jump to navigation

10 Ways To Help Stop Animal Cruelty September 20, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Sustainable Living.
trackback

1.  Try a new healthy vegetarian recipe.  The animals, the planet, and your body will thank you.  If you need ideas, check out the Food & Drink category on SLTW or get a Vegetarian Starter Kit from PCRM.

Think occasionally of the suffering of which you spare yourself the sight.  ~ Albert Schweitzer

If a man aspires towards a righteous life, his first act of abstinence is from injury to animals. ~ Albert Einstein

This is how animals are meant to be treated ~ factory farming is overdue for an overhaul.

2.  Shop with compassion.  Always choose garments and accessories free of fur or fur trim.

If we do not do something to help these creatures, we make a mockery of the whole concept of justice. ~ Jane Goodall

3.  Support local nature centers and wildlife sanctuaries.

Until we have the courage to recognize cruelty for what it is ~ whether its victim is human or animal ~ we cannot expect things to be much better in this world.  ~ Rachel Carson

3D-Ape4.  Support efforts to curb animal experimentation and testing in laboratories.

Atrocities are no less atrocities when they occur in laboratories and are called research. ~ George Bernard Shaw

How smart does a chimp have to be before killing him constitutes murder? ~ Carl Sagan

What I think about vivisection is that if people admit they have the right to take or endanger the life of living beings for the benefit of the many, there will be no limit to their cruelty. ~ Leo Tolstoy

Vivisection is a social evil because if it advances human knowledge, it does so at the expense of human character. ~ George Bernard Shaw

5.  Boycott circuses that use animal acts ~ humans are entertaining enough.

It’s a matter of taking the side of the weak against the strong, something the best of people have always done. ~ Harriet Beecher Stowe

6.   Write a letter to the editor of the local newspaper urging readers to support animal protection legislation to prevent animal exploitation and abuse in horseracing, rodeos, dogfighting, bull fighting, puppy mills, etc.

The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Life is life ~ whether in a cat, or dog, or man.  The idea of difference is a human conception for man’s own advantage.  ~ Sri Aurobindo

Here’s another example of how HAPPY animals become when rescued from the atrocious conditions of puppy mills and factory farms:

7.  Stop hunting and fishing “for sport.”  Don’t allow hunting or trapping on your property.

The question is not, “Can they reason?” nor, “Can they talk?” but rather, “Can they suffer?”  ~ Jeremy Bentham

8.  Volunteer at your local animal shelter or sanctuary.

Only if we understand can we care.  Only if we care will we help.  Only if we help shall they be saved. ~ Jane Goodall

9.  If you see animal cruelty in your community, report it to your local police department or humane society.

We call them dumb animals, and so they are, for they cannot tell us how they feel, but they do not suffer less because they have no words. ~ Anna Sewell

10.  Visit the Fund For Animals, the Humane Society, or PCRM (Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine) and sign up for free action alerts.

All the arguments to prove man’s superiority cannot shatter this hard fact:  in suffering the animals are our equals.  ~ Peter Singer

One reason I love animals . . . is because animals love us.  Whether they feel love in exactly the same way as humans or not doesn’t matter.

They love.  And their love endures.  If you doubt that . . . look at this:

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has. ~ Margaret Mead

Related post:  The Bond is a BEST SELLER * Become A Voice of Compassion * Freedom * Go HSUS!  * All The Gory DetailsThe Truth Behind Meat Labels * My Kind of Milkshake * Love Endures * Don’t Shop . . . Adopt * Dancing with JOY!!! * Blackbirds “Under Fire” (PiP) * Smart People on Dumb Animals (Snow Branches)

Comments

1. ceceliafutch - September 20, 2011

Thank you for this sensitive post. I choose vegetarian, my husband does not, however we have an agreement and can go months without serving meat in our home. The more we learn about the animal kingdom, the more we realize their abilities to love, reason, grieve, inform, communicate with each other and with us humans. Respect for those beings ~ whether human or animal ~ is what is lacking. I will print out this post and put it on m refrig (where I put all my important articles) as a reminder of what we can do to address the problem of cruelty to animals. You might also be interested in checking out “Gentle Barn” . . . they have a facebook site and I’m sure a website as well. Lovely place. Again, thanks for a meaningful post. 🙂

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Thanks, Cecelia. I’m convinced that a vegetarian (or mostly meatless) diet is better for us, the planet, and the animals.

