jump to navigation

A Month of Meatless Meals October 30, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Those of you who’ve been reading SLTW for any length of time have no doubt picked up on the fact that I’m a vegetarian for three primary reasons:  (1) better for me; (2) better for the planet; and (3) better for the animals I would otherwise be consuming.

Many readers have expressed the desire to incorporate more meatless meals into their own cooking.

For those of you who are interested in saving money (while saving the planet), here’s a list of Menu Ideas for a Month of Meatless Meals:

1.  Stir Fried Veggies over Rice, Vegetarian Egg rolls
2. Veggie Burgers, Steak Fries, Baked Beans
3. Broccoli Alfredo,  Salad Bar, Rosemary Garlic Bread
4. Rustic Lasagna, Italian Bread, 3 Bean Salad
5. Fondue or Raclette, Baguette, Broccoli & Cauliflower
6. Thai Noodles with Peanut Sauce (with Veggies)
7. Split Pea Soup with Homemade Croutons
8. Macaroni and Cheese, Tomato Soup
9.  Greek Salad, Hummus, Pita Chips
10.  Cheese Quesadillas or Nachos, Refried Beans, Salsa
11.  Mexican Curry, Rice, Raw Veggies with Dip
12.  Tomato Pie, Sautéd Zucchini
13.  Vegetarian Lecsó, Rice, Three Cheese Bread
14.  Harvest SoupCrusty Cuban Bread
15.  Veggie/Cheese Subs, Versatile Pasta Salad
16.  Spanokopita, Tabbouli Salad with Tomatoes
17.  Veggie Fajitas (onions, peppers, broccoli, carrots)
18.  Zucchini Boats, Roasted Root Veggies, Fruit Salad
19.  Vegetarian Chili, Rice, Grated Cheese, Cornbread
20.  Sausage and Peppers Pizza (Boca sausage)
21.  Curried Veggies over Rice, Peanuts, Chutney
22.  Two-Grain Veggie Casserole, Cole Slaw, Fruit
23.  Shepard’s Pie (Peas, Carrots, and Potatoes)
24.  Spaghetti with Garlic Basil Sauce, Italian Bread
25.  Thanksgiving:  Mashed Potatoes, Stuffing (with sautéed Celery and Onions), Glazed Carrots, Green Beans Almondine, Bourbon Sweet Potatoes, Cranberry Sauce, and . . . PIE!!!
26.  Pasta Primavera with Basil Pesto, Bruschetta
27.  Morningstar Farms Hotdogs, Baked Beans
28.  French Onion Soup, French Bread, Salad
29.  Cheese Pizza (w/veggie toppings), Salad Bar
30.  Spinach-Rice Casserole, Steamed Carrots

None of these recipes contain exotic ingredients.  All can be made quickly,  easily, and inexpensively (except for Raclette ~ it’s expensive).

Of course, this is just the tip of the iceberg:  Nine Bean Soup * Curry Dip * Fun with Food ~ Kid’s Lunches * Veggie Wraps * A Sunset Dinner Cruise * Veggie Tacos * Veggie Kabobs * Fiber Up Your Diet * Bon Appetit!

Comments

1. Julie Hedlund - October 30, 2010

Thanks for these! We’re not vegetarians, but we definitely like to have several meatless meals a week. I’m always looking for yummy recipes!

nrhatch - October 30, 2010

I find that the transition (to more meatless meals) is easiest when the food looks like food we love.

2. Barbara Gunn - October 30, 2010

Thank you Nancy I love trying out your offerings!!

nrhatch - October 30, 2010

I’ll be adding more individual recipes in the weeks ahead, but thought I’d give a “recap” with links to some of the already posted recipes.

Food and the desire to eat well is something that most of the planet shares.

3. Greg Camp - October 30, 2010

Watch out for the Morning Star Farms imitations of food. I had the misfortune to be raised on that and other meat “substitutes,” and I’m still struggling to clean out my innards. My Adventist upbringing has given me a jaded view of health food.

As for me, I like my vegetables–after they’ve been processed and incorporated into a tasty animal, that is. Still, many of your suggestions look like good side dishes.

nrhatch - October 30, 2010

Mostly we eat “real food” (sans processing) but occasionally we enjoy a Boca burger or veggie dog.

