jump to navigation

Kennedy Space Center August 7, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

In June, we visited Kennedy Space Center in Titusville FL for the first time in decades.

We had a blast checking out stuff that blasted off into space . . .

The scale of the exhibits is mind boggling . . .

They just keep going and going and going . . .

Everything is so high tech . . .

And other worldly . . .

And tall . . .

And taller . . .

With lots of hands-on exhibits . . .

And glow in the dark installations . . .

With a touch of whimsy here and there . . .

Just for grins and giggles . . .

But the biggest grin of the day for me was this extremely high-tech schedule of upcoming launches:

You’d never know we visited in the digital age!

Aah . . . that’s funny!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - August 7, 2017

Having visited the Air and Space Museum in DC several times, I’ve always wanted to go the Kennedy Space Center. Thanks for sharing your photos, Nancy. I love the Snoopy!

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

It’s worth a visit ~ we did a bus tour to the Apollo/Saturn center, saw exhibits on the Space Race, a film about Apollo 13, rode the thrill ride “Journey to Mars” (which, to be honest, was more jarring than thrilling), saw an IMAX film on space exploration, slid down that slide, etc. . . . and we barely scratched the surface.

We plan to go back in a couple weeks for the Solar Eclipse since they have a “full day” planned. We’ll also go to the Astronaut’s Hall of Fame, included with admission but on a different campus.

2. Patrick Dykie - August 7, 2017

Wow, what great pictures. Now, that I’ve seen it all, I don’t have to go in person. This way is easier – no walking!

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

Ha! That’s the way I feel about climbing Mount Everest ~ I’ll leave it to the pros and they can report back.

3. L. Marie - August 7, 2017

I’ve never been there! Thanks for taking me there with your photos. 🙂 That slide looks like fun!

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

The slide was great ~> Thomas and I loved it. The other 3 adults in our party didn’t partake. Their loss!

4. Kate Crimmins - August 7, 2017

I was lucky enough to see something launch from Florida in person. It was awesome. The Center looks like a great place to “play.”

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

There’s a launch next Sunday, but we’re going to wait until later in the year when the air is cooler to go for a launch. We are planning to go for the Solar Eclipse since there are lots of educational and entertaining events planned for that day.

5. Tippy Gnu - August 7, 2017

I like the photos and would love to visit that place. Maybe they use the greaseboard because launches are so susceptible to schedule changes.

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

Launches are scrubbed all the time, but a monkey at a keyboard could change the dates/times on a digital schedule board at least as fast as scheduling changes are made at the airport.

If airports relied on wet board technology . . . they’d be all washed up! Then, again, maybe NASA is all spaced out!

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 8, 2017

That’s awesome! Love that after all that – it was a white erase board!

nrhatch - August 8, 2017

That board cracked me up ~ especially since there are only 1-2 launches per month posted on it.

Doesn’t make me want to let NASA blast me into space.

7. Bill - August 9, 2017

We took our kids there many, many years ago. Would love to go visit again. Thanks for the reminder.

nrhatch - August 9, 2017

It’s a great place to let the imagination SOAR!

8. William D'Andrea - August 10, 2017

I can’t imagine that anyone would actually want to travel to Mars. With the way technology is today, it would take them two years to get to the planet, traveling in a very small, tight space vehicle. Then when they finally arrive, there’d be nothing to do. Not one room, even without cable.

nrhatch - August 10, 2017

For me, a 10 day trip is too long . . . two years is out of the question. I’ve also never put “Climb Kilimanjaro” on my bucket list.

9. Debra - August 11, 2017

Now here’s a place I made a point of visiting once. We were only in Florida for a short period of time, but I just had to visit the kennedy Space Center. I found it fascinating! I don’t really enjoy flying commercial airlines, so there’s nothing about going into space that has my name on it. Nothing! LOL! But I still find it very interesting. 🙂

nrhatch - August 11, 2017

Same here. I’d be game for a quick flight around the Earth, but anything farther than that I’ll leave to the more adventurous.


What Say YOU?

