jump to navigation

Ring Out Solstice Bells December 10, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Magick & Mystery, Music & Dance, Nature.
trackback

To celebrate the Winter Solstice and the Turning of the Wheel, here’s Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull singing Ring Out Solstice Bells:

Now is the solstice of the year
Winter is the glad song that you hear
Seven maids move in seven time
Have the lads up ready in a line

Ring out these bells. Ring out, ring solstice bells. Ring solstice bells.

Join together beneath the mistletoe
By the holy oak whereon it grows
Seven druids dance in seven time
Sing the song the bells call, loudly chiming

Ring out these bells.  Ring out, ring solstice bells.  Ring solstice bells.

Quote:  “Announced by all the trumpets of the sky, Arrives the snow.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Related posts:    Joy To The World * Ho~Ho~Ho! Merry Christmas! * Santa Claus is Coming to Town * The “Star” of Bethlehem * Gifts of Hope

Comments

1. kateshrewsday - December 10, 2010

Oh, what a fabulous song to add to a post, Nancy! I love it!
Had to endure Phil dancing to it when I played it, of course, but one can’t have everything)

nrhatch - December 10, 2010

Did the foam cricket bats make an appearance as he danced? 🙂

I agree. One of my favorite Tull songs.

2. Alannah Murphy - December 10, 2010

Had forgotten the Winter solstice is coming up. You know, I’d never heard that song but I’ve never been that familiar with Jethro Tull so for once, I got to listen to something I’d never heard 🙂

nrhatch - December 10, 2010

The Solstice is December 21st which will correspond with a FULL Lunar Eclipse in the early morning hours, starting at 10:45 pm on 12/20 and ending at 5:45 am on 12/21.

I’m hoping for cloudless skies.

This song is from Songs From the Woods ~ my favorite Tull album. Definitely worth a look up . . .

“Let me bring you Songs from the Woods to make you feel much better than you could know.”

Alannah Murphy - December 12, 2010

Full lunar ecplise and the solstice? Oh dear, I’ll probably turn into a werewolf or something lol

nrhatch - December 12, 2010

Stay away from Highgate Cemetary . . . you never know who (or what) will be lurking about in the shadows. 😉

3. Cindy - December 11, 2010

Oh, what a lovely thing to watch and listen to!

nrhatch - December 11, 2010

I’ve been humming it in my head all morning.

Well, for that portion of the morning during which I’ve been awake and aware. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry