jump to navigation

Music Monday: 3 More Favorites September 19, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Mindfulness, Music & Dance.
trackback

In response to a recent WP Prompt which suggested writing A Top Ten List of Favorite Songs, I posted 10 Favorites.  After reading Creating Reciprocity’s recent post about the amazing benefits of music, I decided to share 3 more:

1.  Al Stewart ~ Year of the Cat 

Al Stewart, a Scottish singer-songwriter, paints poetic images with lyrics.  In Year Of The Cat, he encourages us to accept  what is being offered, here and now, without obsessing about the future and its inherent uncertainty.  

Highlighted with romantic piano runs and soaring saxophone interludes,  here’s Stewart sharing . . . a morning from a Bogart movie in a country where they turned back time:

When we take time to enjoy the journey . . . we’re so engrossed, we barely notice  that the bus and the tourists are gone.

2.  Simply Red ~ Holding Back The Years

Simply Red were a British soul band that sold more than 50 million albums over a 25-year career. Their style drew influences from blue-eyed soul, new romantic, rock, reggae and jazz.

Since their early days the main driving force behind the band was singer Mick Hucknall, who by the time the band broke up in 2010 was the only original member left.

Listen for the horn solo and keep holding on . . . 

3.  John Lennon ~ Watching the Wheels 

Lennon, of course, needs no introduction.  His song, Watching the Wheels,  serves as a simple reminder that we must measure success in life using our  internal barometer . . . without worrying about what other people say about the choices we make:

I’m just sitting here
Watching the wheels go round and round
I really love to watch them roll
No longer riding on the merry-go-round . . .
I just had to let it go.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments

1. Carl D'Agostino - September 19, 2011

White Bird – Quicksilver Messenger Service

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

OK.

2. brainrants - September 19, 2011

Hmmm…

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Ohmmm . . .

3. LittleMissVix - September 19, 2011

I’m not sure why but I can’t stand Simply Red! Weird πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

BFF doesn’t like the group either. I only have one CD and I enjoy it . . . when BFF is not around. 😎

4. Judson - September 19, 2011

“Everybody Wants to Rule the World” by Tears for Fears … particularly love the slow rythmic buildup in beginning.

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Thanks, Judson.

5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - September 19, 2011

Oh man, that guys hair in holding back the tears. Yes, I know, not supposed to be focused on that!

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Hand me the scissors! πŸ˜‰

6. Tinman - September 19, 2011

Great songs, especially the first one. I saw Al Stewart (who I’d never heard of) perform Year of the Cat on a show called the Old Grey Whistle Test one night and went out and bought the album the following day, the only time I’ve ever done that.

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

This video is at the Old Grey Whistle test! Maybe you were there? That would be cool.

7. spilledinkguy - September 19, 2011

I always get myself into trouble trying to list favorite songs, bands, albums etc…
so many wonderful options (which is a very good thing, I guess)!
πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

That’s why I didn’t do a “TOP TEN” list . . . depends on the day and even on the time of day.

Easier just to share “favorites.” 😎

8. Tilly Bud - September 19, 2011

1 out of 3 ain’t bad, but I hate that one (Simply Red). Hard to believe we are of a similar age when I don’t know any of your music πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

And these bands all hail from Britain. πŸ˜€

Tilly Bud - September 20, 2011

I’m blushing πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Britain exported some mighty talented musicians from its shores. 😎

9. nuvofelt - September 19, 2011

LOL. There’s nothing like religion, politics and music …………….

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Just so! πŸ˜†

10. 2e0mca - September 19, 2011

Music Monday… ! Oh wow, are you starting a new trend?

Love that Al Stewart – never got around to buying it though. Perhaps now I will πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Perhaps. Not sure. Haven’t entirely decided. Judging from the overall tenor of the comments, perhaps not. πŸ˜‰

Glad you recognized one you enjoy.

11. kateshrewsday - September 19, 2011

Ahhh…off down memory lane…a song can be so evocative…

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

This is my FAVORITE Lennon song and I love loads of them.

When I stopped practicing law, β€œeveryone” (but BFF) warned me that:

* I was making a BIG mistake
* I needed to come up with a PLAN (and a PLAN B)
* I couldn’t waltz through life to see where I ended up

In response to their advice (designed to enlighten me), I would listen to this song over and over . . .

While watching the shadows on the wall.

12. gospelwriter - September 19, 2011

Al Stewart’s Year of the Cat has also been a favourite of mine; and John Lennon, don’t get me started – or no, just give me anything by him, anything at all…

Love these lines in Wheels:

No longer riding on the merry-go-round . . .
I just had to let it go.

nrhatch - September 19, 2011

Thanks, Ruth. When fears made me think that “they” might be right . . . I listened to Lennon to remind myself, “I just had to let it go.”

His words resonated and reassured me.

13. andalibmarks - September 20, 2011

Awesome songs!!

*#*

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Thanks, Andi. Three seems a more manageable number to share at one time than ten. Wish I’d broken up the last post into smaller bites.

14. ElizOF - September 20, 2011

I love that Simply Red song… It played in my head for months when it first came out… ah memories of music. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

The melody and instrumentals (including his voice) appeal to me (even if the lyrics don’t really speak to me).

Until this week, I’d never watched the video before ~ doing so made me view the song as far sadder and more negative than it seemed before.

I always heard it as “acceptance” and “resilience” . . . but now it seems more like “defeat” and “resignation” and “resentment.”

I still like the song . . . I’ll just put the visual images out of my head when listening . . . I won’t miss the floppy hair. πŸ˜‰

15. Naomi - September 20, 2011

Love these, Nancy, but my favourite for today must be Year of The Cat – in honour of Jina’s birthday πŸ™‚ Thank you for that!

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

Happy Birthday, Jina! {{meow}}

16. jeanne - September 20, 2011

Another great selection. I think I need to join in on Music Monday. Whats the trick to adding the actual video and not just a link to the video?

nrhatch - September 20, 2011

It’s easy. Right next to the link for adding photos is a link for adding videos.

Click on it and it opens, and gives examples on how to insert links from youtube. Then press “insert” just like with a photo.

You just type [ youtube = ] around the url address . . . no spaces.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry