jump to navigation

Have I Got A Travel Deal For YOU! May 13, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Less IS More, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Earlier this month, I received an unsolicited travel brochure for an upcoming 12-day trip to the Arctic Circle.

By booking immediately, we could get 50% off the published rate!

Wow!

I decided to check out the savings . . . because I love BOGO offers at Publix.

Anyway, I clicked through and found that the price depended upon your desired cabin accoutrements.

Makes sense.

But that’s when sense turned into nonsense.

Even the least expensive cabin was ridiculously expensive.

No way am I spending $2,333 – $3,666 PER DAY to freeze my ass off!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - May 13, 2017

I’m with you, Nancy. I can stay at the day job and do that!

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

“Wherever you go, there you are.”

I don’t “overspend” on “get-aways” and “escapes” because (let’s be honest) I have NOTHING to escape from. πŸ˜€

Jill Weatherholt - May 13, 2017

I feel the same. There’s no place like home. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

I said just that to granny1947 today ~> the best part of any trip for me is walking in my front door when it’s over.

2. L. Marie - May 13, 2017

Yikes!!! Who has that kind of money??

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

My guess? Spoiled brats who live in McMansions and want to believe they are doing something good for the environment by going on expensive excursions to the Arctic Circle. πŸ˜€

3. Kate Crimmins - May 13, 2017

The Arctic Circle is not on my list of places to visit. No palm trees or beach bars.

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

And interesting restaurants are few and far between! πŸ˜€

4. granny1947 - May 13, 2017

You are so right. I would rather watch paint dry!

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

I would go if they PAID me $2,333 – $3,666 a day to put up with the discomfort. πŸ˜€

5. Joanne Sisco - May 13, 2017

Oh no, I would LOVE to go to the Arctic Circle. In fact it’s on my list of new things to do. Sadly, these excursions are hideously expensive (as you’ve just demonstrated) and it’s not like there are any Holiday Inns interspersed around. I need a wealthy benefactor willing to finance my adventures πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

I mean this in the nicest possible way ~> You’re Nuts! πŸ˜€

Actually, I can see why you (and others) would want to see the Northern Lights, and check out polar bears, narwhals, and seals in their native environment, and visit an Inuit Village, etc..

But it’s not on my bucket list. So let’s NOT plan our blogging meet-up for the frigid north.

Joanne Sisco - May 13, 2017

LOL! I can see I’ll have to go to Florida to make that happen πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

Now you’re talking!

Next time you come down to visit your sister for a winter warm up, we can check out some more doors at the Ringling.

6. Tippy Gnu - May 13, 2017

I suppose they want to be paid in cold cash, too. But after watching that movie about the Titanic, I want to stay far away from large floating blocks of ice.

nrhatch - May 13, 2017

Yup . . . cold hard cash.
Or a second mortgage on your house!

And I am with you on avoiding iceberg baths.

7. anotherday2paradise - May 14, 2017

I think the Arctic is a teensy bit extreme. πŸ˜…

nrhatch - May 14, 2017

I figured this would be YOUR next big adventure, Sylvia . . . first penguins at the South Pole, then polar bears at the North Pole.

And PARKAS for both! πŸ˜€

anotherday2paradise - May 14, 2017

Hehe. Not happening. πŸ˜…

nrhatch - May 14, 2017

I understand completely!

8. Val Boyko - May 14, 2017

You can always come here for free to freeze your ass off, Nancy 😁

nrhatch - May 14, 2017

That’s the ticket!

9. livelytwist - May 14, 2017

Lol @ to freeze my ass off! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 14, 2017

Yup . . . they’ll have to find someone other than me to PAY for that privilege!

10. Ally Bean - May 15, 2017

Seems wasteful to me. Of course, I like palm trees and sandals, so I suppose I’m biased against the idea to begin with.

nrhatch - May 15, 2017

Even if I had $45,000 burning a hole in my pocket, I wouldn’t think this was an effective way to spend it.

11. Tiny - May 15, 2017

Much better to stroll the beaches here in Florida…for free πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 15, 2017

Agreed!

12. Debra - May 15, 2017

Wow! That’s a travel budget far beyond my means! Lol! I’m with you on needing an escape–generally I’m pretty comfortable with my surroundings, or at least with me, an occasional change in scenery usually resets my barometer!

nrhatch - May 16, 2017

I’m with you, Debra. A short day trip now and then is enough for me ~ I’m happy to collapse into my own bed each night.


What Say YOU?

