jump to navigation

Breakfast of Champions August 1, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Home & Garden, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

We just got back from our second road trip of the summer.

We drove to Maryland and New Jersey to visit family, with a stop “just for us” in Williamsburg on the way home.

While in New Jersey, we were well fed by my brother’s wife, Laura.

Here’s the breakfast of champions we enjoyed on Sunday morning, the day before we left.

Are you hungry yet?

How about now?

Laura’s breakfasts are one reason why “they” say breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

In case you’re wondering, mom agreed with “them” ~> “Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper.”

Aah . . . that’s yummy!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - August 1, 2017

That’s quite a spread!

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

Laura is a fantastic cook who loves being in the kitchen . . . much like mom.

I debated holding this post up for a few days, but decided that mom (a firm believer in starting the day with a hearty breakfast) would view it as a fitting tribute to her dining “do’s.”

2. Morgan - August 1, 2017

Ok now Im hungry! Looks like it was marvelous ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

To breakfast!

3. L. Marie - August 1, 2017

Oh man! Good thing I’m making breakfast! I am sooooo hungry now!

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

Eat hearty, LM. As mom’s aunt Edie used to say: “It’s the belly that keeps up the back.”

4. Ally Bean - August 1, 2017

Well, now I’m hungry. Yum… pancakes.

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

Yes . . . pancakes with Vermont Maple Syrup!

5. Kate Crimmins - August 1, 2017

I don’t normally do much for breakfast but today we went out for eggs, bacon and homefries! Yum. Still full so there’s no lunch for me today!

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

Go you! Sounds like quite a repast for breakfast ~ fit for a KING!

6. Val Boyko - August 1, 2017

Good on ya Laura. That is a lovely spread for breakfast โ™ฅ๏ธ

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

While we’re there, she also made some yummy Butternut Squash Soup, plus we enjoyed grilled salmon, couscous, assorted veggies, chocolate chip cookies, an ice cream pie, etc.

She is to blame for the extra pounds I came home with!!!

Val Boyko - August 2, 2017

I understand ๐Ÿ˜Ž

7. Debra - August 1, 2017

Laura even puts the pancakes on the plate with added flair! Very, very appealing. Sounds like a fun bit of travel, as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 1, 2017

Laura can cook! BFF and I had a wonderful time and ate well!

8. mybeautfulthings - August 6, 2017

That’s some breakfast! We learned about big breakfasts when in the US and rarely needed lunch at all! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 6, 2017

So you don’t have a “Full Breakfast” each day with eggs, bacon, sausage, fried tomatoes, toast, and tea? ๐Ÿ˜€

mybeautfulthings - August 6, 2017

Ha ha! Only when someone else is cooking! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - August 7, 2017

Same here. Despite mom’s repeated admonitions, I don’t have enough affinity for breakfast to cook in the morning. Coffee or tea is enough for me, most days.

9. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - August 14, 2017

Ok, darn it… I’m hungry now, I haven’t had proper pancakes for over a year now, thanks to my darn gluten free diet ๐Ÿ™

nrhatch - August 15, 2017

You’ve been better than me, Anne. I know I feel better on a GF diet, but I keep succumbing to the charms of bagels, pasta, and pizza. Oh, yeah, and the occasional pancake. ๐Ÿ˜€

Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - August 18, 2017

Ohhhhh, pizzzzzzzaaaaaaa….

nrhatch - August 18, 2017

I found one delicious GF pizza at Fresh Market in the freezer section ~ the crust, the sauce, and the cheese are all wonderful. If Fresh Market has stores in Norway, it’s their own brand. If not, at least know that the technology exists to make a delicious GF pizza crust. Keep your eyes open.

I’m going to try to inspire myself to get back on the GF diet. I did feel so much better.


What Say YOU?