I’ve been vegetarian for 16 years and would never go back to eating meat. I just don’t miss it.

2. SammyDee - September 20, 2011

I was a vegetarian for years but now I’m a meat eater. Although I’m unlikely to ever become vegetarian again (unless it’s for health reasons) I empathise with a lot of the suggestions.

I often still choose the vegetarian options – A lot of meat eaters don’t realise that the vegi options can be far tastier than the meat equivalent. Plus you don’t get the same bogged down feeling you can get after eating meat.

Where possible I always buy free-range. I don’t have a garden but when I do I plan to adopt rescued ex-battery hens. The poor things are often left featherless and unable to stand at all after being caged their whole lives, but after rescue they become normal healthy happy hens.

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

We’ve stopped eating eggs because I can’t stand the thought of all those chickens crammed into tiny cages. It’s horrific.

I used to have that “bogged down” feeling after eating a meat-based meal ~ the body has to devote so much energy to digesting meat. It’s far easier for it to process fruits, veggies, grains, nuts, etc. And thinks keep “moving” without getting bogged down. 😀

3. ElizOF - September 20, 2011

Great points Nancy… and if anyone wants a wake-up call about the food industry, they should watch Food Inc… 🙂

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Good point:

Food, Inc.

4. Naomi - September 20, 2011

Thank you, Nancy. I have goose bumps all over. You have an excellent way of getting a point across – well taken. So much truth here, down to that last brilliant quote. Namaste.

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Thanks, Naoimi. I enjoyed putting this together.

Even if we aren’t ready to adopt a vegetarian diet . . . there is no justification for cruelty.

5. William D'Andrea - September 20, 2011

What you’re objecting to is human beings, being human.
We humans in our natural state are omnivorous beings; hunters and gatherers who hunt in packs. That is part of our biology, like it or not.

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

So . . . you believe that being a human being requires us to be cruel to animals?

That we should skin them alive for their fur? That we should keep them in filthy conditions in gestation crates, battery cages, and veal crates for the duration of their life? That we should allow puppy mills and dogfighting to continue unabated?

Because that’s just the way we are?

How sad.

I can’t speak for you, but my biology urges me to treat all animals with loving kindness and respect and to protest animal cruelty and abuse wherever I see it.

William D'Andrea - September 21, 2011

That’s not what I meant. I was just pointing out something that makes this a very difficult thing to deal with. Being alive in this world is a very complex thing; and there are few easy answers. I’m not saying that there are no answers. They are just very difficult.

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

Change is hard.

So what? It’s worth it . . . after all, our humanity is at stake.

So, let’s roll up our sleeves and get to work.
Time’s a wasting . . .

6. Pseu - September 20, 2011

I love that lion clip

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

He acts just like Tigger does . . . only on a far larger scale. 😯

7. kateshrewsday - September 20, 2011

Some great ideas, Nancy. Mindfulness plays a part here for me: as I learn to listen to the universe the plight of my fellow globedwellers becomes much clearer.

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

I think that mindfulness is key, Kate.

We start really SEEING what we are doing and we make BETTER choices that are more in tune with our values. We gain integrity because we see a cause and effect relationship between our actions and the results of those actions.

Happiness is when what we think, what we say, and what we do are in harmony. 😀

8. souldipper - September 20, 2011

Boy, Nancy, do I ever like this post. All the animals of the world thank you.

We don’t need zoos, either. Don’t use children as bait for their existence… Children can enjoy a video until they are old enough to go to the animals’ natural habitats.

Game farms in natural environments are humane. Zoos are not! I KNOW the keepers love them, etc. etc. But how would we like to taken to a desert, for eg, to live for the rest of our lives?

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

I have been to many zoos that provide natural habitats for animals ~ the free zoo in Cape May NJ is a wonderful example, with zebras, elephants, and giraffes wandering on the “savannah” during the warmer months. I applaud them.

But zoos that keep animals in tiny cages, pacing back and forth, make me sad. 😦

souldipper - September 21, 2011

It would be good for my soul if I could share your optimism about supposed natural habitats, Nance.

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

Well, it’s not ideal . . . but its better than “natural habitats” frequented by poachers who kill rhinos, elephants, and gorillas for body parts (horns, tusks, hands, and feet). 😦

9. jeanne - September 20, 2011

With the extreme drought conditions we have been experiencing we have felt compelled to help out the wildlife as best we could. We have watering stations all around our property.