What I’ve been meaning to do is learn to make veggie burgers on my own. I have several recipes with veggies, oatmeal, beans and seasonings to try. But I need to do some experimenting to see which ones appeal.

4. Cindy - October 31, 2010

Bravo, great list.

nrhatch - October 31, 2010

Thanks.

Coming up with 30 ideas for the list was EASY . . . I kept thinking of other soups, and casseroles, and side dishes to include.

Adding in all the links . . .time-consuming. 🙂

5. Christine - October 31, 2010

love this idea,,, will definitely give this a try!

nrhatch - October 31, 2010

Great. Thanks for swinging by!

6. Tammy McLeod - October 31, 2010

Fantastic list Nancy. I will bookmark and be back often for inspiration. This post is really a great idea.

nrhatch - October 31, 2010

Thanks, Tammy

I keep index cards in my recipe box with Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner ideas listed. If we get “stuck in a rut” with meals, I flip through them to jump start our menus.

7. Fi - October 31, 2010

What a simple and useful idea this is. The monthly menu plan I mean. People are always wondering what I eat every day as a vegetarian.

nrhatch - October 31, 2010

Any favorites that aren’t on the list???

Spill the . . . beans. 🙂

8. January pantry challenge wrap up | Angela Barton - My Year without Spending - February 7, 2011

[…] A month of meatless meals […]

9. From “Moo” To Moosewood | Spirit Lights The Way - June 14, 2013

[…]  A Month of Meatless Meals * Moosewood Cookbooks * Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) * […]

10. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 5, 2015

I had no idea! But now I have a great resource in you!!! Thank you Nancy!!

nrhatch - January 5, 2015

Have FUN as you revamp your diet, Kate. We’ve been vegetarian for 17 years. I would NEVER go back to the Standard American Diet.

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 5, 2015

Honestly, it has only been just over a week and already some of my issues are better!! Thank you for your support and encouragement!

nrhatch - January 5, 2015

Yay! Fruits and veggies and beans and nuts and grains are just what the doctor ordered.

11. Life Penned - January 16, 2015

Wow! Now that’s a bunch of good-looking recipes! This will keep me busy for a while!

nrhatch - January 16, 2015

Best of luck with the transition.

We found that taking favorite recipes and adapting them to “meatless” was easier than trying to start from scratch.

Stir fried chicken ~> stir fried broccoli
Spaghetti with meat sauce ~> Spaghetti with onions and peppers
Chicken curry ~> Curried veggies

nrhatch - January 16, 2015

This is a good resource for info:

http://www.pcrm.org/health/diets/vsk/vegetarian-starter-kit-calcium

There are links to articles on:

Vegetarian Foods: Powerful for Health

The Three-Step Way to Go Vegetarian

Protein Myth

Tips for Making the Switch to a Vegetarian Diet

Cooking Without Eggs

Calcium in Plant-Based Diets

What About Milk?

The New Four Food Groups

Achieving and Maintaining a Healthy Weight

The Veganizer: Changing Your Regular Meals Into Low-Fat Vegan Meals

Vegetarian Diets for Pregnancy

Vegetarian Diets for Children: Right from the Start

Recipes for Health

12. Sustainable Eating | Spirit Lights The Way - September 21, 2015

[…] For more menu ideas:  A Month of Meatless Meals […]

13. Under the Oaks - January 6, 2017

Oh yeah! I like these. Must have been before I found you!

Under the Oaks - January 6, 2017

Nancy, so eggs are out? 😀

nrhatch - January 6, 2017

Never been a fan of eggs . . . except in brownies!

Under the Oaks - January 6, 2017

Well, I mean can I still eat mayo? I love eggs… 🙂

nrhatch - January 6, 2017

Enjoy! Lots of vegetarians eat eggs and mayo. Only vegans avoid all animal products, including honey.

Under the Oaks - January 6, 2017

Yes, I have been googling and you just have to find what works for you… like everything else. I could do vegetarian but not vegan… worrying about gelatin.. nope. But I think I will just concentrate on eating better with veggies and I checked your Month of Vegetarian post and will check the category you mentioned in Kate’s post. It’s a good day to do this… cold here!

nrhatch - January 6, 2017

Have fun! I always get more done on cold days . . . that’s why I’ve been largely unproductive in Florida. Ha!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry