jump to navigation

Be All That You Can Be June 25, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Mindfulness.
trackback

RWS_Tarot_01_MagicianBecome silent and listen.

Trust your original, spontaneous, generous, kind, and loving nature.

When you’re on the right track, you know it. You feel the flow of life and are more at ease.

That knowledge creates an amazing level of joy and peace in your life.  It releases your creativity, and increases your energy level.

You begin to discard the various masks you wear.  You worry less about your imaginary reputation with others.  You accept yourself as you are and others as they are.

With an honest heart as your guide, you strive to live each day as if it were your last.

And your first.

200px-BedivereLove and laughter shine from your eyes. Your actions reflect genuine kindness and concern.  You smile at your reflection.

Grateful for the many blessings in life, you keep minor annoyances in perspective, instead of blowing them out of proportion.

You learn from your mistakes, encouraged by the knowledge that you can do better.

Transformation doesn’t happen all at once.  You become.  It takes time.

Do not give up if you are not yet who you want to be.  Just be more fully the best you already are.

You can be an outstanding human being ~> you just can’t be a perfect one.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post: When We Blunder About * A Step of Faith (SuziCate) * We All Can Be A Ripple (Did That Just Happen?) * Your Words Echo (T4D)

Comments»

1. suzicate - June 25, 2014

Love this. We should all toss the idea of perfection out the door and aim for outstanding.

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Yes! When we get to the point of celebrating our mistakes, we know that we’ve managed to kick “perfectionism” to the curb!

2. NancyTex - June 25, 2014

Oh the struggle to let go of perfectionism. It’s a process…

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

It is a process ~ one we may accept on an intellectual level long before it “soaks in” enough to become a guiding tenet.

In time, we learn to shrug off simple mistakes without playing the blame game or losing our equilibrium.

NancyTex - June 25, 2014

Well said, NH.

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Thanks, NT.

3. Morgan - June 25, 2014

Wonderful Post that Made me Smile 🙂

Blessings Friend~

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Thanks, Morgan. Glad it resonated.

4. Jill Weatherholt - June 25, 2014

This is great, Nancy! I wonder why some people struggle with being silent and just listening? 🙂

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Thanks, Jill. Many people fear being alone with themselves . . . they’re always looking for the next distraction.

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 25, 2014

Love this! I know I can’t be perfect, but I can be better than I was yesterday!

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Yes! That is the best comparison to make ~> the goal is not to be better than “them” . . . it’s to be better than our previous self.

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 25, 2014

That’s my current goal, to stop comparing myself to others!

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Yay! Life is so much easier when we trust ourselves and stop using “them” as an external reference point.

6. Silver in the Barn - June 25, 2014

I so agree with Kate’s observation. Lovely post, Nancy

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Thanks, Barbara. Me too. “The road is long, with many a winding turn.”

7. francisguenette - June 25, 2014

Yes indeed – we become, it takes time. So true. The other line that really struck me was – live everyday as if it were your last but also your first. To approach all with fresh eyes – my challenge for the day.

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Looking at the world with “fresh eyes” allows us to see things as they are ~ instead of looking at them through a “dirty lens.”

And, yes, it is a challenge. 😎

8. Crowing Crone - June 25, 2014

love the idea of being outstanding and to hell with perfection!

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Especially since no one likes “perfect” people.

Crowing Crone - June 25, 2014

so true.

9. Grannymar - June 25, 2014

I’m learning to accept myself, warts and all!

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Yes! And you did it without make-up, tattoos, or piercings! 😎

Grannymar - June 25, 2014

😛

10. Val Boyko - June 25, 2014

Love this Nancy!!
Especially ….. “Just be more fully the best you already are”.
This is where it begins and ends 🙂

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

We start from where we are. Thanks, Val.

11. colonialist - June 25, 2014

If he straightens out his halo, he can be a saint!

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Being a saint is a tall order . . . especially for heathens. 😎

12. shamanism1 - June 25, 2014

Great post. I related to it all. I read a quote recently that said “Perfection is the biggest joy-killer” I agree, when we are constantly striving for perfect, we are pressured and serious and so forget to see the joy and love in ourselves and the world .
Karen

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

I love that quote. Realizing that “perfection” is not the aim allows the JOY to flow freely.

13. diannegray - June 25, 2014

“Have no fear of perfection – you’ll never reach it” Salvador Dali 😀

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Another great quote. When we aim for “perfection” (and fall short of the bar), even minor mistakes can send us into a tizzy.

With a more relaxed view, we just say, “oops!” and keep moving forward.

14. ericjbaker - June 25, 2014

I know I’ve said it before, but the thought always makes a good addendum to your posts of this nature: Stop comparing yourself. Don’t be a second-rate them; be a first-rate you.

nrhatch - June 25, 2014

Yes! A truism that would have made my teen years tons more fun. Now, when I look around, I don’t see anyone else’s life that I would step into and claim as my own. A much better place to be.

15. jannatwrites - June 26, 2014

I’ve tried the striving for perfection thing… always wound up disappointed. Lightening up feels much better 🙂

nrhatch - June 26, 2014

It does feel better. I ran out of excuses for running into things and dropping things and saying things I wish I hadn’t said. Now I don’t fish around for an excuse if I have a minor mishap . . . I own the mistake as my own: “I dropped the glass because I wasn’t paying attention.”

It frees up a lot of time. 😎

16. Pix Under the Oaks - June 26, 2014

I used to be a perfectionist, especially about cleaning the house.. Can you imagine? Now I don’t care anymore, there are more fun things to do. Like reading blogs.. 😀

nrhatch - June 26, 2014

There are things worth “doing right” and other things (like cleaning) where “good enough” is “good enough.” Go blogs!


What Say YOU?

