jump to navigation

A Wake Up Call July 16, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

When I stopped practicing law, and felt that first rush of FREEDOM, I blithely assumed that every day would be perfect and I would be HAPPY at last.

Ha!  Reality did not meet (or exceed) my rather naïve expectations.

Before the ink on my resignation had dried, I started worrying about what I would do next, how we would pay the mortgage, what would happen if I NEVER found something else to do with my time and talents . . .   

Thoughts have a way of ripping happiness from our grasp before we’ve even had a chance to celebrate its “arrival.”

It’s up to us to reclaim it.

How?

By returning our thoughts to the moment at hand. 

We will never be happy if we choose to remain mired in pain from the past. 

We will never know peace if we choose to focus on fear of the future. 

We might be hit by a bus tomorrow, so we might as well enjoy today . . . by enjoying the magic of the present moment.

Life is filled with adventure, excitement, magic, wonder,  and infinite possibilities to explore.

But to see the magic, we must be willing to open our eyes.

Wake up!

Quote:  “What are you ~ a god, an angel, a saint?”        “No,” replied the Buddha, “I am A~W~A~K~E.”

Inspiration for this post . . . A Most Inspiring Walk (Here Be Dragons)

Related posts:  Awakening To The Sacred * Wake Up and Be The Lotus * The Lotus Flower * Maybe You’re Right

Comments

1. souldipper - July 16, 2010

Hey Nancy,

Seems as though you were peeking into my life! As a person who left a Management position after years of doing that sort of work, I wondered if I stepped off an abyss to the netherlands. Amazing the response from the Universe! Amazing Grace.

Thanks for reminding me that I am not alone and that I can go and meditate on being A W A K E. That’s what it’s about…

Love (truly), Amy

nrhatch - July 16, 2010

Just leap . . . and Amazing Grace sticks a net underneath you!

Glad that your experience mirrored my own.

2. cindy - July 16, 2010

You know what Nancy, the blues touch everyone with different degrees of frequency. I’ve found the bad days bearable by just saying “Oh today I’m so blue ‘coz I’m so blue”. Just go with the flow, you know you’ll get in the sunshine again. Soon.

nrhatch - July 16, 2010

I agree . . . there are definitely days that I don’t “bounce back” as quickly as others. I just accept the “what is” (instead of fighting it) and eventually it dissipates.

I have learned to NOT engage in introspection or make major life decisions at those times. : )

After enlightenment, the laundry. ♥ ♥ ♥

3. Agatha82 - July 16, 2010

How true is that, and glad my blog inspired this one 🙂
Yes, I think it’s very hard to get rid of that rigid mindset stuck in our heads. I did this once before, years ago, when I had a chance to take 9 years redudancy pay and I did BUT months later, I ended up back on a crap office job I hated (the one I’ve just left) but going through that taught me a lesson. I also did not have my writing back then, so it’s why I didn’t know what else to do. Now I do 🙂

nrhatch - July 16, 2010

Go for it, Alannah! Enjoy every step of the way. : )

May all peace, blessings, good fortune, and delight be yours.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry