jump to navigation

Sexiest Blog of the Year Award! January 9, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

Congratulations!  You’ve won!

The editors of SLTW have selected the winner of the  Sexiest Blog of the Year Award.  And it’s . . . YOU!

Yay! 

Celebrate good times, c’mon!

Oh, what did you win?
Bragging rights. 

Isn’t that what most (non-monetized) awards boil down to?  An accolade, or expression of praise, from the award giver to the award recipient, often benefitting both the giver and the recipient through increased product sales and PR?

Consider People magazine and its Sexiest Man of the Year Award.  

Over the years, its honorees have included Mel Gibson, Nick Nolte, Tom Cruise, Sean Connery, Richard Gere, John F. Kennedy, Jr., Harrison Ford, Pierce Brosnan, Hugh Jackman, George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matthew McConaughey, Denzel Washington, Ryan Reynolds, Jude Law, Johnny Dep, and others. 

Is the recipient in a given year really the Sexiest Man on the planet? 

Of course not.

The editors of People do not scour the globe or engage in any scientific analysis or comparison in order to pick the “sexiest man of the year.” 

Instead, they create a list of popular male celebrities who are already “in the news,” narrow the list to 10-12 semi-finalists who will “sell magazines,” and take full size cardboard cut-outs of each semi-finalist onto the streets to solicit feedback from random passers-by (men and women) to see which guy is likely to sell the most magazines.

People presents the award each year for one reason and one reason only . . .  to sell  magazines.  Most years, it is THE issue which outsells all other issues. 

Apparently, the American public would rather pay money to read about random award results than about the aftermath of earthquakes in Haiti.  Surprising, no?

And recipients accept the award for the same reason . . . because they are  selling a product.  

Being named “the Sexiest Man of the Year” results in FREE publicity from appearing in the most popular People issue of the year.

And that’s why YOU should accept the 2011 Sexiest Blog of the Year award from SLTW.

You’re selling a product ~ your blog.  If you accept the award, and the bragging rights that go with it, you’ll sell more product. 

C’mon, the American public buys into the fantasy of American Idol and the Sexiest Man of the Year. . . why wouldn’t they believe that YOU have the Sexiest Blog of the Year? 

In fact, the more you exercise your bragging rights, the more both our blogs will benefit.  YOU can send readers to SLTW to check out the semi-finalists you competed against (i.e., the Blog Roll), and I’ll send readers to your blog to check out the Sexiest Blog of the Year button that you create. 

It’s a Win~Win!

Especially for our egos . . . which have an insatiable appetite for accolades, awards, and pointless platitudes. 

No rules.  Just write!

Related posts:  40 Bloggers to Watch in 2011 (ProBlogger) * Look No Further ~ here it is:  THE WORLD’S SEXIEST BLOG * WTF: Watch That Feedback * Pop Goes The Ego* Let Go, EGO!

Comments

1. Paula Tohline Calhoun - January 9, 2011

I am so deeply honored. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I will say that I was not at all surprised, however. I mean, who else would it be (besides everyone else on your blogroll – or mine)? Is the green arrow circle thingie supposed to be the award badge? If so, I will copy it and post. Otherwise I’ll make my own – but send it to you for authorization first. 😀

Thanks again! I needed that! ;-D

nrhatch - January 9, 2011

Sure, that can be the award badge ~ the “what goes around comes around” button (a/k/a the “I scratch your blog, you scratch mine” button).

Glad you enjoyed! 🙂

2. Brown Eyed Mystic - January 9, 2011

Indeed. A win-win.

I love your sense of humour and wittiness Nancy.

Thanks for the award 😉

-BrownEyed

nrhatch - January 9, 2011

Thanks, Brown Eyed! I’ve always wondered about the People magazine award.

This year, I saw a show about the selection process and, let’s just say, its accuracy would not withstand scientific analysis and scrutiny. 🙂

3. oldancestor - January 9, 2011

Sadly, I already declared my blog to be the sexiest of its kind last year. That was after I said it was the lowest calorie blog, but the FDA sued me, so I had to change it.

Does all this mean I am ineligible to accept this prize? I hope not.

nrhatch - January 9, 2011

Absolutely not. All blogs, even low calorie blogs sued by the FDA, are eligible for the 2011 Sexiest Blog Award. 🙂

Paula Tohline Calhoun - January 10, 2011

Well, maybe you could have accepted it – if you were sexy enough. But this year, the award has gone to ME!!!! See my blog entry. I’m too sexy for cyberspace. No contest. Flannel PJ’s notwithstanding!

BTW, you know I’m the winner, because my blog’s the one with the award button!

nrhatch - January 10, 2011

That’s it, Paula. Put those bragging rights to good use . . .

And you deserved the big win given that gorgeous award button you created!

Now, why do I want to pull on some cozy flannel pj’s and hit the sack? {{yawn}}

4. jannatwrites - January 10, 2011

This got me laughing. Thanks! (Too bad my blog is about as sexy as baggy flannel pajamas.)

I never pay attention to the sexiest/most beautiful lists. (Is it rude to say it’s because I don’t care?) Sure, much of the Hollywood folk are nice to look at, but I’m not sure how many of them are really that nice.

nrhatch - January 10, 2011

I think that baggy flannel pj’s ARE sexy. 🙂

I agree. I haven’t bought a People magazine in years ~ because the people that matter to me aren’t found within its pages.

nrhatch - January 10, 2011

Absolutely right, Paula. This is the first annual Sexiest Blog Award. 😉

Paula Tohline Calhoun - January 10, 2011

Hang on to those PJ’s. Maybe they will work for 2012.

5. Look no further – here it is: THE WORLD’S SEXIEST BLOG!! « Reflections From a Cloudy Mirror - January 10, 2011

[…] here.  THE WORLD’S SEXIEST BLOG!  Did I mention that this is it?  I know, because “Spirit Lights the Way” told me so, and she should know.  (Pay no attention to the “pointless […]

nrhatch - January 10, 2011

Woo woot! You go, girl! 🙂

6. SammyDee - October 3, 2011

Lol, I hadn’t seen this post before now. Very funny. 🙂

nrhatch - October 3, 2011

I’m glad you enjoyed it, Sammy.

I wrote this after a rather narcissistic blogger started puffing out his chest to proclaim that he was KING of the blogosphere because of some list of 10 best blogs he landed on.

Listening to him got old . . . so I wrote this in response. 😀

Most of us realize that, when we receive a non-monetized blog award, it means that the giver enjoys having us in the blogosphere and wants to encourage our efforts, We smile from the heart . . . without becoming “big headed” by the gesture.

7. You Were Born To Succeed - October 3, 2011

Thanks, Nancy, great idea! My blog is actually sexy. Just waiting to see if anyone else recognized it. It’s also interesting to learn how Nick Nolte got to be Sexiest Man of the Year – not my choice, but he can evidently sell magazines.

nrhatch - October 3, 2011

Your blog IS sexy. Nick Nolte . . . not so much. 😆

8. Tori Nelson - November 21, 2011

I feel infinitely better looking just reading about it!

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

There ya go! Loved your post. There’s something about the People’s Sexiest Man of the Year issue that begs satire. 😀

9. colonialist - February 16, 2015

*pathetically* But I can’t do that shades of grey stuff! Oh, woe is me!

nrhatch - February 16, 2015

Do what you can with what you have where you are . . . 😛


Sorry comments are closed for this entry