jump to navigation

A Heron, an Osprey, and a Fish March 29, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Humor, Nature.
trackback

The other day, I stepped out onto the back deck and observed a peaceful scene.

Several turtles were busy sunning themselves on the far bank of the lagoon.  A lone vulture circled on hidden currents overhead.  A Great Blue Heron on the far bank stood guard over his respective territory, a white egret fished at water’s edge, while an ibis pecked in the dirt for grubby morsels.

Just then an osprey flew overhead with a fish clenched in its talons.

The osprey took in the scene, circled back (doing a 180), and swooped low over the head of the Great Blue Heron who squawked in protest, flapping his wings at the intruder.

Unperturbed at the GBH’s vociferous annoyance, the osprey finished his fly-by, circled back again (this time doing a 360 turn) to swoop low over the head of the Great Blue Heron a second time.

The osprey sang out, “Hey!  I’ve got a fish and YOU do NOT!”

Once again, the GBH barked and croaked in protest, screeching out his displeasure while shaking his “fists” at the sky.

With that, the osprey winked at me and went off to enjoy his sushi.

I got the sense that this was NOT their first encounter with one another.  Perhaps the GBH had boasted about one of his prior fishing trips, thus nettling the osprey.

In any event, the only player who got a vote of sympathy from me . . . the fish!

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. joyroses13 - March 29, 2017

What a neat scene to be able to watch unfold. You had a front row seat! Thanks for sharing 🙂

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

My pleasure! There’s almost always something going on out there ~ even if it’s “just” ripples of sun dancing on the water.

This week, the otters have returned. Twice, we’ve caught them mid-crunch as they enjoyed their lunch.

joyroses13 - March 29, 2017

Oh so cool! Love otters.

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

Me too! Especially when they are getting their after mealtime exercise by wrestling each other on the far bank of the lagoon.

2. mybeautfulthings - March 29, 2017

Thank you for telling us. What a wonderful experience – even if not for the fish!:)

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

There are often osprey or GBH out there . . . but I don’t usually notice this level of interaction. Now I’ll pay more attention. 😀

3. Ally Bean - March 29, 2017

The sights you see are so different than the ones I see. Feeling sorry for the fish, of course– but the rest of the characters are charming to my midwestern mind. Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

The bird life in Florida is vastly different than what I’d been accustomed to in NJ, MD, VA, NC, SC and visits elsewhere.

We had osprey and GBH in MD (when we lived on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay), but we rarely saw them up close and personal. Here, the birds are not as “skittish” so we get a chance to see what they are up to. This encounter amused me.

4. Rainee - March 29, 2017

Have to love nature!

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

Nature nurtures! It is so often smile-inducing. 😀

5. Kate Crimmins - March 29, 2017

We get blue herons here although my pond isn’t heron friendly. Our neighbor had their pond fished out by herons. I have a lot more hawks in my yard watching my feeders. Those little birds flee fast when one is around.

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

Yes, those wee birds need to keep a hawk-eye open for hawks!

6. Jill Weatherholt - March 29, 2017

Funny, just yesterday I saw our resident blue heron snatch a fish from the lake. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera ready. Nice shots!

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

I’m rarely camera ready for “action shots.” In any event, I was too busy being amused by the osprey’s taunting to think about snapping pictures. 😀

These shots are old . . . my camera’s zoom isn’t powerful to capture action on the far side of the lagoon.

7. earnestlydebra - March 29, 2017

Thanks for sharing your story and the beautiful photo of the Heron. I love birds so much! in lak’ech, Debra

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

Birds are GREAT! Unless you’re a statue . . . 😀

earnestlydebra - March 29, 2017

:))

8. Maggie Wilson - March 29, 2017

Don’t they have the most peculiar “honk”, those GBH’s? Though, I suppose, to them, it’s quite natural, thank you very much.

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

To me, Canada Geese “honk” and GBH “screech” and “squawk” and “bark” and “croak” . . .

Maggie Wilson - March 29, 2017

My word! “Honk” is not at all accurate is it? These noises sound downright prehistoric! Thanks for the link!

nrhatch - March 29, 2017

Prehistoric is EXACTLY the word I use to describe the noise emanating from an annoyed GBH.

9. L. Marie - March 30, 2017

That is hilarious! They sound like old rivals who try to one-up each other. 🙂

nrhatch - March 30, 2017

That’s exactly the way it seemed . . . oneupmanship!

10. roughwighting - March 30, 2017

What a glorious place you live in (and around). I love watching blue heron, and white heron, and egrets (have not been lucky enough to see an osprey). When I lived/now visit at my town on the SF Bay, I walk early in the morning and watch their shenanigans. So much fun. Your photos are marvelous.

nrhatch - March 30, 2017

Thanks, Pam . . . bird shenanigans are fun to watch!

roughwighting - March 30, 2017

Always!!!

11. diannegray - March 31, 2017

What a wonderful treat, Nancy – I absolutely love watching birds and am sure they all have distinct personalities! 😀

nrhatch - March 31, 2017

The interplay between these two was GREAT! Watching birds is fun stuff.

12. Behind the Story - April 1, 2017

Wow! What a show they put on for you! No matter how many times we see wild animals doing their thing, it’s always a thrill. Great pictures. They’re beautiful birds.

nrhatch - April 1, 2017

Animals are a TREAT! Nature nurtures. 😀

13. Debra - April 3, 2017

There’s nothing more exciting to me than nature’s theater! And you really did have front row seats! I would have enjoyed the show, too, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 3, 2017

There’s usually something going on out back when we poke our noses out the door. The otters have been visiting again. They are always such fun to watch.


What Say YOU?

