jump to navigation

Footprints in the Sand October 2, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Gratitude, Happiness, Poetry.
trackback

Ignoring constraints,
the roots of the Banyan tree
explore new vistas

IMGP2523b

One step at a time,
we transfer identities
and replant our roots

 Joy in the details
at the dreaded D.M.V.
Residents, at last!

Exhilarated
And utterly exhausted
We sip chilled champagne

Footprints in the sand

 Fun Fact:  The first banyan tree in the U.S. was planted by Thomas Alva Edison in Fort Myers, Florida.  The tree, originally only 4 feet (1.2 m) tall, now covers 400 feet (120 m).

Related posts:  Sidey’s weekend theme ~ Footprints * Wet With Forest Dew * Footprints (View From The Side) * Through the Lattice (Kate Shrewsday) * Footprints (Adeeyoyo) * Footprints (Johnell47) * The Game Is A Foot (Worth Doing Badly)

Comments»

1. Tilly Bud - October 2, 2011

What fabulous trees.

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Banyon trees fascinate me. They proliferate on the grounds on the Ringling Museum, Edison’s Winter estate, and elsewhere in the area. But I’ve yet to capture their essence on film . . . so I had to visit Wikipedia. 😀

2. ElizOF - October 2, 2011

This is funny and I do love those Banyan trees… I must try my hand at poetry again Nancy… I used to write it a lot, but of late, it is on a serious hiatus. 😆

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

I’ve been on poetic hiatus too . . . until recently. Getting back to my “roots.” At times, I can convey emotions more effectively in a succinct 17-syllable haiku or senryu than in a much longer (and more convoluted) piece of prose. 😀

3. BrainRants - October 2, 2011

I like the banyans too.

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

It’s a good thing that all the roots I’ve put down over the years don’t show . . . or I’d be as wide as a house! 😆

4. spilledinkguy - October 2, 2011

Oh no!
The ‘D’ word!
*dun dun dun*
🙂

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

We made the acquaintance of the dreaded DMV in many states ~ NJ, SC, NC, NJ (again), VA, MD, and FL.

The FL DMV was a treat in comparison with ALL of the others.

5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - October 2, 2011

Those Edisons sure were productive.

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

The tree on his Winter Estate is massive . . . must find “good eats” in the FL soil.

6. Andra watkins - October 2, 2011

My dear Mother-in-Law lives in Safety Harbor. Those trees (and her oranges) are some of my favorite things about visiting her.

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Florida oranges are some of the best. We’ve had some that taste like candy. 😀

7. granny1947 - October 2, 2011

Begin blogging and get educated.
Have never heard of that tree.
Fascinating.
though it sounds as if it could be a pest?

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Planted in the wrong place, it could be a nuisance. But most of the trees we’ve seen down here were planted with plenty of room to roam.

8. kateshrewsday - October 2, 2011

I love the trees too, but I love the musings as well. Serene…

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

The day we became residents of the Sunshine State looms large ~ one of the top ten days of my life. Huzzah! 😎

9. Cindy - October 2, 2011

Beaut trees and beaut words 🙂

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Thanks, Cin. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Charlotte wends her way back to you.

10. viviankirkfield - October 2, 2011

Thanks for bringing back beautiful memories of a trip to Maui in the late 1980’s where we saw a HUGH banyan tree in the town courtyard. We had an awesome time…went scuba diving (I’m afraid of the water and don’t swim) and parasailing (I hate heights, but loved it…SO QUIET UP THERE).

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Banyon trees are so impressive . . . a town courtyard is the perfect spot for one.

And good for you ~ soaring through the air and diving through the deep blue sea without letting your fears get the best of you.

11. Judith - October 2, 2011

I love banyan trees but have seen them very rarely. the large one in the town courtyard in Maui was the first and then a couple in Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Love your words Nancy. Keep sharing them with us please. 🙂

nrhatch - October 2, 2011

Oh, you and Vivian have seen the same tree in Maui. Cool!

Thanks, Judith. I shall indeed Write On! 😀

12. SidevieW - October 3, 2011

The issue with imported plants that really like their new environment is how much they can change the whole ecological balance in an area, often never to be recovered

nrhatch - October 3, 2011

I understand . . . I’m sitting here watching them cut down the Australian Pines on the far side of the lagoon because they are considered an “invasive species” (at least, by some).

13. sonsothunder - October 6, 2011

Great post…and I hope you are feeling better.
God Bless You
paul

nrhatch - October 6, 2011

Thanks, Paul.


What Say YOU?

