jump to navigation

Headache Relief August 21, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Life Balance, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Headaches are HORRID. I can’t seem to accomplish anything when my head is pounding.  If you need help ridding your head of unwanted tenants, consider meditation.

At worst, it will be an inexpensive experiment.

The more “antsy” your mind . . . the greater the benefit you may receive from calming it with breathing & meditation practice.

The next time you feel a headache coming on, take 10 minutes out to practice this short meditation to head off the pain:

Find a Relaxing Posture. …
Breathe Deeply. …
Mentally Scan Your Skull for Points of Tension. …
Scan Downward Through the Rest of Your Body. …
Calm Your Mind by Focusing on the Sound of Your Breath.

From: Meditation for Headache Relief  | HuffPost

Too complicated?   Just close your eyes and B~R~E~A~T~H~E!

Or give a listen to a moving piece of music and go with the flow:

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Kate Crimmins - August 21, 2017

I’ve been getting whoppers lately but I think it’s my eyes. Too much computer time or maybe I need a prescription change. What I actually need is to be 30 years younger. That would work just fine. Peace, quiet and closing the eyes for a while helps.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

Until you find the fountain of youth . . . give your eyes a break from the computer every 20 minutes or so ~> focus on something on the other side of the room or, better yet, get up and walk around.

Kate Crimmins - August 22, 2017

One of my friends suggested that it may be related to the barometric pressure movement as it doesn’t happen every day. Yesterday and today are good days. I’m sure it’s a combo of several things. I do try to take computer breaks and blink!

nrhatch - August 23, 2017

Good luck staving off headaches and eye strain.

2. Jill Weatherholt - August 21, 2017

I used to get major migraine headaches that seemed to be triggered by changes in the barometric pressure. After doing some research, I started taking Magnesium supplements and now, I rarely have a headache. That is better!

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

That IS better! Glad the Magnesium seems to be doing the trick.

3. philosophermouseofthehedge - August 21, 2017

Many headaches are caused by dehydration- so carry that water bottle around and drink from it But maybe after meditating – so you don’t have to get up in the middle of it 🙂

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

Thanks! I am rarely without water at the ready. But that’s a great tip, so thanks for passing it along.

4. L. Marie - August 21, 2017

Headaches are horrible. When I got migraines years ago, I needed a quiet, dark room. Nowadays, sometimes I get sinus-related headaches.

Thanks for introducing me to 2Cellos! It might have been you who introduced me to the Piano Guys also.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

Like you, I don’t get migraines now the way I did back then. But any type of headache takes a bite out of my productivity. Glad you enjoyed 2Cellos.

I did do a post with the Piano Guys playing the Peanuts theme song at a retirement home. They really got the toes tapping! But I can’t find it right now.

5. Tippy Gnu - August 21, 2017

I’ve found that the best meditation for relieving headaches is the kind where I drift off to sleep and snooze for about an hour.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

Sleeping was the only way I could rid myself of a migraine, but often the migraine prevented me from lying down or drifting off. A regular Catch-22.

Tippy Gnu - August 21, 2017

Wow, that sounds miserable.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

But the good news is . . . I don’t seem to be prone to migraines any more. So, yay!

6. Patrick Dykie - August 21, 2017

I get very bad headaches, and I need to follow you’re advice and relax and breathe. I can tell you one thing. After getting lost in that cello performance – I feel a lot more relaxed. It was beautiful. My son is concert quality with a violin, so I know wonderful music.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

Glad you enjoyed the cello piece ~ glad your son knows how to create beautiful music.

And good luck remembering to relax and breathe . . . especially when a headache comes knocking.

7. colonialist - August 21, 2017

Meditation takes too long. Medication seems a better bet!
Those mellow cellos are certainly worth listening to. New to me — I haven’t ‘done’ Game of Thrones after not liking the first book.

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

I haven’t watched the Game of Thrones either. Too many violent images for me.

If medication works, great. But for many headache sufferers, it doesn’t work. Meditation might be just the thing for them.

colonialist - August 22, 2017

You could say it’s a bit of a headache when painkillers don’t work! Something to meditate on, for sure …

nrhatch - August 23, 2017

Well said, Col.

8. diannegray - August 21, 2017

I like Jill’s comment about Magnesium supplements. Most of my headaches (according to my guru husband) are due to dehydration, but I think my sinuses are the culprit. I’ll be trying your mediation method next time one of those blighters hits me, Nancy 😉

nrhatch - August 21, 2017

If I feel a stress headache “in the wings,” I try to stop what I’m doing and just breathe for a bit. It often nips the pain in the bud before it gains ground.

9. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 22, 2017

I was struggling and getting upset at work the other day – and the first thing I did was go sit with a 10 min guided meditation – and it took almost to the end for my brain to settle, but it did! Such a great tool!

nrhatch - August 22, 2017

Yay! When we remind ourselves to “just breathe” (or follow a guided meditation) . . . it pays dividends.

10. Debra - August 23, 2017

All definitely good suggestions. Good music is a favorite way for me to quiet my mind and body! I love the music from Game of Thrones, even though I don’t watch the series. Thanks for this video!

nrhatch - August 24, 2017

Glad you enjoyed! I love the music, but don’t watch the show. Not my cuppa.

11. Behind the Story - August 26, 2017

I had migraines for more than thirty years. Menopause solved the problem.

nrhatch - August 26, 2017

And that’s a GOOD thing!

12. Joanne Sisco - August 31, 2017

I know I’m late to this post, but it is timely for me since I was awake half the night with a doozy of a headache.

Since I tend to be sound sensitive when I have a headache, music would never be my choice for relaxing.

I’m with Tippy … attempts at meditation usually result in a nap. They’re nice and I like them a lot 😉

nrhatch - August 31, 2017

Falling asleep is the best way for me to get rid of a headache, but (as you experienced last night), headaches prevent me from falling into a peaceful and pain-free sleep.

So . . . a meditation-induced nap would be a big WIN.

13. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - September 10, 2017

Thanks for posting this, after your comment on my blog, I printed out a sheet with this and it’s now permanently by my bedside… I’ve tried it several times and sometimes it helps for a few minutes and sometimes it don’t… but then again my headaches aren’t quite “normal”. Regardless, it’s a good exercise to do… so I’ll keep with it…

nrhatch - September 10, 2017

Headaches come in many shapes and shades. Sometimes nothing helps and we have to ride out the pain. Good luck taming yours.


What Say YOU?

