jump to navigation

One of the Best Things I’ve Eaten This Year July 17, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

On our 30th Anniversary, we went out for lunch and ordered one of the best things I’ve eaten all year:

2014-06-16 12-23-23_0008

Tempura Battered Asparagus with shaved Parmigiana Reggiano

On my umpteenth Birthday, we went out for Happy Hour and ordered another winner of an indulgence:

2014-07-13 17-21-00_0038a

Caramel Macademia Nut Cheesecake

Here’s the Birthday Girl before sharing 2 appetizers and a decadent dessert:

2014-07-13 16-43-13_0033

And here’s the Birthday Girl after:

2014-07-13 17-59-37_0040

Yup. Β Still smiling. Β Without a trace of guilt.

Aah . . . that’s better!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this year?

Comments»

1. Rainee - July 17, 2014

Looks good Nancy. Congratulations on the anniversary and I hope the birthday was a good one, with lots more to come πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Rainee. Low key birthday this year . . . with a few high notes to make it special.

2. suzicate - July 17, 2014

All that pretty food is making me hungry! Hope your birthday was fabulous!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Yours too! Overall, the birthday celebration was subdued this year . . . but the birthday (cheese)cake was sublime. 😎

3. Silver in the Barn - July 17, 2014

Happy Birthday and Happy 30th Anniversary. I visited my brother in Colorado earlier this year and he made the most amazing fish tacos I’ve ever had. That might just be the best thing I’ve had this year….so far. That asparagus looks To Die For!!!!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Barbara. I love plain asparagus ~> steamed or roasted with a touch of salt, but that tempura asparagus was amazing.

I have never tried a fish taco ~> I have had Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos at Bonefish Grill. Spicy hot and yummy. Maybe a fish taco will be my next culinary adventure. Several local restaurants feature fish tacos.

4. Maggie - July 17, 2014

That asparagus looks amazing! Happy birthday and anniversary!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Maggie. The past 3 weeks have been peppered with mini celebrations. It’s been fun.

Asparagus is great grilled or roasted with a touch of olive oil, salt, and pepper. But that appetizer knocked our socks off.

5. Don - July 17, 2014

You’re looking good Nancy. That decadent food has done nothing to you. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks! We don’t go out to eat often ~ less than once a month, on average. When we do, my motto is: “Just Eat Anything.”

At home, I’m a bit more careful about the fat grams in my food. 😎

6. Don - July 17, 2014

Happy anniversary.

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks! It’s great when we catch a “keeper” the first time!

7. katecrimmins - July 17, 2014

Happy birthday and anniversary! I’ve had so much good food this year I can’t pick one!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Pizza has been another FAVE for us . . . but that goes without saying, eh? 😎

katecrimmins - July 17, 2014

oh yeah….

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

I might have to do a feature on Oma’s Pizza soon ~> including shots of waiting on the beach for the pie to emerge from the oven.

8. ericjbaker - July 17, 2014

The forced perspective on that cake makes it look the size of a football.

Unless it was the size of a football!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Close to the size of a football ~ couldn’t eat that often without the scales groaning in protest or throwing a flag down on the play!

9. Sandra Bell Kirchman - July 17, 2014

You look great in both pics, Nancy, but I think you look a little more satisfied in the second one. Decadent food seems to agree with you. (The asparagus dish made my mouth water!)

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Sandra! Food is a principal passion of my life . . . I try to temper my enthusiasm by not going hog wild all day every day. 😎

10. NancyTex - July 17, 2014

Happy Birthday / Anniversary NH! it looks like you had a tasty one!
I have enjoyed so many wonderful and memorable meals this year I couldn’t pick just one, but the most recent was a warm octopus appetizer that made me squeal with delight! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Food is such a wonderful adjunct ~ something to look forward to, day in and day out. Especially if we counter-balance our squeals of delight with rocking and rolling to stay in shape.

Mangia!

NancyTex - July 17, 2014

Amen to that.

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

We had a great time splashing in the pool this morning . . . while dodging rain drops.

No thunder or lightning, so we kept on truckin’. 😎

11. Eric Tonningsen - July 17, 2014

“Winner of an indulgence.” I like that term. And the asparagus looks/sounds wonderful. Nice ‘after’ shot of you. πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary, Nancy.

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Eric. When we eat at home (95% of the time), we eat light. When we venture out to eat, we are guided more by taste and less by waist. 😎

12. JOriginal MuseJoanne - July 17, 2014

I hope you keep on keeping on with those happy, guiltless celebrations… May your life be one continuous celebration,as you enjoy all the pleasures that yours and BFF’s hearts desire…!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Joanne! Here’s to happy guiltless celebrations!!! Hope you’re doing well and staying happy.

13. sufilight - July 17, 2014

Today I am on a 3 day cleanse of fruit and veggie smoothies so my mouth was watering looking at the pictures. It looks yummy! πŸ™‚ Congratulations on your 30th anniversary and Happy Birthday!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Thanks, Marie. You are very brave to read this post while doing a 3-day cleanse. Hope that you have a TERRIFIC meal at the end of your smoothie fast.

14. Jill Weatherholt - July 17, 2014

Oh…I love asparagus and that looks delicious! Recently I had the most yummy Country Wedge Salad I’ve ever had…the homemade blue cheese dressing was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Happy Birthday and Anniversary, Nancy!

