jump to navigation

Like A Kid In A Candy Store . . . June 21, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Mindfulness, Nature, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

While in Fort Collins, BFF and I paid a visit to Natural Alternatives for Health ~> my niece’s favorite pot dispensary.

I loved it!

The “ohm-budsmen” were friendly and knowledgeable.

The prices were reasonable.

The decor was cool.

The selection was great.

A fun vibe all the way around.

Two days later, my niece asked me to smoke some “Critical Mass” with her.

Did I inhale?

Let’s just say, I enjoyed that “Rocky Mountain Hike in Colorado.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 21, 2017

Now see, I would have wandered in thinking it was a health food store. πŸ™‚ The colorful chalkboard looks like an ice cream parlor.

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

It does! ~> And they even offer “shakes” . . . and flavors like “bubble gum” and “grape ape.” πŸ˜€

2. Kate Crimmins - June 21, 2017

I didn’t realize it came in so many varieties!

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

The numerous varieties surprised me too, Kate. Very different from any experience I’ve had before.

3. JOriginal Muse - June 21, 2017

I say, good for you, Nancy…! In the last two years, I’ve made up my mind to become more open-minded, expand my consciousness, and even get a little experimental with certain “products” on myself. I am fascinated with Cannabis and the multiple (and creative) ways it has been used to treat SO much.

Watching that seven-episode docuseries on “The Sacred Plant” I also learned the details of the story behind its demonization. So, while it’s currently still transitioning into complete legalization, there are times we “old-timers” might feel we’re reverting back to the so-called drug revolution and rebelling against the establishment. However, for me it’s justifiable and easier having so much more background studies available to us today on just how beneficial this plant is in all its varieties.

And just like healing foods and fine wine available to us, there are absolutely no Universal rules against the emotional enjoyment of its immediate and long/term effects, as long as it’s not being used to throw off the balance of our healthy lifestyle in general.

I visited a dispensary here in California with my sister who had her medical pass to partake. It is a really cool vibe in that culture πŸ‘πŸ½

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

Going to the NA store reminded me of walking into a liquor store for the first time after turning 18 . . . knowing that I could buy anything I wanted!

JOriginal Muse - June 21, 2017

Yes, and speaking of candy, they even gave my sister a piece of THC candy that was very potent.

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

Yes! THC Gummi and THC Chocolate => POTENT!

4. JOriginal Muse - June 21, 2017

FYI for any readers who would like to follow-up… https://thesacredplant.com/webinar/

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

Thanks, Joanne! I will check it out.

I’m fascinated by the demonization of weed and the canonization of liquor. Such hypocrisy.

5. Ally Bean - June 21, 2017

I’d forgotten about CO and its pot laws. Whenever I think of weed and retail stores I think of my high school days– and roach clip earrings. Not that I had a pair, but my friend did. Most handy those little earrings!

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

Next time I’m out in CO, I’ll get you a pair! πŸ˜€

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 21, 2017

That does look fun! I was just saying the other day that I couldn’t live in CO, I’d go past the “fun” stage way too fast! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

nrhatch - June 21, 2017

Maybe we could just spend the summer there? πŸ˜€

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 21, 2017

I’m in!!! πŸ˜€

nrhatch - June 22, 2017

Now we’re talking!

7. L. Marie - June 22, 2017

I had the same thought as Jill!

nrhatch - June 22, 2017

My niece says this dispensary has a more playful vibe than some of the other “more serious” dispensaries in town.

8. Behind the Story - June 22, 2017

I voted to legalize marijuana in Washington, but I’ve never tried it. I think weed started becoming more popular a year or two after I graduated from college. When they talk about sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll in the Sixties, I think for the most part they’re talking about the second half of the decade.

nrhatch - June 23, 2017

The late 60’s centered on Hippies . . . Flower Power . . . VW Vans . . . Peace, Love & Understanding . . . Free Love . . . and Sex, Drugs & Rock ‘n’ Roll!

9. diannegray - June 25, 2017

Sounds like a load of fun, Nancy – and I love those decor pictures πŸ˜€ xxx

nrhatch - June 26, 2017

Yes, the whimsy of the wall art added to the appeal of the place.

“Life is too important to be taken seriously.” ~ Oscar Wilde

10. Debra - June 27, 2017

As long as you had a good time…you don’t need to admit one way or another! Last summer we experienced a true ‘contact high’ while at the Hollywood Bowl. It took me a little while to figure it out, but then the ’60s came flashing back. πŸ™‚ The guy sitting in front of me did offer me a little of his brownie, but I wasn’t too tempted. I was too busy watching the girls sitting next to him sticking their heads in their purses and taking hits! It’s something else!

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

Haha! I haven’t had a contact high in awhile ~ the Hollywood Bowl seems like a great venue for one.

Music + Pot = Perfect Together!

11. Tiny - June 28, 2017

Great you enjoyed your hike, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

Hiking is great when the heat isn’t oppressive. Today, we’re heading to float in the waves instead of “hoofing it.”

12. Tippy Gnu - June 28, 2017

I was just out to Colorado. It was surprising to see all the advertisements for weed at store fronts. But the people I visited took a mostly negative view of it. They think it’s drawing in a lot of druggies from out of state, who are corrupting their neighborhoods. Therefore, I was careful to avoid the kind of shopping you did. (Didn’t want to wear out my welcome).

nrhatch - June 28, 2017

I wonder if my brother’s neighbors thought I was corrupting their neighborhood?! Good thing I didn’t outstay my welcome. πŸ˜€


What Say YOU?

