jump to navigation

Are You Tripping?! June 27, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Nature, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Wherever You Go . . . There You Are

On the ride out, we took 4 days to drive 1972 miles.

On the return trip, we drove 2005.4 miles in 3 days ~> 486.6 miles + 766 miles + 752.8+ miles.

Surprisingly enough, I found sitting for mile after mile rather “meditative.”

It helped that most of the roads “out west” aren’t clogged traffic arteries like on the east coast.

Time is relative.  

Heading out, time changes from Eastern to Central to Mountain time gained us an hour on two different days ~ allowing us to leave late and arrive early. Lovely!

Heading back, we lost those hours . . . meaning that even though we left early, we arrived later than expected.

We are NOT minimalists on the road.

Before leaving, we followed the 3 P’s ~> packing, planning, preparation.  Did a hold on the mail.  Added minutes to the cell phone.  Charged up phone & iPad.  Packed most of our clothes . . . and ample food.

What?!  It’s a L~O~N~G drive so we need S~N~A~C~K~S!  Tropical drink

Georgia Troopers Mean Business

Right before we arrived in Dalton, traffic came to a stand still.

As we crept along at 2 mph, we saw flashing lights ahead.  Then more flashing lights.  Then a few more for good measure.

Arriving at the scene of the accident, we saw 11 police cars surrounding a sedan that had been pushed into the concrete divider by a cop car.

Problem solved!

The Difference Between Being Religious & Being Spiritual

Over margaritas, Pam shared a thought her minister had shared with her:

Religion is sitting in church thinking about kayaking.

Spirituality is sitting in a kayak contemplating a Higher Power.

Ohm . . .

Life is better with laughter.

In order to maintain a sense of humor during our visit, I picked just the right coffee mug to start each day:

“Life is too important to be taken seriously.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Quotes like that remind me to look at the light side of life!

Sharing with Stranger at the Breakfast Bar

At one of the hotels we stayed at, BFF got into a conversation at the breakfast buffet with a woman who was meeting with lawyers later that day.

When I overheard her say, “Lawyers make me nervous,” I tuned in to see whether BFF would reply, “I know.  I never should have married one!”

Actually, the whole conversation was a bit odd since BFF doesn’t normally share his time with strangers.  Especially not before breakfast!

This might just be stupidity talking . . . 

Our last day, we were anxious to Be Home and getting a bit punchy.  Everything seemed a bit funnier than usual.

*As open fields gave way to kudzu covered trees, I made an astute observation.  “Kudzu is just creep-y!”

*A few minutes later, Route 123 split off from Route 231, and I thought how tough a route change like that must be on someone with dyslexia.

*As we crossed into Florida at 2:30 pm (with another 6-7 hours of drive time ahead of us), I grinned at the thought of being HOME.  A minute later, BFF (who had done ALL the driving) groaned with fatigue when I said, “This might just be stupidity talking . . . but if we get home by 10, I probably want to unpack the car.”

She Remembers!

A few days after we got home, my sister spoke with mom; mom remembered that we visited!

Yay!  Some days she doesn’t even remember whether she had lunch . . .

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 27, 2017

I love the expansive and open roads out west. Watching a thunderstorm in one direction and sunny blue skies in the other, is pretty cool. I’m happy your mother remembered your visit, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

The open roads made the road trip so much better . . . along with all the B~I~G sky country.

I’m glad mom remembered our visit.

2. Kate Crimmins - June 27, 2017

Sounds like you make the most of the journey. At this point my butt can’t stand that amount of time in a car but I can make it to the beach (barely). That’s a 3 hour drive. You were probably like a horse heading to the barn at the end. I always am.

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

I thought that I would be crawling out of the car at the end of every day, stiff as a board. It wasn’t as bad as expected.

But returning home is THE BEST!

3. L. Marie - June 27, 2017

When I read this, I couldn’t help thinking of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road. 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

Thanks, LM!

But now I’m hearing Willie Nelson singing, “On the road again . . . I just can’t wait to get on the road again.”