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Yum! I stick with vinaigrettes most of the time . . . but homemade blue cheese dressing is hard to pass up!

Thanks for the good wishes, Jill.

Jill Weatherholt - July 17, 2014

Blue cheese is a special treat and boy was this a good one! πŸ™‚ The restaurant who made the best blue cheese ever was featured on Diners Drive-Ins and Dives on the Food Channel. The restaurant used to be an old gas station. It’s a cool place.

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

Guy scouts out some amazing Diners Drive-Ins & Dives! He’s featured Jose’s Cuban on Cortez Road (a couple miles from us):

http://josesrealcubanfood.com/

15. Barb - July 17, 2014

Happy Birthday and Anniversary Nancy! That tempura battered asparagus looks mouth-watering, might try making it myself.

nrhatch - July 17, 2014

It was amazing, Barb. And very FUN to eat. Thanks for the good wishes ~ here’s to amazing asparagus dishes. :mrgreen:

16. When in New Places - July 17, 2014

Happy birthday & anniversary! That’s so wonderful!
Oh man, this all looks amazing! I would love to try the asparagus, that’s a genius way to put it together. But yeah, the cake just made me instadrool!
The best thing I’ve eaten all year was a pho that came from a creepy, back alley in Ho Chi Minh City. I’m not a big fan of Korean food, so it’s extremely easy for me to remember what the best thing was. πŸ˜€
~ Andrea ❀

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

I’m on the same page when it comes to Korean food ~ except when it comes from a creepy back alley in Ho Chi Minh City. 😎

The asparagus would not be hard to do ~ even as little chunks with a fondue.

17. jannatwrites - July 18, 2014

Looks like some yummy celebrations! I was just thinking about your birthday – I thought it was a few days ago. Happy bday πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks, Janna. Yup, last weekend I moved into the next “time zone.” Too bad we can’t set our clocks back each fall. That would be cool.

18. Jacqueline King - July 18, 2014

Congratulations and thank you for sharing your celebrations with us, Nancy ~ the food looks yummy and the photos of ‘happy you’ made me smile! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks, Jacqueline! Seeing people smile and, especially, hearing them laugh is always a mood boost for me.

19. Three Well Beings - July 18, 2014

Happy Anniversary AND Happy Birthday! I like your style. They were celebrations and it’s time to enjoy whatever you want. I must say that both looked wonderful to me and this was an excellent post! You smiling and reminding us to celebrate and ENJOY our lives. To your question, I made homemade ice cream the other night just because. No real reason, and that doesn’t sound like much, but since we are so careful with our diet most of the time, it was just a treat we wanted and enjoyed. That was my opportunity to smile. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks, Debra. Celebrations for “no reason” are GREAT! And homemade ice cream is a winner of an indulgence.

I remember summer days in the back yard with the hand-cranked ice cream machine . . . and the fight over who got to lick the paddles.

20. livelytwist - July 18, 2014

Congratulations! I love that you were spoilt! Your before and after show that you had a great day πŸ™‚

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks, Timi. Both celebrations were “low key” this year ~ but low key doesn’t have to mean “no fun.”

I joked with my sister that we went on a Windjammer Cruise in Maine for our 20th, bought a villa in Florida for our 25th, and celebrated with a pizza (and tempura asparagus) for our 30th.

21. Tammy - July 18, 2014

Ooh 30!! Tempura is wicked yum and I can only imagine with asparagus.

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

This was a GREAT treat, Tammy. We don’t eat much fried food and the batter was light and crispy and not greasy and yummy.

22. Pix Under the Oaks - July 18, 2014

Happy Birthday! The cheesecake!!!! Best thing I have eaten this year.. too many to pick one.. πŸ˜€ The fried grouper sandwich at Turtles! The Brother-in-laws pork steaks.. I could go on and on!!!

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

We’ve been to Turtles! Food is one of the great pleasures of life. Here’s to having something delectable to eat . . . Every Day.

23. Val Boyko - July 18, 2014

Boy, does that look good! So do you Nancy πŸ™‚
Have a great birthday month!
Val

nrhatch - July 18, 2014

Thanks, Val. Hope that you are having a super time on your trip.

24. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - July 19, 2014

Happy 30th!

nrhatch - July 19, 2014

Thanks, Greg! Here’s to Happy Eats!

25. bluebee - July 22, 2014

“Umpteenth birthday” – haha, excellent. Belated wishes, Nancy 🍰🍧🎁

nrhatch - July 22, 2014

Thanks, BB! The “umpteenth” is not really a “secret” but I figure it doesn’t need to be circulating in cyber space.

26. Tokeloshe - July 23, 2014

Congratulations on your anniversary and birthday!
I love tempura, but I have not tried asparagus tempura yet.
That cheesecake looks yummy as well πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - July 23, 2014

Every time I see this post . . . I want another plate of that asparagus.

27. gannonham - July 28, 2014

Wow, this looks delish!
Here’s my go-to party recipe: http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/06/14/jalapeno-cheeseball/

nrhatch - July 28, 2014

Your Jalapeno Cheeseball sounds and looks yummy!

gannonham - July 29, 2014

Thanks so much!

28. Celebrating Time’s Passage | Spirit Lights The Way - August 11, 2014

[…] year, we planned a low key celebration ~ Happy Hour at the Chart House one day, pizza from Oma’s the […]


What Say YOU?

