jump to navigation

Vegetable Curry October 15, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Have leftover veggies in the fridge?  How about tossing them together to make a fragrant curry to serve over rice with spicy chutney?

220px-Carrots_of_many_colorsVegetable Curry

3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1″ piece of ginger root
1 onion, chopped
2 ribs celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
4-6 tsp. curry powder
1 tsp. sugar
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup vegetable broth
2-3 cups veggies (note below)
1 cup raisins
1 Tbsp. white wine
3 apples, cored and diced

Brown ginger root in oil over medium heat for 1-2 minutes. Remove and discard. Add onions, celery, and carrots. Saute for 5 minutes until onions are translucent.

Stir in curry and sugar to coat veggies.  Add broth, additional veggies, raisins, and apple. Simmer to reduce liquid. If sauce gets too thick, add wine (or water) a tablespoon at a time.

Serve over saffron rice (or brown rice) with chutney, pickles, chopped peanuts, sliced banana, and other favorite curry condiments.

Vegetable Ideas:

Potatoes (pre-cooked, diced) * Broccoli florets * Cauliflower florets *
Frozen peas or corn * Cooked green beans * Red bell pepper strips *
Baby corn * Snow peas * Water chestnuts * Bamboo Shoots * Chopped spinach * Garbanzo beans

 

Comments

1. Naomi - October 15, 2010

Between you and Cin, you’re hitting on some favourites for me 🙂

nrhatch - October 15, 2010

Thanks, Nome!

When we became vegetarians, I went through my recipe box to modify recipes by omitting the meat and adding veggies. This is one of those. I found that “ethnic” recipes (Chinese, Thai, Indian, Italian, Greek, etc.) all modified more easily than typical “American” food.

How do you turn Steak and Potatoes into something a vegetarian wants to eat??? 🙂

2. cindy - October 15, 2010

Haha, there’s that disclaimer *chortle*
Love this recipe 🙂

nrhatch - October 15, 2010

It started out as Chicken Curry and morphed along the way.

I probably won’t remember to post the disclaimer every time I pilfer a picture from the internet, but I’ll try. 🙂

3. andalibmarks - October 15, 2010

Where were all these fantastic, healthy recipes when I needed to put on weight in a healthy way?
Come on!
Now I wish I was a size 2 again, just so that I could eat away on these and not feel guilty.
Although, come to think of it, I didn’t feel guilty about the chocolate, the coffee or the mountains of pasta before anyway!
Love these recipes, Nancy!
Keep ’em coming!
*#*

nrhatch - October 15, 2010

Chocolate and coffee are full of anti-oxidants! Enjoy!

4. Rainee - January 22, 2014

Thanks Nancy. I will print it out and give it a try. It may get my hubby to eat veggies 🙂

nrhatch - January 22, 2014

I love using recipes like this as a basic template ~ adjusting them according to what’s in season and what needs eating. Great way to be creative in the kitchen. Enjoy!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry