jump to navigation

Drink It All In July 5, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Less IS More, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

When we’re “lost in thought” we tend to “miss the moment.”

To be mindful OF the moment IN the moment, we have to stop thinking and start sensing . . .

We need to see, hear, smell, touch, and taste what’s going on around us.

We need to stop ruminating or the past and rehearsing the future if we want to experience the present and be present for the experience surrounding us right here, right now.

For more on this, read David’s post on Raptitude this week:

The Alternative to Thinking All the Time

Drink it all in!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. L. Marie - July 5, 2017

This is a good reminder for me, Nancy. I find myself lost in thought while outside, instead of looking around at the flowers and trees.

This also happens in conversations too. 😦 I think about what I plan to say next, instead of listening to the other person. 😦

nrhatch - July 5, 2017

When I’m lost in thought, I’m so caught up with what’s going on in my head that I’m oblivious to all the delightful tastes and textures of the moment at hand.

When I’m fully present, being mindful of the moment, I am almost always more relaxed and happy. It’s a great de-stressor to just breathe.

2. Kate Crimmins - July 5, 2017

I’ve been working hard on “being in the moment” for several years now. It’s not easy and sometimes I lapse only to miss something I wanted to see/hear/know.

nrhatch - July 5, 2017

For most of us, mindfulness waxes and wanes . . . but if we keep bringing out attention back to the task, it gets easier and easier to remain present. Good luck!

3. Jill Weatherholt - July 5, 2017

Staying in the moment has been a struggle lately. Thanks for the reminder, Nancy.

nrhatch - July 5, 2017

When I’m overbooked or overtired, it’s harder for me to remain centered in the moment . . . but I keep practicing! Good luck.

4. Val Boyko - July 5, 2017

Great reminder .. and a good article from David. He always gets the grey matter firing ❣️

nrhatch - July 6, 2017

He does . . . even when he’s telling us to stop thinking all the time. 😀

5. Ally Bean - July 6, 2017

I’m mindful, but find that not all situations are ones that I want to be mindful in. For instance, when I’m at the dentist, my mind is walking on the beach, it’s nowhere near that chair. But overall, in general, this is good advice that I follow about 80% of the time. You gotta give me some wiggle room for daydreaming!

nrhatch - July 6, 2017

I agree, Ally . . . some experiences are better left unexperienced.


What Say YOU?

