jump to navigation

Are You Smarter Than A Librarian? March 3, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, People, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Tiggers-R-UsA few weeks ago, we played a trivia game, Are You Smarter Than A Librarian?, at the Central Library in Bradenton.

Seven teams competed, responding to 31 questions:

Three teams got 20-22 correct.
The top three teams scored 25, 24, and 23.

BFF and I came in last!
We got 17/31 correct.

3D-ApeOur last place finish didn’t bother us since the other teams had 4 or 5 members searching their collective gray matter for answers.  We were the only 2 person team competing.

Plus, the questions we missed addressed things we never knew, not stuff we knew but couldn’t recall.

For example:

# What does the “VSOP” on Cognac bottles mean?  We got as far as “Very Special Old” . . . but the “P” stumped us.

# We didn’t know the month & year Osama bin Laden bit the dust, but the fact that we lacked that fact doesn’t bother me a bit ~> what matters to me is that he, like Jacob Marley, is “deader than a doornail.”

# We missed questions about the TV series “Scandal” and other TV shows we’ve never watched.

Donald-Duck-Baseball# We were way off base when asked how many singles the Beatles released in 1964.

We guessed “6” ~> not even close!

None of the groups landed in the right ball park on this question.

The correct answer: 29!

Mickey-OKDespite our last place finish, we had a blast.

And lots of laughs.

So, even if we are NOT smarter than a librarian, we’d play again!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. colonialist - March 3, 2016

I thought VSOP meant Very Special Outlandish Price?
A Scandal that Beatles’ releases were understated! 1964 obviously had a veritable plague of them.
Seems good fun was had by all.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

But I wasn’t into that music scene in 1964. I was too busy singing, “The wheels on the bus go round and round round and round round and round.”

I don’t think I heard of the Beatles until 1969-1970.

colonialist - March 3, 2016

I was into that scene then – but I wouldn’t have got it right either!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

No one did. No one was even in the right double digits. The Beatles ROCKED!

As did the Stones.

2. Val Boyko - March 3, 2016

Looks like you need to watch more tv shows and read more magazines Nancy! I would fail miserably!
Remember when general knowledge come from an encyclopedia….or the library 😉

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

Well, some of the questions were not “pop culture.” For example, which of the 50 US States has the most seismic activity.

Answer: NOT California. Not Montana. ALASKA!

Val Boyko - March 3, 2016

That’s a surprise! I would have said Hawaii.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

From Science Daily:

The undisputed leader for numbers of earthquakes? Alaska, of course, with California solidly in second place. But beyond that point, depending on how you measure activity, the rankings change. On the list that Anderson likes the best, which gives the greatest magnitude that is reached once per year on average, Nevada inches into third, at 5.1. For fourth-place Hawaii, it’s 5.0.

The top 10 rankings, based on the magnitude of earthquake that occurs once per year on average: 1, Alaska, 6.70; 2, California, 6.02; 3, Nevada, 5.11; 4, Hawaii, 5.00; 5, Washington, 4.97; 6, Wyoming, 4.67; 7, Idaho, 4.57; 8, Montana, 4.47; 9, Utah, 4.29; 10, Oregon, 4.24.

To read more: https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2006/11/061120182103.htm

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

From USGS:

Alaska: The number of earthquakes is under reported, even though Alaska already accounts for more than 50 percent of all US earthquakes! Events in the magnitude range of 3.5 to 4.0 in the Aleutian Islands are not recorded on enough seismograph stations to be located.

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/states/top_states.php

3. Jill Weatherholt - March 3, 2016

Sounds like a fun game, Nancy. I’d bite the dust with TV trivia, unless it pertained to Jeopardy.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

Exactly, Jill. I don’t care to know which show stars which star.

4. Ally Bean - March 3, 2016

Well, I knew what VSOP stands for, but after that I’d have been as clueless as you! What a fun game. In my personal experience, librarians are some of the smartest people on earth.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

The group of 5 librarians came in second. Not sure about the winners and their professions/avocations.

But we had a blast.

5. sarsm - March 3, 2016

What does the P stand for? I’m stumped too!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

P = Pale

Very Special Old Pale.

livelytwist - March 8, 2016

Thanks. I was going to ask. 🙂

6. Kate Crimmins - March 3, 2016

Sounds a bit like jeopardy!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

We watch Jeopardy most nights and the questions were much like that ~ a good mix of stuff we know and stuff we don’t know.

I don’t mind not knowing something but I don’t like it when I do “know” the answer but can’t “find it” quick enough.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - March 3, 2016

I love games like that – I have so much fun playing them – but have discovered as I’ve gotten older, I’m worse at them – because like you, I am making room in my brain for other things and memories! 🙂

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

I would say I know as much as I did . . . but retrieval of esoteric tidbits has slowed a bit.

At the Trivia Game, we had 90 seconds to answer each so speed of retrieval wasn’t much of an issue.

