jump to navigation

Present Moment, Wonderful Moment May 14, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Happiness, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Thich Nhat Hanh, a Vietnamese Buddhist Monk, created an inspiring handbook of “gathas” or mindfulness verses. 

Reciting the poetic and practical verses from Present Moment Wonderful Moment ~ Mindfulness Verses for Daily Living reminds us to slow down and enjoy the ordinary and magical moments of our lives.

An example of the peace and joy he promotes with his wisdom:

#27.  Cleaning the Meditation Room

As I clean this fresh, calm room
boundless joy and energy arise! 

It is a joy to tidy the meditation room.  In its fresh, calm atmosphere, everything reminds us to come back to the present moment.  Every sweep of the broom is light, and every step we take is filled with awareness.  As we arrange the cushions, our mind is still.  Working in a relaxed way, with a feeling of peace and joy, we become energized.  Everything we do can be filled with this peace and joy.

To read a book review on Head Butler:  Present Moment Wonderful Moment

To read more about Thich Nhat Hanh’s Inspiring Life:  Thich Nhat Hanh

Comments

1. Richard W Scott - May 14, 2010

Hmm… Thich Nhat Hanh add a y to that, rearrange the letters… what do you think you’d get?

2. nrhatch - May 14, 2010

Me? With a few loose ends to tie up?

3. nrhatch - May 14, 2010

Talk about synchronicity. I had just posted this article and immediately received an invitation to WillOM Light Path . . . with a link to an article about Thich Nhat Hanh.

Another Meditation:

Breathing in, I calm my body.
Breathing out, I smile.
Dwelling in the present moment,
I know this is a wonderful moment.

4. nancycurteman - May 14, 2010

I like Hanh’s philosophy. It reminds me of one of my favorite bits of wisdom: “Life is a journey, not a destination.” By the way, I’m not in a hurry to reach life’s finale destination.

5. nrhatch - May 14, 2010

I’m with you . . .

I want to take plenty of time along the way to watch the flowers grow.

6. Debra - March 12, 2011

Yes, i liked some of them….and i do wished the book clicked more with me.

btw…I somehow…not sure how…deleted your 13 books… comment on my blog? it went into my spam…why? who knows.

Thanks Nancy…time for me to clean my meditation room:)

nrhatch - March 12, 2011

It reminds me to be in the moment no matter what I’m doing so there is no excuse for not meditating.

I read it on occasion and it always instills me with peace, calm, and serenity.

I would repost my comment, but I don’t remember what it said. 😀

7. Nishant - September 23, 2011

Thanx for introducing me to this book of TNH. I live in a great and big city (New Delhi) but finding good books is still a trouble. Thanx to the Internet, now I can easily find books, their reviews and get them delivered in a day or two.
I like your blog. I subscribe 🙂

nrhatch - September 23, 2011

Welcome! _/!\_


Sorry comments are closed for this entry