jump to navigation

Morbid Humor: The Funeral Procession September 11, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

Wikipedia ~ Funeral (in Public Domain)

A woman leaving a convenience store with her morning coffee noticed an unusual funeral procession approaching the nearby cemetery.

A black hearse passed, followed by a second  hearse about 50 feet behind the first one.

Behind the second hearse was a solitary woman walking a dog on a leash.

 A short distance behind her, 200 women followed, walking single file.

Coffee in hand, she  approached the woman walking the dog and said, “I am so sorry for your loss.”

“Thank you.”

“I know this is a bad time to disturb you, but I’ve never seen a funeral like this.  Whose funeral is it?”

“My husband’s.”

“What happened?”

In a matter of fact voice, the widow replied, “The last time he hit me, my dog attacked and killed him.”

“Oh, my.  Well, who is in the second hearse?”

“My mother-in-law.”

“Really?  What happened to her?”

“As usual, she jumped in to defend her son.  In her eyes, my husband could do no wrong, even when he smacked me around.”

Reaching down to pet her petite Chihuahua, she smiled, “Killer  disagreed.”

A moment of contemplative silence passed between the two women, before the first woman whispered, “Can I borrow the dog?”

The widow whispered back, “Get in line.”

* * * * *

Inspiration:  e-mail from unknown author

Comments»

1. nadiaqh - September 11, 2010

oh my goodness… chihuahuas are so protective!

nrhatch - September 11, 2010

They are little, but fierce.

2. Agatha82 - September 11, 2010

Loved that. I love chihuahuas. I have one called Fifi in my story, just for comic amusement. A long time ago, in Miami, I saw this tiny chihuahua barking its little head off at a massive great dane who stood there looking at it as if thinking “what’s your problem?” The great dane was so chilled out and the little chihuahua was working itself into doggy hysterics 🙂

nrhatch - September 11, 2010

We had Great Danes growing up. They are so “chill.”

And when they bark, it’s just a huge WOOF!

3. cindy - September 11, 2010

ROTFLMAO!

nrhatch - September 11, 2010

I thought you might. ; D

4. Char (PSI Tutor:Mentor) - September 14, 2010

very funny!

5. Booksphotographsandartwork - April 24, 2011

Where is my brain?! I just replied to this on my site! I love this story. Sooooooooooooo funny. One of the best I have heard in a long time. Thank you so much for sharing that.

nrhatch - April 24, 2011

I thought you would enjoy it. Killer’s picture makes me laugh every time.

Hope you find the pup’s owner tomorrow.

6. Tilly Bud - June 25, 2011

I giggled for ages! This is brilliant; please may I use it for one of my jokes? It will be next year so people have time to forget it; and, of course, you will be cited as the source.

nrhatch - June 25, 2011

Use it whenever you wish, Tilly!


What Say YOU?

