jump to navigation

Let Go, EGO! April 2, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego, Writing & Writers.
trackback

Remember that commercial, “Leggo my EGGO!”

Please tell me . . . who has enough energy in the morning to get worked up over a frozen waffle???

Take the waffle, already!  Just pass me a cup of coffee.

At any rate, this post is not about EGGO (the waffle) . . . it’s about EGO.

Now, I don’t know about your ego, but my EGO loves compliments ~ he has an absolutely insatiable appetite for them.

As soon as EGO notices a compliment, he stops playing and  reaches out to grab it, all the while inflating with self-importance like a giant hot-air balloon being readied for take-off.

Lacking inner confidence, EGO relies on external approval to bolster his fragile self-esteem ~ much the same way that people learning to swim grab U.S.C.G. approved floatation devices to keep from drowning in turbulent seas.

Don’t look at him like that. 

It’s not his fault ~ that’s his purpose in life.

Anyway, someone tossed a compliment at EGO last week and it landed squarely in front of him.

As soon as I noticed EGO’s desire to absorb and bask in the compliment, I urged him to let it go, “EGO, let go . . .  Give it to me . . . Let me have it . . .” 

EGO refused, “NO!  It’s MINE!” 

Let Go, EGO!

“NO!!!!!”

Instead of letting go, EGO grasped the compliment in a choke hold with grubby paws and stared defiantly at me.

When reasoning with EGO didn’t work ~ does it ever??? ~ I gently pried the compliment loose from his clenched fists, and released it into the atmosphere.

As soon as it sailed off, EGO burst into a tearful tantrum, resembling a tiny toddler in the throes of the Terrible Twos as he screamed, “GIVE IT BACK TO ME!!!”

EGO wants what EGO wants when EGO wants it!!!

 

Using EGO’s tantrum to reinforce my words, I asked the visitor to refrain from feeding EGO compliments in the future.

After all, Spirit Lights The Way is a Spiritual Blog,  not the Ego Boost Ride at the County Fair ~ we don’t need any EGOs-On-A-Stick marching around here looking like plumped up Corn Dogs.

To avoid future incidents of like nature caused by well-meaning visitors, we now have a prominent  sign at the Blog Entrance:

PLEASE . . . DON’T FEED MY EGO!!!

Related posts:  WTF: Watch That Feedback * Pop Goes The Ego

Comments»

1. Joanne - April 2, 2010

Now, Nancy… That’s not fair…! The purpose of setting up comment boxes is for feedback, right…? Sometimes a person is URGED to say something back that aligns with their emotional state of BEing at the moment they read a blog that aligns with TRUTH…

Now, I don’t always feedback on everything I read… but when I do, I’d like to think it’s coming from an authentic and genuine place in my BEing… Although I think I understand what you mean, after reading this, I wonder If have I been guilty of feeding EGO or am I simply creating an expression of appreciation for the person I’m feeding back to…?

I know you don’t want your readers walking (typing) on eggshells, but for the sake of the young and overly-sensitive souls, would you please clarify exactly what to you constitutes feeding EGO…?

Many years ago, I was of the mindset that if someone paid me a compliment it might contaminate my spirit… Since observing others who seem confidently humble in a Non-False-Humility sort of way, I have noticed that they gracefully accept compliments — without judgment of where they think they’re coming from…

Sorry if I missed your point altogether… Keep in mind that I am Special Ed and may have to re-read in order to comprehend… But I just thought it might not hurt to ask for clarification…

My mom always told me that there are no dumb questions, other than the one never asked… Maybe that’s why I’ve always frustrated the heck out of some of my instructors… I was the only one asking questions that everyone else was afraid to 😀

2. nrhatch - April 2, 2010

First off, you are right . . . no one should be walking on eggshells around here. So, maybe some clarification is in order.

When I focused on the compliment last week, I smiled and let it go right away ~ my EGO did not really insist on snatching it up as it used to in the days of yore.

So, this post is a bit tongue-in-cheek.

People should leave whatever feedback they want . . . I’ll be cautious about absorbing the words “as is” ~ it’s all too easy to develop an inflated (or deflated) ego from feedback.

That said, my focus with this blog is to share “life lessons” I’ve learned over the years with others. As far as possible, I’d like the focus to be on the lesson, rather than on the writing or the writer.

In other words, rather than being “center stage,” I’d like to hang out in the wings . . . and let the play unfold moment by moment.

Ideally, whenever a post provokes a thought (like this post did with you), readers will share their thoughts in the comment box.

As an example of a compimentary comment that I love receiving:
“Wow! I thought about this post as I went to sleep last night and it calmed me to the core.”

I just wanted readers to know that I’m not writing this blog because I’m actively fishing for compliments.

Clearer? : )

If I’ve muddied the waters, rather than clarifying them, let me know.

And, as always, thanks for reading and COMMENTING!!!! : )

nrhatch - April 2, 2010

To further clarify ~

To the person who tossed the compliment EGO’s way last week ~ thanks for reading, thanks for commenting, and thanks for complimenting my writing style.

In short . . . THIS BLOG’S FOR YOU!!!! : )

3. Joanne - April 2, 2010

Thanks, Nancy… I agree that this is a meaningful use of the Internet… and I appreciate the intentions with which it was created…This is a great substitute for the “church” I don’t do anymore… I have to have some sort of spiritual dialogue with people who are like-minded and not interested in spamming others, as is rampid in other “spiritually-based” sites.

I’ve just started my Spring break; so, it may seem my posts are more frequent and verbose… That’s what you get for making me THINK…

“So, there, Pear…!” Did you and your siblings grow up saying that, too…? 🙂

nrhatch - April 2, 2010

Nope, never heard, “So, there, Pear” . . . but I may start using it henceforth.

Like you, I want to share some sort of spiritual dialogue with people who are interested in expanding their horizons to include a bit more focus on the positives . . . and a bit less on the negatives.

Because when I share that sort of dialogue . . . my world seems bigger, brighter, and better.

4. Joanne - April 2, 2010

Oh, BTW… I did like the way you personified EGO… and yes, you clarified perfectly…!

5. nrhatch - April 2, 2010

Thanks, Joanne!

EGO definitely has a bit of a personality at times . . . so he was easy to personify. : )


What Say YOU?

