jump to navigation

Old Menus October 21, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Less IS More, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

I get a kick out of old menus . . . both the description of the food AND the historic prices.

In 1970, we toured Washington DC and Williamsburg as a family, spending two days in DC (the Smithsonian, the Supreme Court, the White House, the Treasury, the Mall), two days in Colonial Williamsburg, and a day at Thomas Jefferson’s home, Monticello.

While in Williamsburg, my parents took us to lunch at the King’s Arms Tavern, considered at the time an expensive place to dine.

Check out these prices from the menu I saved:

Peanut Soup . . . $0.45 a cup or $0.65 a bowl

Virginia Ham Sandwich . . . $1.35

Pecan Pie . . . $0.55

Aah . . . soup to nuts for just peanuts!

 

Comments»

1. Ally Bean - October 21, 2017

The prices are amazing, but I could go for that lunch today. Some things change, while other things remain just as tasty.

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

We still like eating at the King’s Arm Tavern . . . prefacing the meal with a Mint Julep!

Ally Bean - October 21, 2017

Good addition to your meal. *cheers* 😉

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

Cheers!

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 21, 2017

I enjoying those seeing those historic menus too, Nancy. My father has some old Life magazines from the 1950’s, some of the ads are a hoot! Happy Saturday!

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

Historic menus and magazines are like little time capsules . . . with just the right context and content.

Have a fun day!

3. Ruth - October 21, 2017

When my dad was in college at U of Illinois in the late 30’s he got a bowl of chili with crackers for a nickel. I like your memory triggering topic.

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

Thanks for your “blast from the past” contribution, Ruth ~ > nickels and dimes went a lot farther back then.

4. Kate Crimmins - October 21, 2017

After my Dad died, my mother went back to work. I was 11 and a latchkey kid. We had a butcher truck that came through and I’d get a list of what my mother wanted. I remember hamburger was $.29 a pound. Bread was even cheaper. Of course my mother’s annual salary was around $6K so it all evens out.

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

Yes, prices for many things are “less expensive” now in relationship to our income . . .

I’d love to travel back in time with a pocket full of today’s cash!

5. L. Marie - October 21, 2017

Those were the days!
It’s fun to look at old menus and see how much $1 would buy. 😀

nrhatch - October 21, 2017

The library had an exhibit this year that covered the History of restaurants in Bradenton. Flipping through the menus and seeing the historic prices was great fun . . . and it made us hungry!

6. joyroses13 - October 21, 2017

Very cool that you saved that menu! That was a special year, i was born that year. LOL!
I would love a piece of Pecan pie for that price. 🙂

nrhatch - October 22, 2017

Happy Birth Year! Yes . . . pecan pie at that price would be NICE!

joyroses13 - October 23, 2017

🙂 🙂 Thanks!

7. Tiny - October 23, 2017

Did you ever go to the “1905 Day” at Columbia Restaurant on Sand Key, when everything on the menu was priced same as it was 1905? They have canceled that (too) popular event now for several years in a row.

nrhatch - October 23, 2017

I have never eaten at the Columbia Restaurant ~ there’s one on St. Armand’s Circle that does a brisk business.

If I hear of a rollback of prices there, I’ll let you know!


What Say YOU?

