jump to navigation

Don’t Get Too Comfortable! May 9, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Home & Garden.
trackback

Want to boost your metabolism?

Try adjusting your thermostat . . . up and down!

Recent research by a bunch of smart people with credentials (who seemed to know what they were talking about) has encouraged me to experiment with the temperature settings in our house this summer.

Apparently, being too comfortable is not in our best interest.

Instead, being a little chilly or hot encourages our body to flex its vascular muscles on our behalf.

If you keep your home at a comfortable 70 degrees year-round, you might want to switch it up a bit: Fluctuating indoor temperatures are good for your metabolism, suggests a new scientific report, and may even be an important way to fight obesity and diabetes.

To read more: Β Adjusting Your Thermostat May Boost Your Metabolism.

Now . . . you’ll have to excuse me while I abandon my comfort zone.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Catherine Johnson - May 9, 2017

Great tip!

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

I’ve noticed the greater variance seems to be expanding my comfort zone . . .

Catherine Johnson - May 9, 2017

Lol

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

Not THAT comfort zone . . . my internal temperature! πŸ˜€

2. L. Marie - May 9, 2017

This makes a lot of sense! You can’t help getting creative as you search for ways to restore equilibrium when you’re uncomfortable.

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

After a week or so, I’ve noticed my body is already adapting ~> I’m more comfortable in a wider range of settings.

3. Jill Weatherholt - May 9, 2017

My office is an uncomfortable 73 degree year around and I’m always freezing. At home, 80 is perfect. Aah…that’s better.

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

I’m with you, Jill ~ I did a double take when I read “If you keep your home at a comfortable 70 degrees . . . ” That doesn’t sound very comfortable to me (unless I’m wearing lots of layers).

We keep our AC at 80 during the day, turning it down at night (but not all the way down to 70). When I get up in the morning, it is cooler than later in the day. I used to put on the heat for a few minutes or toss on more clothes. Since reading this article, I’ve stopped doing that. Instead, I let my vascular muscles have a work out in the morning.

My comfort zone is expanding. I’ll let you know if I notice that my waist-line is shrinking. πŸ˜‰

4. Val Boyko - May 9, 2017

Oh dear! I’ve just turned our heating back on, as the temps went down into the 30s last night!
Maybe I should go back to Scotland and live in the heart of discomfort for a while πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

That reminds me of my great grandmother talking to her son (my grandfather) when he returned to Aberdeen for a visit:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/damn-yankees/

Val Boyko - May 9, 2017

The Truth!! πŸ˜„

5. Kate Crimmins - May 9, 2017

Somehow I think I would buy more sweaters! I too like it closer to 80 than 70.

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

Agreed. But wherever we find our comfort zone, the research says that we benefit from being either a bit cold or a bit warm during the day. So, instead of hopping up to adjust the thermostat when it’s a degree or two outside my comfort zone, I let my body deal with it.

I’ll let you know if the pounds start melting away! πŸ˜€

6. Brakes For Beauty - May 9, 2017

A metabolism booster I can do !! Woop woop!

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

Yes! Even “couch potatoes” can boast that they are giving themselves a metabolic boost by NOT getting up to adjust the thermostat. πŸ˜€

7. Tippy Gnu - May 9, 2017

When people don’t stay indoors all day, but get outside and do things out there, I think they probably get the same stimulative effective from changing temperatures.

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

Yes! And getting outside for fresh air is good for us in any number of ways.

8. anotherday2paradise - May 9, 2017

Never thought of this, Nancy. I’m like the princess and the pea. Everything has to be just perfect, the same the temperature of baby bear’s porridge. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

And, yet, you were willing to go to the Antarctic . . . which is WAY outside my comfort zone! πŸ˜€

anotherday2paradise - May 10, 2017

Well, that was an adventure, so doesn’t really count. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 10, 2017

OK . . . so you’re the princess with an adventurous streak! πŸ˜€

9. diannegray - May 9, 2017

Very interesting indeed, Nancy. Thank you! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 9, 2017

I am getting better at being OK with feeling a bit chilly . . . but “too warm” is still “too warm” (especially when I’m trying to sleep). πŸ˜€

10. Tiny - May 10, 2017

Will need to try this!!

nrhatch - May 10, 2017

Have fun experimenting.

Whether or not our metabolism needs boosting, expanding our comfort zones is probably good for us.

11. roughwighting - May 10, 2017

In that case, I should be as skinny as a beanpole in this new England weather where we are always too cold or too hot. πŸ€”πŸ™ƒ

nrhatch - May 10, 2017

You look marvelous, darling!

roughwighting - May 11, 2017

πŸ™‚

12. Debra - May 11, 2017

This is just fascinating! I have never heard this before, but I can understand how it may be true. I can handle more heat than cold, so I’ll have to decide how to apply this new recommendation! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - May 12, 2017

Extreme cold is a NO GO for me . . . but I’m allowing myself to be a bit chilly at 70-73 without turning on the heat.

And we’ve been leaving the A/C off until later in the day . . . but once it hits 83, I head for the thermostat (or, if it’s starting to cool off outside, we open the house and catch the Gulf Breezes).

I’d like my comfort zone to be a bit wider than it is.


What Say YOU?

