jump to navigation

5 Easy Ways To Make Yourself Miserable March 18, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

Don’t worry . . . even for novices, misery can be attained with these 5 easy tips and techniques!

1.  Cling to Entitlement.  Life owes YOU.

2.  It’s ALL personal.  Ignore nothing and always assume malicious intent.

3.  Focus on problems.  Keep track of all your problems and constantly review them.

4.  Magnify.  Don’t cheat yourself out of misery by maintaining perspective.  All that negativity will eventually become your reality.

5.   Just say “No Thanks” to Gratitude.  Focus on all the ways life disappoints you and keep them in the forefront of your mind.  Discount anything that is going well in your life.

And remember . . . Misery LOVES company.

The more you share yours with others . . . the more you’ll wind up having!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - March 18, 2017

So true, Nancy! Miserable people can’t stand to see others happy…so sad. Have a great Saturday!

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Miserable people don’t realize that “hardship is inevitable . . . misery is optional.”

2. William D'Andrea - March 18, 2017

This describes the attitude of those who are politically correct.

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

In what way?

William D'Andrea - March 18, 2017

I think I should have said “Those who are supported and encouraged by those who are Politically Correct.”
Right now my time is limited. If you want a full discussion, let me know, and I’ll send you the information sometime next week.

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

People who INSIST that everyone else meet their expectations do tend to make themselves miserable in the process. 😀

3. Joanne Sisco - March 18, 2017

omg – isn’t this the truth!!!

I’ve never understood why some people choose to focus on the ugly and miserable rather than seeing all the wonderful stuff around us.

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

I dislike being around people who whine, moan, gripe, and groan continually ~> they never seem to run out of things to complain about. ACK!

Joanne Sisco - March 18, 2017

… because there always is something to complain about, but the reverse is also true 🙂

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Exactly! Developing an attitude of gratitude = PRICELESS!

4. Kate Crimmins - March 18, 2017

This stuff comes naturally for some people!

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

It sure does.

I’d rather be around a Pollyanna than a Debbie Downer any day.

Kate Crimmins - March 18, 2017

I suppose I have my moments. I keep them short and private. Pity parties should be no more than 20 minutes!

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

BFF is my ONLY sounding board when something that’s gone “wrong” doesn’t seem “funny” yet . . .

Once I see the humor in the situation, I can share it here! 😀

5. Daramemon - March 18, 2017

Yeah misery begets misery

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Let’s be thankful for people who magnify their misery with constant complaints . . . they show us who we do NOT want to be!

Daramemon - March 18, 2017

Absolutely

6. L. Marie - March 18, 2017

That made me laugh out loud!!

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

I shared this video for the first time 7 years ago. Every time I watch it, I crack up! She is so sincere sounding . . .

Plus: “They” are out there . . . pissing and moaning!

7. mybeautfulthings - March 18, 2017

Pollyanna for me too, any day!🙂

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Pollyanna’s may not be realistically optimistic, but that’s OK because they are . . . spreading SMILES!

mybeautfulthings - March 18, 2017

…. and happiness! 🙂

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Yes!

8. Val Boyko - March 18, 2017

I am reading A Man Called Ove right now … There is hope for us all 😉

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Is Ove a curmudgeon? 😀

Val Boyko - March 18, 2017

Absolutely! Its well written in a light hearted humorous way. He reminds me of several relatives and an ex husband!

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Sounds like a book I would enjoy. I think I’ll add it to my TBR pile.

nrhatch - March 26, 2017

We watched A Man Called One last night ~ terrific film. I have the book “on order” from the library. Can’t wait to read it.

My favorite laugh:

Parvaneh: “I’ve been thinking . . . ”
Ove: “Don’t boast!”

At which point, they both burst into laughter.

9. diannegray - March 18, 2017

Very true Nancy – I don’t know how many times I’ve said to people ‘It’s not about you so don’t take it personally’ 😀

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Yes! When we don’t take things personally, they often are no more than a quick *blip* on the screen . . . because we have no reason to “hang on to them.”

10. Tiny - March 18, 2017

So true, a failsafe path to misery… don’t want to go there, thank you for the reminder, Nancy.

nrhatch - March 18, 2017

Yes . . . let’s not go there. Life is better with laughter.

11. Rainee - March 18, 2017

Great post Nancy! The video gets the message across loud and clear!

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

I love her sincere speaking voice . . . with extreme sarcasm lacing everything she says.

12. Debra - March 18, 2017

These life-altering truths should be mandatory memorization beginning in elementary school! Just think of all the years of misery we’d be spared before we get this straight. 🙂

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

When someone declares that “I’ll NEVER get over this,” they are (1) Absolutely Right, AND (2) oh, so, Wrong!

When we master our thoughts, we master our life.

13. Behind the Story - March 19, 2017

The thing about clinging to entitlement and believing life owes you is when life doesn’t pay up, then you become a victim. It seems there are a lot of victims out there these days. The trouble is, these victims can’t look beyond their own problems to see the suffering of others and to realize we all have problems and need to support each other.

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

Yes . . . they are victims of their own mindset, acting as both jailer and jailed. They hold the keys. Though most have probably misplaced them. 😀

I’ve found that the best way to cheer myself up is to cheer someone else up. And it’s a Win-Win when I do.

14. anotherday2paradise - March 19, 2017

So true, Nancy. We all know people who live by these 5 techniques. 😀

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

Yup. They Are Out There!

15. Bryce Jungquist - March 19, 2017

What made you write a blog post about this topic?

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

Why do you ask? 😉

Bryce Jungquist - March 19, 2017

Was curious where the inspiration came from:)

nrhatch - March 19, 2017

I try to share posts that “resonate” with readers on SLTW. Judging from the comments above, this one did.

Also, I love sharing humor and laughter.

Hope that helps!

16. Bun Karyudo - March 20, 2017

Thanks for this, Nancy. I found the video a useful opportunity to discover all the ways I’ve been cheating myself out of misery. Good as it was, however, I feel compelled to complain about the presenter since was far too chipper. What’s with that big smile and that lively intonation? She should really have been in floods of tears all the way through. I’m now going to spend the next week brooding about this failure of presentation.

nrhatch - March 20, 2017

Nothing like a good brood to get rid of that pesky good mood that’s been loitering around!

Enjoy your brood!
No, wait . . . may you be happy in your misery.
No, that’s not right either.
I’ve got it!
May you be miserable in your happiness!
No, that’s wrong too. 😦

Darn words.

How can I tell you to “have a great day!” without cheating you of your hard won misery? :mrgreen:

Bun Karyudo - March 20, 2017

Oh, that’s a great point, Nancy. I’m not sure how to get around that. Perhaps you’ll just have to end with “Break a leg!” or “Get hit by a truck!”

nrhatch - March 21, 2017

I’ll have to ease into it . . . “may you get stuck in a traffic snarl that leaves you snarling.”

There. Done.

17. Ally Bean - March 21, 2017

Misery likes company. No truer words. I find that concept happens in the blogosphere, too. When I post something in which I complain, the comments pile up. But when I post something happy/benign, I often hear crickets instead of getting comments. It’s the darnedest thing, really. Makes me sad, but also makes me laugh at how predictable people really are.

nrhatch - March 21, 2017

I much prefer reading and commenting on “happy” posts.

Sometimes I leave without commenting when someone is bitching about something “benign.”

And if I check out a new blog and see that the general tenor of recent posts is a rehashing of “trials and tribulations” . . . I do NOT subscribe. I’ll let those who enjoy wallowing in misery follow them. 😀


What Say YOU?

