jump to navigation

You Should Be Dancing . . . Yeah! July 13, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Happiness, Health & Wellness.
trackback

Dancing is the best thing you can do for your body . . . and your mind.

Dancing burns more calories than other forms of exercise because you are moving in different directions, stopping and starting, and using muscles in your arms, hands, hips, legs, thighs, and core:

If running is like driving on a freeway, dancing is more like motoring through a busy city. All of that starting, stopping and changing directions burns a ton of fuel even though you’re not covering a lot of ground.

Dancing is great for brain health, strengthening the white matter that keeps us “sharp.”

And it’s a BIG mood booster and stress reducer:

Like other forms of cardio exercise, dancing also seems to have mood and mind benefits. A 2007 study found that hip hop dancing improved energy, buoyed mood and lowered stress in ways similar to aerobic exercise.

To read more:  Why Dancing Is The Best Thing You Can Do For Your Body

Best of all ~> it’s FUN to groove to your favorite tunes!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related:  The TIME Guide To Exercise ~ with links to 68 articles on the benefits of exercise.

 

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - July 13, 2017

I’m ready to go! Thanks for the reminder Nancy 💛

L. Marie - July 13, 2017

And Thank you for including this! 😀

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

Now you’re talking!

I gotta move it . . . move it!

2. tlryder - July 13, 2017

I used to know a writer who did what she called “gothercize”. Gothercize is getting up from your computer, turning on a great tune and dancing along for a short dance break. It clears the mind as well as restoring the circulation.

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

Absolutely! Great idea. Good for the eyes too . . . to step away from the screen.

3. L. Marie - July 13, 2017

I enjoy a good dance! All I need is a movie like Dance with Me and I am on my feet!

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

A good tune always gets me dancing . . . even if I’m in the ice cream aisle at Publix!

4. Tippy Gnu - July 13, 2017

I’m dcainng rhgit now, eevn wihle tpynig tihs cnomemt.

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

And I bet you burned a ton of calories as your fingers flew akimbo over the keyboard!

5. Ally Bean - July 13, 2017

Ugh. i hate dancing. My joints hurt, I look like a dork, and feel like a complete idiot while doing it. Even alone in the house. Couldn’t we go for a walk instead?

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

I love walking too . . . so yes! We’ll go for a walk, but I gotta warn you: sometimes I’m dancing even when I go for a walk. 😀

6. Jill Weatherholt - July 13, 2017

Dancing is even more fun with the Hits of the 80’s cd!

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

Yes! Great tunes. This morning in the pool, we did water aerobics to the sounds of the British Invasion. Excellent!

7. Kate Crimmins - July 13, 2017

Travolta sure had the moves!

nrhatch - July 13, 2017

He sure did! He dances WAY BETTER than me! 😀

8. sarahlynnphodder - July 14, 2017

Definitely agree! It’s how I start my morning off as it works as cardio!!

nrhatch - July 14, 2017

It’s a perfect way to start the day!

9. roughwighting - July 14, 2017

Well, Y E S! When I moved from CA to MA I was so worried because I wouldn’t be able to do my daily hour walk with a friend. But, the goddess was with me, and I found a studio with a dance class (called Nia) and I began dancing there 2-3 times a week. I LOVE it. The best exercise I’ve ever had, and it boosted my mood and my morale and helped my body be in the best shape ever. We all should dance – even in the aisle of the grocery store, or waiting in line at the post office. And yes, definitely as a reader said, above, in front of the computer. xox

nrhatch - July 14, 2017

I’m glad you found Nia . . . or Nia found you! Dancing is such a great way to elevate our mood and boost our health & well-being.

10. raoulworks - July 14, 2017

True stuff.

11. Behind the Story - July 23, 2017

I’m glad to hear dancing is so good for you. I’ve been turning on music and dancing around the house since I was a kid. Sometimes the mood and the song just click.

nrhatch - July 23, 2017

Let’s dance on!


What Say YOU?

