jump to navigation

Spinach Rice October 5, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Here’s another extremely versatile vegetarian recipe that allows you to swap ingredients easily and still end up with a crowd pleasing and filling meal.

Wikipedia ~ Spinach (in Public Domain)

Spinach Rice

1 onion, chopped
1 green or red pepper, seeded and diced
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. minced garlic
1 10 oz. pkg. frozen spinach, thawed and drained
2 cups cooked brown rice

Sauté onions and peppers in olive oil until onion becomes translucent.  Add garlic and cook for a minute more.  Add spinach and brown rice to the mix.

Add salt, pepper, and grated parmesan cheese to taste.

Pour into a casserole dish and heat at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes until hot and bubbly.

Variations:

1.  Substitute 4 oz. grated cheddar, jalapeno, or Monterey jack cheese for the parmesan.

2.  Add 1 large tomato, diced, or a can of diced tomatoes (with or without jalapenos) to the mix.

3.  Substitute broccoli, or sautéed greens (kale, collards, swiss chard, beet)  for the spinach.

4.  Substitute pasta, barley, couscous, quinoi, or other grain for the brown rice.

5.  Add a 15-oz. can of beans (kidney, pinto, cannelini), drained and rinsed.

6.  Add more vegetables to the mix with the onions and peppers:  chopped celery, diced carrot, corn, zucchini.

7.  Experiment with the seasonings:  1 Tbsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. oregano, or 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes.

Wonderful paired with salad, sliced fruit, bread or cornbread.  Enjoy!

Comments

1. Barbara Gunn - October 5, 2010

Tomorrow’s dinner- thank you Nancy!

nrhatch - October 5, 2010

I’m going to add a few more variations to the list . . . including just adding a can of beans for extra protein.

2. cindy - October 6, 2010

My husband will love you for this!
Going to do something with your recipe tomorrow night!

nrhatch - October 6, 2010

Cool! It’s a fun recipe to play around with and “tailor to your tastes.”

3. Tammy McLeod - October 6, 2010

Love recipes just like this. Simple, filling, comforting. Thanks Nancy. I also like the idea of adding beans to it.

nrhatch - October 6, 2010

I always keep a few cans of beans on hand to add to soups, stews, and casseroles for extra fiber and protein.

Great way to stretch your food dollar.

4. Joanne - October 6, 2010

Go, Vegans!
Who ever said a meatless meal has to be boring?

nrhatch - October 6, 2010

Not me! I love meatless meals.

Tonight, we had pizza and salad. So good.

5. jeanne - April 28, 2011

this sounds fantastic…could be on the menu tomorrow. thanks for sharing

nrhatch - April 28, 2011

Enjoy! It’s one of my favorite casseroles.

6. Joanne - April 29, 2011

Ironically, thanks to this recipe, I got a quick answer to my question out to the Universe…

Just this afternoon, I was wondering why I haven’t been getting anymore notifications from your blog. I was wondering if I was still subscribed, and lookie here…! I like knowing we’re still connected ~ even if only by spinach rice…LOL

Joanne ;-D

nrhatch - April 29, 2011

If you haven’t been getting notifications, maybe you aren’t subscribed to the blog. Maybe you’re just subscribed to the comment thread on some of the older posts?

That said, WP has been a bit screwy lately ~ randomly closing comments, shoving graphics around wherever it pleases, etc.

In any event, good to “see” you!

Joanne - April 30, 2011

I did re-send my info not too long ago, because I was noticing I wasn’t getting daily blogs. For some reason I hadn’t questioned it until recently. I thought maybe you were slowing down with your writing… or working on a book or something that was redirecting your attention.

Glad to know you’re still alive and kicking… Now, if there is a glitch in this system, how can I be sure to get back in the loop, without having to comment on older posts?

nrhatch - April 30, 2011

I’m writing less often than last year ~ but I post at least one post a day.

I’m not sure how to clear a “hiccup” . . . maybe use the e-mail subscription link (top right) to UNSUBSCRIBE.

Then refresh the page, or open it in a new window, and SUBSCRIBE.

You can also check my FB book to see what I’ve posted lately. I almost always remember to add a link to new posts there.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry