jump to navigation

Take An Aspirin & Call 911 May 23, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, People.
trackback

Last week, I received an e-mail about heart attacks that seemed to contain ample doses of both Fact & Fiction.

Not sure which was which, I headed round to Snopes.com to see whether they had “the 411” on heart attacks.

They did.  From Aspirin and Heart Attacks:

In 1993 the American Heart Association began recommending a 325 mg aspirin dose at the onset of chest pain or other symptoms of a severe heart attack. That bit of advice is going unheeded, though; a follow-up report published in 1997 shows as many as 10,000 American lives a year could be saved if more people who thought they were having heart attacks took an aspirin at the start of chest pains.

Bottom line, if you think it’s a heart attack:

  1. Call 911
  2. Chew an aspirin
  3. Keep breathing

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 23, 2017

I always carry aspirin in my purse for this reason, Nancy. “Keep breathing” that’s key! 🙂

Joanne Sisco - May 23, 2017

Jill, that’s a great idea! I don’t even have aspirin around so taking one would be rather difficult.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Good thinking, Jill. Aspirin can be a life saver.

2. L. Marie - May 23, 2017

So chew an aspirin? Wow. Thanks for posting this, Nancy!

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

It seemed worthy of sharing.

3. Val Boyko - May 23, 2017

Excellent!

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Good advice for our aging boomer population.

4. Ally Bean - May 23, 2017

I keep a bottle of aspirin around the house only for this eventuality, that I hope never comes. Good advice.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you, Ally!

5. colonialist - May 23, 2017

I was put by my medic on a daily dose of one ‘cardio’ aspirin as a precaution.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

A good precaution to take, Col.
BFF does the same.

6. Tippy Gnu - May 23, 2017

I’ll be sure to take an aspirin before each time I open up a bill.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Ha! Good thinking!

7. viviankirkfield - May 23, 2017

Great post, Nancy! My husband has had 4 of them…and has been taking the low dose 81mg aspirin every day since 1981…it didn’t stop him from having the others…but might have mitigated the severity of them. There are other important considerations…and of course, as you mentioned, number ONE is to call 911. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/PreventionTreatmentofHeartAttack/Aspirin-and-Heart-Disease_UCM_321714_Article.jsp#.WSSrZmjyuDI

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Thanks, Vivian . . . And so glad that your husband is a survivor.

8. Piglet in Portugal - May 23, 2017

My husband has to take an asprin every day. This is an excellent post, Nancy.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

BFF does the same . . . “Just in case.”

9. Behind the Story - May 24, 2017

Medical advice keeps changing. So thanks for checking on this one.

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Most of the e-mail was fact (not fiction) . . . But it did say DO NOT LIE DOWN and Snopes.com found nothing to substantiate that advice.

10. Debra - May 25, 2017

Such a good reminder. Jay and I tend to forget the recommendation and really need to be more alert to the benefits of daily lowdose aspirin, as our doctors have said. I would hope if I thought I was having a heart attack I’d have the presence of mind to grab an aspirin. Isn’t Snopes a great resource?

nrhatch - May 25, 2017

Please do have that presence of mind, Debra ~ it could be a life saver.

When I get e-mails that have been circulated for millennia, I never pass them on without checking out their veracity (or lack thereof) on Snopes.

11. diannegray - May 27, 2017

I’ve always got an asprin in the house, but not in my handbag – so I’ll pop one in there right now, Nancy 😀

nrhatch - May 27, 2017

Probably a good thing to keep on hand. BFF usually keeps some in his pocket . . .just in case.


What Say YOU?