8. Under the Oaks - March 3, 2016

We would have not done well with that game either, but it would have MAYBE been fun!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

If they schedule one when you and CH are down here, you can be on OUR team. And we WILL have fun!

9. William D'Andrea - March 3, 2016

Right now I’m seated at a computer in my local public library. Since I cannot afford to go on line at home, I’m a regular patron, and I know most of the employees.
To answer your question, about whether I’m smarter than a librarian; my answer is that it depends which librarian you mean,

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

Of course.

10. L. Marie - March 3, 2016

I would have come in dead last!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

We did! :mrgreen:

11. Patricia - March 3, 2016

If I was playing you wouldn’t have been last.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

If you and Linda joined our team, I bet we would have nudged up the scoreboard to “next to last.” 😎

Patricia - March 3, 2016

Not sure about that as I am sure I would be last atthe endof the game.

12. suzicate - March 3, 2016

I didn’t know the answers to any of those either! I never have done well at Trivia games. The hubby is much better at holding random facts in his head. I’m also not good at remembering song lyrics or identifying songs within the first few beats (my favorites, I know!) I’m in awe of people who remember random movie quotes as well. Once I watch it…it’s gone!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

I have LOTS of lyrics in my head. And LOTS of esoteric bits and pieces. But I’m weak on “Current Events” and “Pop Culture” because I pay no attention to news, newspapers, or tabloids.

Now if they had a category on “Quilting” . . . I’d definitely want you on my team!

13. Ruth - March 3, 2016

What fun! I would have placed after your team for sure!

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

We would have encouraged you to join our team ~ the more the merrier!

14. anotherday2paradise - March 3, 2016

Sounds like a lot of fun, Nancy. I wouldn’t have been of much benefit to your team, but we would have had a few laughs. 🙂

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

Yes! Playing “just for the fun of it” makes it easier to enjoy the journey . . . Win, Lose, or Die Laughing!

15. Carol Ferenc - March 3, 2016

Sounds like fun! I would have missed every one of those questions also.

nrhatch - March 3, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves, especially once the standings were announced after the first round and I knew we’re weren’t likely to Win, Place, or Show. No pressure after that.

BFF got all the car questions correct. I did well on writers and literary characters. And on Food! If there’d been a question or two on CHOCOLATE, I would have nailed ’em! 😛

16. Tiny - March 4, 2016

The brave play again! Bravo you two 👏

nrhatch - March 4, 2016

The less focused I am on Ego’s desire to “be the best” . . . the more fun I have! WHEE!

17. judithhb - March 4, 2016

Well Nancy you get involved in the most exciting things. Smarter than a librarian I’m sure you are in many respects. Thanks for sharing these activities with us.

nrhatch - March 5, 2016

Thanks, Judith. I have a wealth of info stored in my head which is often amusing (to me) and occasionally of interest to others.

But not much on current events, pop culture, or cognac. :mrgreen:

18. Behind the Story - March 5, 2016

You and BFF enjoy quite a variety of fun activities.

I just looked up VSOP–Very Superior Old Pale, although I’m sure Google was not allowed in your game. VSOP has nine other meanings, according to Wikipedia.

nrhatch - March 5, 2016

We do like to try different things. The same day we did this, we went to a presentation on Inveraray Castle (Scotland) at the Selby library in Sarasota.

And not a single Scottish Trivia question that night! 😛

These days smart phones may be “smarter” (faster at retrieving trivia) than librarians, but I don’t think any of these trivia teams relied on google to bolster their scores.

19. NancyTex - March 6, 2016

I love trivia, so games like this are totally my jam! Watching Jeopardy at my house is a very competitive sport, 🙂

nrhatch - March 6, 2016

Most nights, Jeopardy is part of our evening too. We’re often amazed at the esoteric and eclectic stuff we’ve got floating around upstairs ~> “Huh? Where did that come from?”

Food (and booze) categories are my forte! :mrgreen:

20. Debra - March 7, 2016

Based on your representative questions, I can assume that I wouldn’t have done well at all! Sounds like a lot of fun, though. 🙂

nrhatch - March 7, 2016

We recalled things I felt we should be able to recall . . . so it was FUN, not frustrating. Not knowing something I never took the time to learn is OK by me. :mrgreen:

It would have been less fun if we “knew” the answers without being able to retrieve them from overcrowded memory banks.

21. BunKaryudo - March 30, 2016

I wouldn’t feel bad about not knowing the answer to some of those questions. That’s the trouble with trivia. It can be so… well, trivial.

nrhatch - March 30, 2016

Exactly! We’re going to play again tonight. We don’t expect to win. We do anticipate having some laughs.

BunKaryudo - March 30, 2016

Quite right! Having fun is so much more important that winning. Good luck!

nrhatch - March 30, 2016

Unless the prize is C~H~O~C~O~L~A~T~E!
Then winning is everything!


What Say YOU?

