jump to navigation

Best In Show May 20, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

We went to an antique car show at Gamble Plantation to check out some classy classic cars . . .

We loved this bright blue retro VW . . .

And this blast from the past . . .

We saw several amusing entries . . .

And a funky fire truck complete with boat awning . . .

Allowing passengers to enjoy the view along with a refreshing beverage. . .

But only one car got our vote for Best In Show . . .

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 20, 2017

I always enjoy seeing the antique cars, Nancy. As a child, I begged my father for a VW bus/camper. We got the bug instead. Enjoy your Saturday!

nrhatch - May 20, 2017

I wanted a VW bus/camper too! Perfect for a “Born to be Wild” ride out to San Francisco!

Jill Weatherholt - May 20, 2017

LOL! We are kindred spirits, Nancy! I remember studying the brochure for hours. 🙂

nrhatch - May 21, 2017

I often feel that about you ~> to kindred spirits!

2. joyroses13 - May 20, 2017

LOL about the toilet seat one! These made me smile. Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - May 20, 2017

Hope your Saturday is filled with S~M~I~L~E~S!

3. Val Boyko - May 20, 2017

That blue VW takes me back!! Looks like a fun show Nancy 😎

nrhatch - May 20, 2017

BFF is more into the “serious” competitors than I am . . . but I’m glad I joined him for the show since the fun and funky entries made me happy.

Val Boyko - May 20, 2017

I hear you Nancy!

4. Kate Crimmins - May 20, 2017

I need a toilet tractor!

nrhatch - May 20, 2017

With a cup holder for your Starbucks (and/or margarita)!

5. Piglet in Portugal - May 20, 2017

I love the toilet buggy! What fun 🙂

nrhatch - May 20, 2017

I wonder what kind of *gas* it takes? :mrgreen:

6. granny1947 - May 20, 2017

It looks as if the one that got your vote is not going anywhere soon!

nrhatch - May 21, 2017

It amazed me that they dragged it to the show. Must have been a pretty sight heading down the highway.

7. L. Marie - May 20, 2017

Love the one that got your vote. 🙂 A for effort! XD

nrhatch - May 21, 2017

He’s got High Hopes
He’s got High Hopes
He’s got High Apple Pie in the Sky Hopes. 😀

8. Tippy Gnu - May 20, 2017

I’d say about a gallon of rustoleum will fix that last one right up.

nrhatch - May 21, 2017

A gallon of rustoleum and a whole lot of elbow grease!

9. Tiny - May 21, 2017

The retro VW was my favorite! About a month ago I saw one like this speeding on Gulf Blvd. and wondered how an earth they could ever take the curves without rolling over.

nrhatch - May 21, 2017

Ballast!

10. roughwighting - May 22, 2017

Fun cars. I’m so not ‘into’ cars – I only know what color they are (blue? red?). However, I help out at a Classic Car Show in the SF bay area every summer (will be there in a few weeks this year) and see the awed expressions in the faces of (mostly) men. Nice that they get such appreciation out of shiny old metal. :-0

nrhatch - May 22, 2017

Car enthusiasts figure, “hey, if you can restore a car to showroom conditions, maybe I can restore my own youthful countenance!”

roughwighting - May 22, 2017

I think you are so right! Most of the people with the classic cars at the show where I help out are rather ancient themselves. 😉

nrhatch - May 22, 2017

The average age at this classic car show was “classic.” 🙂

11. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - May 22, 2017

That’s look like fun – I don’t know anything about cars, but I sure love looking at them!

nrhatch - May 22, 2017

I get bored long before BFF tires of “kicking tires.” But some of them are quite elegant . . . or amusing!

12. Debra - May 24, 2017

I would love that brilliant blue VW! What a fun event. I don’t know much about cars, vintage or modern, but they’re fun to admire!

nrhatch - May 24, 2017

Fun show on a gorgeous day under old oaks.

13. Tammy - May 29, 2017

That blue VW van is awesome.

nrhatch - May 29, 2017

Loved it!

14. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - June 2, 2017

I love looking at classic cars.. I just found out that there is a group that gathers every Wednesday (if the weather permits) during summer months… just down the road from me… can’t wait for next sunny Wednesday to show up, so I can to go check them out…

nrhatch - June 2, 2017

Yes . . . car shows are best enjoyed on sunny days! Have fun.

Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - June 3, 2017

Will do… It’s not a car show really… just a bunch of classic car people that meets up to hang out at this tiny parking lot. You should have seen my face when I happened to drive by the place a few weeks ago, I was jumping up and down in my seat, and made B turn the car around so we could check it out… Where I then walked around drooling and grinning from ear to ear, like the fool I am 😂

nrhatch - June 3, 2017

It’s great when we spot something that makes us turn around and grin!


What Say YOU?

