jump to navigation

When We Blunder About May 18, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Mindfulness, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

237px-Kustodiev_Merchants_WifeFinish each day and be done with it.

You have done what you could.

Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can.

Tomorrow is a new day.

Begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Food,Photography & France - May 18, 2014

Wonderful picture which shows someone beginning their new day with enthusiasm:)

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

That’s The Merchant’s Wife, painted by Boris Kustodiev:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boris_Kustodiev

2. katecrimmins - May 18, 2014

Perfect for today. I have a relative visiting who is going through a breakup. This ain’t fun! Lots of weepy sadness about shuddas and woulddas.

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

She may not see the wisdom in Emerson’s words today, but he is so right about the value of letting go of the nonsense.

As kids, we gave ourselves as many “do overs” as needed. When we set out to set a new world record, we started again if we got off to a bad start ~> “OK. Starting. . . NOW!”

We knew that everything up to NOW was just PRACTICE.

Hope you both see some sun shining through the shuddas and woulddas.

katecrimmins - May 18, 2014

You’re right. Right now she can’t see the nose on her face!

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

Hope she regains her footing in short order.

3. colonialist - May 18, 2014

Or remember them with amusement, not regrets or embarrassment!

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

True. I don’t think that forgetting is important . . . IF we’re able to let go of the weight and bother of it all.

4. Carol Balawyder - May 18, 2014

Wise words. 🙂

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

I loved this when I saw it. Another version:

“Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.” – Will Rogers

Carol Balawyder - May 18, 2014

Nice as well. 🙂

5. Don - May 18, 2014

“…With your old nonsense.” I really like that Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

Me too! When we allow life to flow . . . the nonsense floats away making room for today.

6. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - May 18, 2014

I awoke with some nonsense in my head this morning. Workplace drama. I intend to replace this drama with high spirits from a romp with my horse and then time in the garden. I know I will feel anew and look back at my foolishness for taking myself so seriously.

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

AWESOME! That’s the spirit! Enjoy your romp and garden time. Nature nurtures.

7. jannatwrites - May 18, 2014

Wonderful quote. It’s something I really should remember, as I tend to rehash (read: torture) myself with my mistakes. Need to let it go!

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

That’s a habit well worth breaking, Janna . . . I know b/c I been there, done that. I could pick ONE thing done wrong (out of 100’s done right) to thrash about until it was done to death.

Probably why I love this quote so much.

8. Jill Weatherholt - May 18, 2014

“You have done what you could.” Isn’t that the truth? Great advice we should all follow.

nrhatch - May 18, 2014

I love the idea of letting go of the nonsense.

Jill Weatherholt - May 18, 2014

You and me both, Nancy! 🙂

9. Crowing Crone - May 19, 2014

how much energy we silly humans spend on what is done! Better to start the day, fresh without dragging into it that which cannot be undone!

nrhatch - May 19, 2014

Yes . . . we can be silly rabbits, indeed. How much better to start fresh with a clean slate.

10. Pix Under the Oaks - May 19, 2014

Oh Nancy, I had a blunder Sunday!! Not kidding. Blunder kind of week but Sunday was the day that it peaked and I finally said to myself.. enough!

nrhatch - May 19, 2014

Enough is enough! Glad you decided to let your blunder kind of week go. It’s Monday. Start Fresh.

11. diannegray - May 19, 2014

Every morning should be the beginning of a new life 😉

nrhatch - May 19, 2014

A new day . . . a new start!

12. Three Well Beings - May 21, 2014

This is the perfect way for me to end my day…and end every day. Thank you for it!

nrhatch - May 21, 2014

Every time I read it, I feel less encumbered by old nonsense.

13. Booksphotographsandartwork - May 21, 2014

I should write that on my wall! It’s great!

nrhatch - May 21, 2014

Here’s to evicting the Old Nonsense!

14. Be All That You Can Be | Spirit Lights The Way - June 25, 2014

[…] Related post: When We Blunder About […]


What Say YOU?

