jump to navigation

My Birthday Crown July 15, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Health & Wellness, Humor.
trackback

I’ve long been purr-suaded that everyone should be Queen (or King) for a day . . . at least once a year.

That’s what Birthdays are all about, right?

This year’s birthday celebration got off to a great start.

BFF & I went out for lunch to Ella’s Greek ~> Spanakopita, Greek Salad, Lentil Soup, Fries . . . and Baklava!

Baklava = my birthday “cake.”

After lunch, we went to an exhibit at the library and shopped at the just-opened Goodwill Art & Book Store.  After purr-using the racks, I purr-chased a copy of “Universal Orlando” so we can read up on Hogswarts and Hogsmeade before we buy passes to park hop on the Hogswart’s Express.

Later that afternoon, I received a fun e-mail from my nephew with a link to this dancing zebra kicking up its hoofs:

Zebras crack me up!

That evening, after a delicious dinner, I watched a movie, popped some popcorn, and . . . cracked a tooth. Didn’t realize it until I got in bed and my tongue found a hole in my mouth where tooth used to be.

Hey, wait! . . . maybe the tooth cracked while I was cracking up at the dancing zebra?  

Maybe dancing zebras aren’t all they are cracked up to be!   

The next day, I called the dentist to schedule a repair ~>  I’ll receive my “Birthday Crown” on Monday.

In the meantime, I’m NOT in any pain.  Yay!

It would be hard to maintain my Cheshire Grin if I were grimacing in pain due to a tooth that’s MIA and/or AWOL.

In the future, I’ll watch what I wish for ~>No more Queen for the Day!

After receiving this crown, I’m abdicating the throne!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. JOriginal Muse - July 15, 2017

Belated wishes from Pacific Standard Time… and long live the Queen…! 🎂💝

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks, Joanne. May all our “royal edicts” be beneficial!

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 15, 2017

Oh no! I’m sorry to hear about the tooth, Nancy. Did you swallow it? I eat popcorn almost every evening, this is always a concern. Aside from that, it sounds like a great day. Happy belated birthday! That zebra is hilarious!

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks, Jill. I have a love/hate relationship with popcorn. I love it when I’m eating it and hate it when I’m flossing. 😀

I’m not sure the tooth cracked while eating popcorn since I didn’t chomp down on any tough kernels and felt nothing amiss until after I’d brushed and flossed for the night ~> after I got in bed, my tongue bumped up against the back of the tooth and I felt something “odd” (like a stray piece of popcorn). I got up to investigate and re-floss and found that the back of the tooth was MIA. But no pain = GOOD!

Jill Weatherholt - July 15, 2017

No pain is always a good thing! I know! I can never get every husk when flossing. I went to the dentist on Thursday and my hygentist found a stray husk. I would have been embarrassed, but she’s a popcorn lover too. 🙂

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Stray popcorn husks are pros at hiding in hard to floss places.

3. joyroses13 - July 15, 2017

Happy Birthday! Sorry about your tooth, not a nice present! But you are very lucky to not be in pain at least! Especially since you have to wait until Monday. I know a lot of people that had awful pain with chipped teeth.

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks! I expect the dentist would have arranged to open the office for me if I’d been in pain ~ I hope so, anyway. I said I’d be fine for the weekend . . .

So far, so good.

4. Val Boyko - July 15, 2017

Sorry about the tooth … you still crack me up though! Happy belated birthday Nancy 👑💐🎂

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

I’m glad I still crack you up ~> a day without laughter is a day wasted!

Val Boyko - July 15, 2017

Smiling …. 😎

5. Kate Crimmins - July 15, 2017

Happy birthday! I hope the tooth fairy leaves something for you! (besides the bill)

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

I’ll let you know if the tooth fairy picks up the bill for my birthday crown ~> that would be S~W~E~E~T!

6. Joanne Sisco - July 15, 2017

This is my 3rd attempt – and 2nd reboot of my laptop – to leave you a comment. Grrrr – computer issues on Saturday morning are never appreciated!!

So sorry about the tooth. That should never happen – let alone during birthday week 😦

Otherwise it sounds like you had a lovely day and I hope you continue to rock the happy birthday vibe for the rest of the weekend 🙂

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks for your purr-severance, Joanne. Hope you resolve your computer issues in short order.

I’m glad we didn’t have grand plans that had to be jettisoned due to the missing tooth ~ it’s a good thing I didn’t sign up for that corn-on-the-cob eating contest! That would be tough to manage chewing only on the right side. 😀

7. L. Marie - July 15, 2017

Oh my goodness!!!! So sorry about that tooth!
Happy belated birthday despite that! Love the dancing zebra!

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks, LM! I’m glad it happened after I enjoyed my birthday instead of the night before . . . which would have meant spending hours in the dentist chair ON my birthday. ACK!

8. William D'Andrea - July 15, 2017

Happy Birthday Nancy!
After this, I suggest that you consider eating soft foods. There’s an endless variety of them, available in every food shop, which are very tasty, wholesome, nourishing, and would give you a satisfied smile.

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks, William.

I’m eating soft foods this weekend . . . and taking small bites . . . and chewing mindfully . . . on the right side only ~> cantaloupe, banana, chow mein, and chocolate cream pie!

9. Tippy Gnu - July 15, 2017

Happy Birthday! I hope you at least get a gold crown.

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Aargh, matey . . . with a gold crown I’d look more like a PIRATE than a PRINCESS!

10. misifusa - July 15, 2017

Happy Belated Birthday to you! Hope it was purrfectly wonderful!

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks! We had fun . . .

11. diannegray - July 15, 2017

That dancing zebra is fantastic. Happy belated birthday, Nancy. I broke a tooth eating chocolate over Easter so I know what a shock it can be when you realise 😉 I’m so glad you had a lovely “queenful” day!

nrhatch - July 15, 2017

Thanks, Dianne. Hope your broken tooth hasn’t deterred you from rewarding activities ~> like eating CHOCOLATE!

12. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - July 17, 2017

Belated happiness – and sounds like it was a purr-fect day… minus the small tooth mishap!

nrhatch - July 17, 2017

Thanks, Kate! Nice birthday . . . capped off with a crown this morning! 😀

13. Ally Bean - July 18, 2017

Glad to read that your birthday was all that you wanted it to be. Of course, with a dancing zebra how could it not be?

nrhatch - July 18, 2017

Exactly! Zebras (either dancing or laughing or both) are like sunshine on a cloudy day.


What Say YOU?

