jump to navigation

Soup Is Magic! October 3, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Magick & Mystery, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Last night I walked into the kitchen at 6 pm hoping to find something suitable for dinner and found nothing.  Nada.  Zilch.

So I got out the soup pot and started chopping and dropping. I heated the olive oil and added a chopped onion. I got out the salad fixings and chopped up some carrots and celery to toss into the pot. I grabbed a head of cabbage from the crisper and some sliced red & yellow peppers from the freezer.

While they sautéed, I gathered the remaining ingredients ~ 4 cups of water, 1/2 a jar of spaghetti sauce (rinsed clean with the water), a tablespoon of “better than bouillon,” some leftover rice and pasta.

After tasting the mélange, I decided to kick it up a notch with some curry powder.  Voilà!

“Soup’s on!”

Aah . . . that’s yummy!

 

Comments»

1. Tippy Gnu - October 3, 2017

Looks yummy. We’ll be glad to let you come over and cook some of this stuff for us.

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

What I also like about soup is its versatility. Last night, BFF (who had been painting outside in the garage all day) walked into the kitchen after the first few ingredients had been chopped and dropped into the pot . . . but before I knew what kind of soup it would be.

He asked, “What are you making?”

Staring into the pot, uncertain about what the end result might reveal, I replied, “Dinner.” 😀

A few minutes later, the soup whispered that it had decided to become a curried veggie-rice soup ~> it assured me that it was amenable to adopting the leftover pasta along with the rice.

Tippy Gnu - October 3, 2017

Maybe that’s one thing nice about soup. It can take you on many adventures in the kitchen.

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 3, 2017

Yum! I’m so looking forward to breaking out our crock pot.

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

The crock-pot is great for soups, stews, chili, etc. . . . as long as you remember to “set it and forget it” early enough in the day that it’s ready at dinner. Last night’s soup was thrown together at the last minute.

Which is the OTHER thing I love about soup ~ it can happily simmer away all day OR it can be ready to eat in no time at all.

3. Patrick Dykie - October 3, 2017

You’re right – Magic!

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

The transformation from raw veggies to fragrant hearty soup took less than an hour. Since most of that time required no supervision from me, BFF and I played RummiKub while the veggies worked their magic.

4. SDC - October 3, 2017

Haha! I was just talking about my prized soup cookbook the other day! Love it.

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

Soup is satisfying to make and eat ~> hence the popularity of the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld!

SDC - October 3, 2017

Lol RIGHT! I could totally relate to that guy 😂😂😂

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

Do you have a favorite soup that you make?

I love everything from pea soup to peanut soup to onion soup to minestrone to tattle soup to curried cauliflower soup to potato & corn chowder to butternut squash soup to tomato soup to . . . well, you get the idea.

Veggies + Soup = Perfect Together!

SDC - October 4, 2017

Omg I’ll have to check peanut! Im intrigued! I originally went on a quest for a book cause everytime I found a restaurant with an amazing corn chowder they would end up “…we don’t serve that anymore.” 😲😲😲 So I thought Id make my own! But yes ALL things potato or chowdery, lol. The heavier the better unfortunately. My favorite that I made was swedish meatball soup. (Which verges on *not* a soup, but…) You have to make all the tiny meatballs though but it was fun…and gone WAY quicker than it took to make!

nrhatch - October 4, 2017
SDC - October 4, 2017

😲😲😲 How have I never known about that? Will try this weekend!

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Now you’re talking! Enjoy . . .

5. mybeautfulthings - October 3, 2017

We love homemade soup too and this one sounds very tasty. When I conjure up a soup like this, we call it, rather ungracefully, Fridge-bottoms-soup but it always tastes good! 🙂

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

LOL! I am far more gracious in naming my soups ~> this (along with numerous similar permutations) is called “Harvest Soup.”

The fact that its ingredients are harvested from Fridge Bottom doesn’t keep us from saying, “Bottoms Up!”

6. Ally Bean - October 3, 2017

Your soup sounds like a brilliant way to make dinner. I like recipes that are more like guidelines, rather than specific measured amounts. Soup always works, no matter how much, or little, you throw into the pot.

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

Exactly! I rarely have a serious mishap while making soup ~> worst case scenario, it turns into a thick stew (or tasty casserole) if I “overdose” it with rice, pasta, or potatoes. 😀

Ally Bean - October 3, 2017

Plus if you over-spice it, just add some water to make the flavor less intense. There’s an easy remedy for anything soup-related.

nrhatch - October 3, 2017

Yes! I almost never use a recipe for making soup (which makes it more fun than following precise measurements and/or ingredients) ~> it also means that I have never made the exact same soup twice due to swapping ingredients and amounts PLUS tweaks in the spice department.

7. roughwighting - October 4, 2017

I wish I was brave like you – throw in a little of that, a little of that, and YUMMY. I always feel like I have to use someone’s recipe. Granted, then I take off on my own depending on what I have in the kitchen. I’m vowing to make more soup this fall/winter. You’ve inspired me.

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

The more I make soup the more willing I am to “wing it” . . . that said, I do flip through soup recipes for a flash of inspiration.

I enjoy soup year-round, but love it once cooler temps arrive. Have fun playing around in the kitchen.

roughwighting - October 4, 2017

The good news is that we’ve been having a warm September/early October. The good/bad news is that soups are perfect for NE winters, which aren’t far away. xo

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Enjoy the fall temps!

8. Val Boyko - October 4, 2017

I love clearing out the fridge and freezer like this! We have a whole bunch of something wonderful to make with home made tomato sauce … 🍅

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Awesome sauce ~> a taste of summer!

9. Joanne Sisco - October 4, 2017

I’m in awe of your can-do attitude in the kitchen. I can look at a fridge full of stuff and see no potential at all 😦

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Sometimes the ideas flow with effortless ease. Other times, I say, “let’s just eat cake!”

10. L. Marie - October 4, 2017

Wow! Looks fabulous!

Last week I had some hearty lentil soup. It was really good. I love soup!

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Lentil soup is next on my list ~ I love it with curry powder as seasoning too!

11. viviankirkfield - October 4, 2017

Soup is definitely one of my favorites, Nancy. In fact, today I picked up a rotisserie chicken for dinner…but what I REALLY want is to make soup with it…which I will, tomorrow!

nrhatch - October 4, 2017

Enjoy making your soup tomorrow, Vivian. Hope it’s a perfect day for soup.

12. Debra - October 10, 2017

I love a good soup, and this sounds delicious! I have had houseguests and we’ve just simply eaten too much! I need a soup week. 🙂

nrhatch - October 11, 2017

When we socialize, we eat too much too!

I plan to make another pot today since I just finished the last of the pea soup from the freezer. And the possibilities are endless ~ Peanut Soup, Onion Soup, Curried Lentil Soup, etc. YUM!


What Say YOU?

