jump to navigation

Re-Mindfulness August 29, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Mindfulness.
trackback

I sat down at my desk and realized that my engagement ring was NOT on my finger.

BFF and I scoured the place ~ looking in the lettuce I’d just washed and spun dry, sorting through the kitchen garbage (EWW!!!), checking the sink drains, walking around with flashlight to check the carpet, pulling apart the bed, checking around my desk, in the files I was working on, in my shoes.

Nothing.

We came up empty handed.

I went out on the deck for a break from the search. ย A steady drizzle of rain re-minded me that I’d taken my poncho and an umbrella when we went for a walk.

When I put the poncho away, I used my left hand to shove the poncho back into my travel bag. ย Hmm . . .

I went inside, grabbed the travel bag, took out the poncho, the umbrella, and . . . there!

Sitting on the bottom of the bag was my engagement ring ready to be reunited with my wedding band.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Joanne Sisco - August 29, 2017

Yay! A happy ending ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

I tried to keep things in perspective during the search. So many lost so much during Harvey (and previous natural disasters) that losing a ring seemed like small potatoes.

But I was happy to find it! ๐Ÿ˜€

Joanne Sisco - August 29, 2017

You deserve to feel happy about it ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Thanks, Joanne. As much as I enjoy “decluttering,” some things are worth hanging onto. ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Val Boyko - August 29, 2017

It’s amazing how some things want to be found. Sometimes we have to let go of attachment in order to find what we are looking for ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Yes! If I’d kept looking inside, the drizzle of rain outside wouldn’t have been able to re-mind me that I’d stashed the poncho away using my left hand.

Val Boyko - August 29, 2017

Self admonishing is so old school … keep with gratitude ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ’•

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Yup . . . gratitude is tag #1 for this post. ๐Ÿ˜€

3. Rainee - August 29, 2017

Pleased it had a happy ending!

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Same here. Thanks, Rainee.

4. Kate Crimmins - August 29, 2017

Glad it didn’t haunt you for days!

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

As soon as I’d resigned myself to its loss . . . it was found!

5. joyroses13 - August 29, 2017

So glad that you found it! I remember when my diamond fell out. The prongs jagged me once when I went to touch it. I looked down and gasped and my heart sank. Searched high and low! Hubby was looking too.
Finally found it!! It was laying on a plate which was stacked on other plates in the sink!!

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Wow! That is quite a find. A missing ring is more “apparent” than a lone diamond.

On a related note: My sister’s diamond has come out twice (the 2nd time was just a few weeks ago). Against the odds, they found it twice. This time she asked the jeweler to modify the setting.

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 29, 2017

I’m so glad you found it! Just a moment of mindfulness helps a lot!

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

That’s why I stopped searching to take a break ~> allowing mindfulness to surface re-minded me of what I needed to know.

7. Jill Weatherholt - August 29, 2017

Phew! I’m happy the two rings were reunited, Nancy.

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Me too, Jill. During the search, I remained pragmatic ~ focusing on the years that I’d enjoyed its presence rather than mourning its absence. But I was psyched when I saw it sitting in the travel bag waiting for me to find it.

8. Tippy Gnu - August 29, 2017

I hope you realize in hindsight that it was in the last place you left it. That’s a lesson you can remember the next time you lose something.

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Thanks, TG!

9. granny1947 - August 29, 2017

Oh boy, what a relief,

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Nice to have it back where it belongs . . .

10. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - August 29, 2017

Oh…so glad you found it, yayyyy ๐Ÿ’•

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

It was a pleasant turn of events!

11. L. Marie - August 29, 2017

Oh my goodness! I’m really glad you were able to retrace your steps to find that ring! What a relief, Nancy!

nrhatch - August 29, 2017

Thanks, Marie. As soon as I felt the rain, the poncho popped into mind ~> “oh, yeah . . .” ๐Ÿ˜€

12. Debra - September 2, 2017

I’m glad it didn’t take you too long to find it! Actually, so glad you DID find it. I know when we think of the loss of even a very meaningful and treasured item we tell ourselves to keep the loss in a proper perspective, but an engagement ring is a big deal! A happy ending is always nice to hear. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - September 2, 2017

Thanks, Debra. I feel just the same.

While it was MIA, I did keep the potential loss in perspective . . . but felt great relief and pleasure when the ring reappeared.


What Say YOU?