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

That’s wonderful. It’s awful when wildlife can’t find enough water during the summer heat.

10. ElizOF - September 21, 2011

People love their meat too much that I doubt they’d give it up. However, if animals are treated with dignity and care, including how they are raised and slaughtered, it would make a huge difference… We don’t eat meat in my household and I don’t miss it. TY! 🙂

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

I feel the same, E! If the demand dipped a bit . . . then cows could graze in green pastures for life before being humanely killed for their meat. Instead, they’re packed in muddy lots and fed unhealthy food to fatten them up for market.

Pass the potatoes, please! 😀

11. Tilly Bud - September 21, 2011

Excellent advice. I wonder how many of us will follow it? 😦

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

I don’t think it’s an all or nothing approach that’s required.

If each of us becomes a bit more mindful of the choices we make about what to wear and what to eat and how to spend our entertainment dollars. . . the world we be a better place for us and the animals.

First things first . . .

We must open our eyes to the cruelty that exists so we can see WHERE we are and where we want to go from HERE.

12. LittleMissVix - September 21, 2011

Aw I hate cruelty to animals!

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

Me too! I happily advocate on their behalf on a pro bono basis since they cannot speak for themselves.

13. Linda - September 21, 2011

On a long road trip yesterday my daugher and I passed through areas that are known for dog fighting type people. As we passed one trashy trailer with a disgusting looking dog pen she said, you know they fight dogs. Then she said some other things which I shan’t repeat here. I told her, well we could go back and say we are from the Office of something or another and that we need to check out their animals. I am pretty sure that we could have gotten away with it. Since we didn’t actually see something bad we just vented about it in that way. If however we had seen something bad she would have stopped that car and been all over those people. She is my chiuahua.

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

Bwahaha! We all need a Chihuahua! 😀

Morbid Humor: The Funeral Procession

I appreciate people like you and your daughter who look out for the welfare of animals. Thanks for all you do!

14. Debra - September 21, 2011

🙂 I am being more ‘veggie’ as the weeks pass. The rest of the family? Well, I can choose for me.

I feed the wildlife who fly in, crawl-in, hop-in…my veggie scraps, seed, and corn cobs.

I have a very small garden (2 tomato plants and 4 basil plants). My garden in Florida was much bigger but at least I am starting again. I take the old dried leaves and put them back into the ground. the bees get fed. And even some bugs get fed:)

My point? Doing the even ‘small’ things add up. And the more you do the more you will want to do.

Thank you Nancy…:)

nrhatch - September 21, 2011

Thanks, Debra. I agree. When we start taking even small steps in the “right” direction, we keep our eyes and ears open for the next steps we can take. Over time, we build momentum.

15. 10 Ways To Help Stop Animal Cruelty ? Spirit Lights The Way | acovecykap - September 22, 2011
16. David Ashton - October 15, 2011

I love this post! Great suggestions and quotes. Thanks very much for the kind link to my blog.

nrhatch - October 15, 2011

Here’s to looking out for our furry and feathered friends. 😀

17. Sandra Bell Kirchman - May 2, 2013

The joy of freedom expressed by Milkshake the cow (what a cute name) made me cry. When Christian the lion remembered his love for his former guardians, I sobbed. I was especially taken with the pride with which he introduced his “wife.”

I started my column Puppy Dog Tales to try and give people an idea of the joy you can have by parenting a pet. It’s casual, laid-back, and filled with my feelings for my own dogs, plus other stories that have touched me.

Maybe I should beef it out a little more to impact people more about the suffering that animals sustain in our world and make them aware of our role in caring for and protecting these gifts of God.

At my age, I am still looking for my purpose in life. Do you suppose that’s it. I sure have strong feelings in these areas.

nrhatch - May 2, 2013

Based on what you’ve shared, I expect that it is at least ONE of your purposes in life, Sandra.

Sharing happy success stories encourages people to care.

18. Miss Gummy Gamer - April 30, 2014

The third video was so cute and I am so happy that Christian actually recognized them.

nrhatch - April 30, 2014

I’ve watched that video more than a few times ~ it ALWAYS make me smile. Animals are so awesome!

19. Tiny - May 29, 2018

The lion video made me tear up…so lovely! Thanks for sharing, Nancy.

nrhatch - May 29, 2018

Each of these videos found a special place in my heart. Animals are the best!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry