jump to navigation

Tai Chi: An Oasis Of Calm May 1, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Health & Wellness, Mindfulness.
trackback

Participants engaged in mastering the slow mindful movements of Tai Chi remain present . . .

In the moment . . .

The only place happiness resides . . .

In addition:

Tai Chi helps participants increase flexibility and balance while improving concentration.

It’s hard to be “lost in thought” while engaged in Tai Chi, giving participants a break from anxiety, worry, angst, and other every day stresses and strains.

As it taps into the mind-body connection, Tai Chi soothes the sympathetic nervous system, lowering dangerous levels of cortisol and adrenaline which are tied to a host of health ailments (e.g., high blood pressure & excess weight).

Tai Chi provides a *pause* that refreshes, resets, and relaxes the monkey mind . . . an oasis of calm in the midst of the frenzied and frenetic pace of life.

As an added benefit, many classes are held outdoors, offering participants the opportunity to nurture themselves amid the sights and sounds of nature.

Nature + Nurture = Perfect Together!

To learn more about the benefits of Tai Chi:  Why Tai Chi Is As Good For You As CrossFit.

Aah . . . that IS better!

 

 

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - May 1, 2017

Such a nourishing practice Nancy 💕

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

Like yoga!

Val Boyko - May 1, 2017

Exactly so 😎

2. Kate Crimmins - May 1, 2017

So graceful to watch.

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

Yes. Graceful and smooth and soothing.

3. colonialist - May 1, 2017

I tried copying that frog, but I fell over!

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

Haha! “Frog playing with globe” is a difficult move to master, Grasshopper.

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - May 1, 2017

I’ve tried doing a few YouTube videos and decided that Tai Chi was one I’d actually have to attend a class for!!

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

I’ve joined a class a few times and it does seem easier LIVE.

5. L. Marie - May 1, 2017

I’ve see people doing this in a park. 🙂

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

Me too! Sometimes I even join in . . .

6. Jill Weatherholt - May 1, 2017

Anything that reduces anxiety sounds great to me.

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

Sometimes I move . . . and sometimes I just B~R~E~A~T~H~E!

7. Joanne Sisco - May 1, 2017

Many years ago I took Tai Chi with an excellent Chinese instructor. For over a year I studied the art of slow, controlled, deliberate movement. It was HARD, but paradoxically energizing at the same time. I loved it.

nrhatch - May 1, 2017

I’ve taken a few classes with “Sensei Brian.” It’s a great practice.

Joanne Sisco - May 1, 2017

If I could find a good class to rejoin, I know!

8. Debra - May 3, 2017

I’ve never participated but I love to watch people practicing in the park. Early in my dad’s Parkinson’s the neurologist recommended Tai Chi as more than just balance, but also to calm his nervous system. It is beautifully rhythmic.

nrhatch - May 3, 2017

Good advice from your dad’s neurologist, especially since so many illness are exacerbated by S~T~R~E~S~S.

Tai Chi is a great de-stressor ~ a moving meditation.

9. diannegray - May 4, 2017

I’ve wanted to do Tai Chi for ages, Nancy. I’m going to see if there’s a youtube video with lessons – it’s a bit hard for me to get with a group because I’m a long way from the city 🙂

nrhatch - May 4, 2017

Have fun! Some of the youtube videos I viewed are more “convoluted” than the simple exercises we did in the few “beginner” classes I tried. So I decided to “simplify” them and do certain movements over and over whenever the youtube instructor seemed to be over-complicating things. 😀

diannegray - May 4, 2017

Great advice, Nancy. Thank you 🙂

nrhatch - May 4, 2017

Enjoy the flow!


What Say YOU?

