jump to navigation

Changing Our Gratitude Baseline August 11, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Less IS More, Mindfulness.
comments closed

grumpy_thinkingI read a story about a young man suffering with CFS ~ Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

And when I say suffering, I mean S~U~F~F~E~R~I~N~G!!!

He can’t talk, text, or type to communicate.  Noise and light drains him ~ he wears headphones to drown out sound and a baseball cap pulled over his eyes to keep out light.

He can’t eat due to digestive problems.
He’s on a feeding tube.

And he’s exhausted and in pain All The Time.

I imagined spending a single day in “his world” before returning to my own life the next day.

Happy-TigerWow!

All the little things so easily taken for granted became cause for celebration because my gratitude baseline shifted:

I can open my eyes and see sunny skies.

I can listen to the insistent M~E~O~W~S of the cat . . . urging me to do his bidding N~O~W!

I can type, text, and talk . . . and enjoy the replies.

I can sit down to a hearty and delicious meal without fear of setting off a tsunami in my gut.

Tigger-BouncingThat’s the wonderful thing about imagination.

I didn’t have to live in his world for a single minute before changing my gratitude baseline.

So today I’m grateful that . . .

I didn’t have to deal with an earthquake or trekking across frozen tundra in a blizzard.

I didn’t have to eat monkey’s brains, bull’s balls, or any other Andrew Zimmern oddity.

There are no bombs bursting in air overhead and not a single snake slithering around in our shower.

Tiggers-R-UsLife seems sunnier in an instant when I acknowledge a few of the “clouds” that are nowhere in sight.

Aah . . . that’s better!

What a wonderful life I’ve had!  I only wish I’d realized it sooner. ~ Colette