jump to navigation

Keep Writing October 10, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Spirit & Ego, Writing & Writers.
comments closed

Writing is my purpose, my passion, my bliss.

Most days, I am truly peaceful, happy, and content as I click away at the keys on the keyboard, not worrying about the destination, just enjoying the journey.

Of course, most days is not synonymous with always.

If you’ve ever have doubts about your writing ability, you’re not alone.  I’ll be happily writing away and then something happens and Ego immediately takes advantage of my momentary vulnerability to gleefully remind me that others are so much better at this writing business than I will ever be.

As my doubts surface, Ego’s voice continues to challenge me with pointed, jagged questions:

Who do you think you’re fooling?

Why don’t you get a real job?

When I look at writing from Ego’s perspective, I am so busy comparing myself with others, and falling short of the bar, that I don’t have the energy to really write.

It just seems hopeless, and scary, and pointless, and meaningless, and . . .

Eventually, I tell Ego to take a hike.

I expect that doubt is a necessary part of mastering the art of writing ~ just like falling down was a necessary step in the process of learning to walk.

We tried, we fell, we got up and started walking again.

We write, we stare in horror at the inadequacy of our words, and then return to the keyboard to write again.

Life is a journey, not a destination.  The same is true of writing.

If you enjoy the process of writing, don’t worry  about finding your target audience, getting published, or filling your bank account.

Instead, keep returning to the keyboard to write and allow the path to unfold, word by wonderful word.

Related posts:  Year of the CatA Writer’s Life For MeOur Field of Dreams * Our Internal CompassAuthor’s Voice: How To Find It? (Global Mysteries) * Bats, Writing Groups, and Submissions (Here Be Dragons)

Crusty Cuban Bread October 10, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
comments closed

Crusty Cuban Bread is our hands down favorite bread to make (and eat).

Made with five basic ingredients (not counting  optional additions), it’s simple to prepare and tastes great paired with soups, salads, casseroles, pasta, wine, cheese, chili, and curries.

Cuban Bread is similar to French bread in taste and texture.

IMGP2929b

Crusty Cuban Bread

1 1/3 cups Water
1 1/2 tsp. sugar
1 1/2 tsp. salt
3 cups bread flour
2 1/2 tsp. yeast

Place ingredients in your breadmaker in the recommended order.  Set the timer, and press start.  Wait for it.  Wait for it.  Wait for it.  Enjoy!

* Add 1 tsp. butter or 1 tsp. olive oil with the water to help it slide out of the baking pan.

* For Crusty Garlic Rosemary Bread: add 1-2 tsp. minced garlic and 1-2 tsp. crushed rosemary.

* Substitute 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup of bread flour for extra fiber, vitamins, and minerals.

If you have a French bread or crusty setting on your breadmaker, you can use it for this bread.  If you don’t have a breadmaker, or want to make it by hand, use the ingredients list and follow a French bread recipe for kneading, rising, shaping, and baking instructions.