jump to navigation

Celebrating Time’s Passage August 11, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor.
trackback

220px-Congrats_bqtRecently, Rainee did a post about Aging ~ The Age Old Questions ~ seeking ideas for how to celebrate an upcoming milestone.

I reflected that age is “just a number that helps us place memories on a timeline from Birth to Death.”

In my younger years, moving along that timeline seemed a matter of greater import than it does these days.  Back then, I celebrated not just my birthday, but my entire birth month!

This year, we planned a low key celebration ~ Happy Hour at the Chart House one day, pizza from Oma’s the next.

Maybe for my 60th, I’ll plan something a bit more spectacular.  More noteworthy.

Like jumping out of a plane.  Or wrestling an alligator.

IMGP1566

Snake charming is out of the question.

Aah . . . that’s better!

What’s your favorite way to celebrate time’s passage?

Comments»

1. suzicate - August 11, 2014

Like jumping out of a plane. Or wrestling an alligator. -My version would be if the plane was on the ground and if the alligator was dead or plastic or a stuffed toy, ha!

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Exactly! I’ll wrestle that sand sculpture of an alligator . . . not the real deal. But I would like to try sky diving. Tandem. Not solo.

2. Val Boyko - August 11, 2014

… or you could have that pineapple on your 60th 😉

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Bwahaha! You might be right. It may take that long for it to mature. It’s growing . . . s~l~o~w~l~y.

3. Rainee - August 11, 2014

Thanks for the mention in your blog, Nancy! I think I agree with suzicate’s comments above 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

I’m looking forward to hearing what you’ve decided to do for your milestone ~> another year, another drop in the bucket.

4. Arlee Bird - August 11, 2014

I actually can’t remember how I celebrated my 60th birthday. That’s par for the course though since there are a lot of things I don’t remember these days.

Lee
Wrote By Rote</a

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

That reminds me . . .

“They tell me that you’ll lose your mind as you grow older. What they don’t say is that you won’t miss it much.” ~ Malcolm Cowley

5. Silver in the Barn - August 11, 2014

For really important milestones, we like to plant a tree. When we moved to our old house the elderly former owner pointed out a magnolia which she had planted in memory of her late husband. I thought that was a wonderful way to remember him.

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

That’s a great idea, Barbara. Along the same lines:

In Indonesia, newlyweds in the Garut district of West Java must donate 10 trees to the forestry department to finalize their nuptials.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/with-this-tree-i-thee-wed/

6. Jill Weatherholt - August 11, 2014

I think I’d jump out of a plane before I would wrestle an alligator! Love the Chart House!

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

We have had some very happy Happy Hours at the Chart House. The closest one to us is located on the pass between Longboat Key and Lido Key so there’s always boats to watch while sipping cocktails. And eating cheesecake. 😀

7. ericjbaker - August 11, 2014

I’ve never been into celebrating my birthday. My mom did all the work. I don’t really like the attention, either.

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

As a kid, I liked getting presents and eating birthday cake. But sometimes the attention was a bit much and I’d have to retire with a book to recharge.

ericjbaker - August 11, 2014

I got the same amount of cake at other people’s birthday parties, which was all I really wanted. My tombstone should read: “Will there be cake?”

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

You know, you’ve got a point. We can enjoy other people’s parties without getting older or attracting attention.

And I’m fine with no presents at this point. I have more than enough stuff. “Pass the cake, please.”

8. Three Well Beings - August 11, 2014

I do like to find something fun to at least celebrate a milestone birthday. I turned 60 two years ago and we planned an entire Vegas weekend. I am NOT generally a Vegas kind of person, preferring quiet and a more naturally beautiful setting, but we took a small contingent of family and just acted like kids! It seemed the way to go to get over what was for me kind of a big hurdle. Now that I’m on the other side I can say “age is just a number,” but I admit I was cringing a bit at 6-0. Most of the time, though, I prefer the way you spent your last birthday, which is nourishing to my being! You set a good tone for celebrating…no alligators or sky diving for me, though.:-)

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Doing something a bit out of the ordinary (e.g., acting like kids in Vegas) is a great idea for a milestone celebration.

I’ve always wanted to go to Scotland. Maybe hanging out in the Highlands (NOT eating Haggis) should be my goal for my 60th?

