jump to navigation

When We Land On Our Derrious June 7, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Poetry.
trackback

The world would be happier
If we were all sillier

Especially when clouds threaten rain

Life’s too short to be serious
When we land on our derrious*

Time to retrain our brains

If kids with cancer can Laugh and Smile and Sing and Dance and Be Silly . . .  can’t we do the same?  Thanks, Jacqueline ~> best Occupy Blogosphere yet!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related Post:  Gray Day Silliness (Crowing Crone)

* Derrious ~ n : a polite reference to one’s posterior

Comments»

1. Life in the Boomer Lane - June 7, 2012

Ah, being silly is, indeed, one of the great joys of life.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

And when we act silly . . . we give others “permission” to NOT be so so serious. 😛

2. bluebee - June 7, 2012

Silly is good! Derrious = delirious derrières 🙂
What a marvellous shot of the yachts reflected in the water

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Silly is good! When we stop taking everything so “personally” . . . we dance in the rain, splash in the puddles, and laugh at the storm clouds rolling by.

That “yacht shot” is the Twin Dolphins Marina on the Manatee River in Bradenton. Our sailboat isn’t in that shot . . . it’s in the bathtub. 😛

3. Piglet in Portugal - June 7, 2012

Life is for living, but sometimes we need to be serious to reflect on happiness and what we have

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Do we need to reflect on happiness?

Why can’t we just wallow in it . . . like a piglet rolling around in the mud? 😛

Piglet in Portugal - June 7, 2012

When we are happy it is all to easy to take, rather than share. Maybe not…

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

I’m just the opposite. When I’m happy from the top of my head to the tips of my toes . . . my heart is WIDE OPEN and generous and kind.

When I’m “too serious” . . . my heart contracts and I become less likely to share.

4. Tammy - June 7, 2012

Yes, we need to laugh! I had such a serious day yesterday. We were meeting a couple of bankers at a restaurant. When seated, one of the women’s handbags slipped onto the floor and my colleague told her, “your handgun is showing”. I thought we were all going to die. It was perfect.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

When you have the time, click on the link I just added to Jacqueline’s blog ~ a video shot in Seattle Children’s Hospital.

Their happiness is PALPABLE despite the “seriousness” of the situation in which they find themselves.

5. wightrabbit - June 7, 2012

Thank you so much, for your comments and for adding my link, Nancy! You are SO right – how can we justify self-pitying in the face of what these kids and their parents have to deal with? Your photos are a great reminder to keep things in balance and perspective and not take life too seriously! 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Your post is a PERFECT reminder that we do NOT have to be glum . . . even IF we are fighting for our lives. 😀

nrhatch - June 7, 2012
6. Tori Nelson - June 7, 2012

One of our biggest flaws as adults, I think, is mistaking this world as something so serious 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

The thing I enjoyed most about “attending your wedding” was the silliness factor.

Life is more FUN when we enjoy silly games and don’t turn everything into a drama contest.

7. suzicate - June 7, 2012

It’s always fun to be silly. I might have more padding on my rear these days but for some reason it hurts much more now!

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

I know, right? What’s up with that??? 😀

8. Andra Watkins - June 7, 2012

After what happened to me this morning, I’m glad I have a sense of humor.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

I couldn’t survive without mine . . . hope you’re OK and bounce back soon.

9. CMSmith - June 7, 2012

Very nice thought as I head for a short visit with our grandson who never fails to bring out the silly in me.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Have a FUN and SILLY time with your grandson. Kids are good for our hearts. 😀

10. spilledinkguy - June 7, 2012

I’m very popular with the inflatable monkey population.
Because I’m so full of hot air.
🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Same here . . . hot air inspires me!
Up . . . Up . . . and AWAY!