4. mybeautfulthings - June 27, 2017

We love your roads in the West too – driving for miles with no-one in front and no-one behind! We love coming home too. 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

Such a nice change of PACE from East Coast (and West Coast) traffic snarls!

5. lexandneek - June 27, 2017

Awesome post. Yes, traveling the road is wonderful. We know what it’s like with the different time zones. It’s pretty bad when daylight savings time kicks in too. But when you see an open road with hardly any cars on it and the blue sky, it’s worth it.

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

Adjusting to daylight savings time on top of the change in time zones would be an extreme challenge!

6. Ally Bean - June 27, 2017

I found it shocking how open the roads can be out west. I’m used to traffic jams and curves and sheriffs every few miles. But driving out west turned out to be a revelation. Glad you made it back safely and that you had a great time along the way. Nothing worse than a long drive back home after a miserable vacation.

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

Everything “good” exceeded our expectations . . . and most of the “bad” expectations never materialized. So a big Win~Win!

7. Joanne Sisco - June 27, 2017

The best part? Mom remembered you visited ❤

I liked all the little stories. Apparently I'm deeply spiritual 😉

nrhatch - June 27, 2017

Hearing that mom remembered the visit => AWESOME! Glad you enjoyed these vignettes.

Here’s to pondering spirit in a kayak . . . or a hammock!

8. Debra - June 27, 2017

That’s a lot of driving, Nancy! I do love to be on the road, though, and I am never bored! there is just so much to see! We like to pack our car with snacks, too, and just keep on rolling!

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

Same here! I thought I might be bored in Missouri and Kansas but they were gorgeous. As long as we are rolling along (and not sitting bumper to bumper in traffic), road trips are still fun for us.

But I don’t enjoy driving through heavy congestion ~ like through big cities. I breathed a sigh of relief after we passed Atlanta.

9. Tiny - June 28, 2017

I like your sharp observations and eavesdropping skills, Nancy. I learned a lot, for example I now know for sure that I am definitely spiritual and not religious 🙂

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

Me too ~> I may ponder “spirituality” this afternoon as we’re floating in the Gulf of Mexico!

Or not. I might just watch the waves in the NOW.

Tiny - June 28, 2017

Happy floating!

10. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 28, 2017

I love that you aren’t living a minimalist lifestyle when you travel like that… I can’t either!! 🙂 My mom trained us all well on the road-trip snacks!

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

Snacks are important FUEL!

11. roughwighting - June 28, 2017

This post was chockfull of good things. First (though mentioned last) I’m so glad for you and your mom that she remembered your visit. I drive 7 hours one way every few months to visit my mom, and for the past half year, she has no memory by the end of the day that I was there. So hard – on both of us. But I figure somewhere in the deep recess of her mind – of her spirit – she knows.
Looks like your trip was meditatively snack-full and not too event-full. A good trip.
Oh, and yes, I’m definitely on the spiritual side of the kayak…

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

I expect you’re right about your mom ~ at some level, she feels the connection when you visit.

But it’s hard when we can no longer share our “shared history.”

roughwighting - June 29, 2017

Almost every day I find myself thinking-oh I have to call mom and tell her about this. And then I realize I can’t do that anymore… 🙁

nrhatch - June 29, 2017

It’s tough. When I call mom, our conversations are a pale shadow of what they used to be.

12. Tippy Gnu - June 28, 2017

I love the picture of the windmills. I also like the difference between religion and spirituality. Here’s another difference that I once read: “Religion is for people who are afraid of going to hell. Spirituality is for people who’ve already been there.”

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

The windmills look so “clean” and efficient.

Religion seems to be centered in the church (and, often, as noted in your quote, it’s fear-based). Spirituality seems to be centered in us ~> wherever you go, there it is!

13. diannegray - July 1, 2017

What a lovely trip, Nancy and I love Pam’s story on the difference between being religious & being spiritual xxxxx

nrhatch - July 1, 2017

Thanks, Dianne. And, yes . . . that story sums it up in a nutshell.


What Say YOU?