9. ashokbhatia - August 11, 2014

The milestones of memories in our lives…..well said!

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

It’s interesting to look back over the timeline to see how far we’ve come and how many experiences we’ve enjoyed (or endured).

10. NancyTex - August 11, 2014

I like to celebrate milestones (birthdays, anniversaries) these days by doing something physically challenging – like climbing a mountain. There’s something very cool about seeing how far I can push my body, despite the number I’m celebrating. 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Yes! Proof that you can still rock it ~> climb a mountain!

Wrestling alligators is a physical challenge ~ one designed to make you Keep Moving! 😛

NancyTex - August 11, 2014

I’ll leave the alligators to you, NH!

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Perhaps a hike to a waterfall is more my speed. 😎

11. Judson - August 11, 2014

I enjoy celebrating milestones … but I’ve come to strongly dislike dividing life up into years. We all know we have but a finite number of “years” on this Earth. However, we have the opportunity for an infinite number of milestones … the old adage “How old would you be if you had no idea how old you actually were?” always encourages me to try my best to only BE as old as I FEEL, and to always try my best to feel young! 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Well put, Judson. I feel much younger than my stated years and am always a bit surprised when I catch my reflection in the mirror ~> “How did THAT happen?”

12. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 11, 2014

My 30th was a big dinner with friends and lot and lots of alcohol! 🙂 My 40th was the trip to Vegas with some family and friends.
Now, I had a great friend that celebrated her 50th with a giant slip n slide… So, I see a bounce house in my future! 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

I enjoyed your trip to Vegas . . . in a vicarious way. And I love the idea of a slip & slide or bounce house for “mature” celebrants.

13. Pix Under the Oaks - August 11, 2014

I can’t remember how I celebrated my 60th.. I am sure a nice glass of wine was involved.. 😀 And FOOD!

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

I remember BFF’s 30th ~ because he let me throw a Black Balloon “Over The Hill” Party for him.

Don’t remember his 40 or 50 because he said, “NO PARTY!”

I remember my 40th because some friends threw an “over the hill” party for me (with, yup, black balloons). For my 50th, BFF got all our nieces and nephews to sign a fantastic card during the family reunion that summer.

14. elizabeth2560 - August 11, 2014

Being the pensive contemplative person that I am, I thought a lot about turning that milestone (60) earlier this year and wrote about values and who I had received those values from who were living inside me (father, mother, grandmother, aunt, uncle etc). I planned to have a gathering and speak about those things.
My children had other ideas. Firstly I was dragged away for a few days at a beach for some fun times; then 2 weeks later to a ‘big-city’ weekend of a razza-matazz restaurant meal and later karaoke with much fun and laughter. Note: emphasis from the children was on ‘fun’.
(PS. I gave the little speech I had prepared anyway, because that is the way I am.)

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Happy Milestone Birthday! How fun that your children dragged you off to celebrate at the beach and during a big city weekend. Sounds great, speech and all.

15. bluebee - August 11, 2014

Good luck with that, Nancy. :mrgreen:

nrhatch - August 11, 2014

Well, I’ve got a few years to train . . . or to switch to Plan BB (Birthday Balloons sans gators)!

bluebee - August 11, 2014

😄

nrhatch - August 12, 2014

That will remind me to think outside the box!

16. livelytwist - August 12, 2014

Age is all the rage now! I’m posting something on age this Sunday. I like the way you put it that age is “just a number that helps us place memories on a timeline from Birth to Death.”

I’m not big on celebrating. My family is. I am ‘arm-bushed’ every milestone birthday into a celebration! 🙂 They don’t seem to like my idea- a quiet day of reflection and gratitude.

nrhatch - August 12, 2014

Using birthdays and other mile markers as an opportunity for reflection and gratitude makes sense ~ sounds like you need to enjoy quiet time the day before or the day after the family gathering (and strong arming).

Here’s to continued momentum.

17. jannatwrites - August 14, 2014

Jumping our of a plane or wrestling an alligator? You don’t want to see sixty-one, eh? 🙂

nrhatch - August 15, 2014

Haha! I’ll see how I feel at 60. If I feel like another decade would be good, maybe I’ll postpone the adrenaline junkie rush.


What Say YOU?