11. Booksphotographsandartwork - June 7, 2012

Speaking of silliness did you see that the new Madagascar 3 opens in theaters tomorrow?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait. I hope my husbad and I get to take our grandson. I love those movies.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Madagascar movies are GREAT . . . King Julian singing, “I like to move it, move it!” . . . penguins marching to the beat of a very different drummer . . . and the Lion does not eat the Zebra!

Enjoy it! 😀

12. cuhome - June 7, 2012

Oh, yes, being silly is so much fun!!! Great pics to go along with your written words, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Thanks, Janet. I felt far too serious yesterday ~> today, levity has replaced gravity.

Aah . . . that’s better.

13. kateshrewsday - June 7, 2012

Every day requires some humour, doesn’t it, Nancy? I find the worse things get the more outrageous my humour gets. It helps me handle the darkest hour.

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Last night, a few “storm clouds” rolled in . . . it grew dark, indeed. This morning, silliness displaced the mood of “gloom and doom.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

kateshrewsday - June 7, 2012

Thinking of you: may you humour stay the course with you x

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Thanks, Kate. My funny bone chakra is keeping me on an even keel today. Much smoother sailing. 😀

14. sufilight - June 7, 2012

Enjoyed your pictures, and yes, silly is fun! My s/o and I are super silly which gives us a lot chuckles. 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Yay! Same here . . . especially if we are BOTH feeling the need for a bit of “silly” in our day ~ then it’s double the pleasure and double the fun! 😀

15. jannatwrites - June 7, 2012

I like silly much better than serious. It’s one attitude everyone can wear well. I like the yacht picture and the reflections on the water. The monkey made me smile, too 🙂

nrhatch - June 7, 2012

Thanks, Janna. I definitely needed a BIG DOSE of silly today . . . it worked! 😀

16. Nancy Curteman - June 7, 2012

Whenever I go to your blog, it lifts my spirit. Thanks for keeping us in touch with the important things in life.

nrhatch - June 8, 2012

Thanks, NC. Your comment made me smile. 😀

17. Three Well Beings - June 8, 2012

You are so right! There’s nothing like a good laugh to lift the spirit…always! I loved the video…I was pretty uplifted by that one, boy! Thanks for that! Debra

nrhatch - June 8, 2012

I wanted to slap it into this post as soon as I saw it yesterday ~ if they can do it . . . so can we! 😀

18. souldipper - June 8, 2012

Thanks for supporting Jacqueline’s Occupy Blogosphere, Nancy. Jacqueline steadfastly posts amazing stuff every Thursday – and even stood in when I was absent without even being asked. So I sure saw where she stands when I landed on my very non serious derrious…

nrhatch - June 8, 2012

I loved Jacqueline’s Occupy Blogosphere post this week. Before watching, I was SURE that I would NOT find it uplifting (because it was filmed in a Children’s Hospital with sick kids).

I watched and fell in love with it . . . because it was filmed in a Children’s Hospital with sick kids who WOWed me with their positivity in the face of adversity. 😀

It’s easy to be positive when ALL is well . . . it’s much harder when the world is crumbling around us and the future doesn’t look promising. But we never know what surprises and miracles are waiting around the next bend.

19. Perfecting Motherhood - June 9, 2012

I love delivering puns, making fun with words, delivering funny comments, and making up jokes (sometimes not very good ones, I’ll admit). My kids love it and we laugh every day, making stuff up. I think it helps the creative mind going, and the laugh flowing. As for my derriere, I hate falling on it, because if this has ever happened to you, you know it really hurts, especially right on the tailbone!

nrhatch - June 22, 2012

It does indeed . . . unless you land on a pile of sand, leaves, or straw. Tickling the funny bone chakra is definitely good for the mood.

20. Team Oyeniyi - June 12, 2012

Gave me a much needed smile!

nrhatch - June 22, 2012

Perfect!

21. Tokeloshe - July 4, 2012

Well done!

Love the smiling Totem 😉

nrhatch - July 22, 2012

Thanks . . . me too!


What Say YOU?

