

Credit card debt can happen to anyone.”  

The message really struck a nerve with me, since it implied that a debtor in the target audience had somehow been acted upon, instead of being the actor who pulled the card out of his or her wallet while uttering the magic word, “Charge!”

Tornadoes can happen to anyone.  Floods can happen to anyone.  Credit card debt does not happen to anyone.

Take charge of your card, and you will be in charge of your life.

Related article:  Strategies to Pay Off Credit Card Debt (Wallet Pop)

Related posts:  I Need A ThneedYou Better Stop Shopping Around * Those Alluring Lures * Annie Leonard & The Story of Stuff 

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - September 4, 2010

Been there, done that, got the (expensive) T-shirt.
It took some doing, but that’s all behind now.

Nancy, I’m with you on this, despite my love for gadgets.

I choke when I hear announcers on the radio saying, “now get the relief from debt that YOU DESERVE.” In fact I’ve written about it on UhW.

We have become a country of victims to a large, invisible force. We are never to blame. It is they, them, the others, the parents, the schools, the government, the church, the culture. It is never ourself. I wonder how that can be.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

Yes. Yes. Yes.

We need to stop being “victims” and realize our part in the structure of our lives. : )

2. Loreen Lee - September 4, 2010

Just a reminder, nrhatch. Didn’t you promise us (US) an explanation on how the math puzzles worked? Gonna treat that as a debit owing, OK, because I’m sure I’m not the only one curious, and ‘in-debted’ to your superior intelligence. I trust the explanation will be forthcoming and the debt/obligation on a promise will be paid.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

Solution to the Laugh Calculator: Tomorrow at 4 pm!

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/fun-with-math-laugh-calculator/

3. Joanne - September 4, 2010

I took charge a long time ago and cut the cards up. Now, my employment status is not the most stable, but I do see a light at the end of the tunnel where debt is concerned.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

When we’re not paying down debt, it frees us to live life more fully.

Congrats!

4. souldipper - September 4, 2010

Good exposure to victimhood and blame games.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

Agreed!

5. booksphotographsandartwork - September 4, 2010

how about medical bills? although yes i know some or i should say a lot of people get into debt just because of wanting grown up toys.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

I’m talking about those with “debt due to excess consumption.”

Unless someone’s a hypochondriac, medical bills are rarely due to “excess consumption.”

So, they’re exempt from this PSA. ; )

6. aardvarkian - September 4, 2010

Never again will I have a credit card. Never again, I tell you!

Any chance of a tenner until Friday? I’m good for it.

nrhatch - September 4, 2010

Ha Ha! Credit of a different color (or colour)!

I shall gladly accept repayment on Tuesday.

7. cindy - September 5, 2010

I learned the hard way, being a freelancer means you’re never sure you can make your credit card payments on time. If I shop, I pay cash.
Excellent post Nancy.

nrhatch - September 5, 2010

It’s too easy to overspend with “pretend” plastic money. When we have to fish actual bills out of our wallets, it gives us “cause for pause.”

“Hmm . . . do I really need another thneed???”


What Say YOU?

