jump to navigation

Pere Noel March 1, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor.
trackback

Pere Noel (guava berry rhum from the island of St. Maarten) was one of my favorite Christmas gifts this year . . .

I got a kick out of the turban-topped bottle and we all got a kick out of the variance between what we expected it to taste like (fruity and delicious) and what it did taste like (medicinal and unpalatable).

In that sense, it was an experiential gift!

A gift that I will continue to enjoy since I kept the bottle to put out with my other Santas next year.

That said, once was enough.

imgp5986

We finished the bottle one Friday in late December when we went to a friend’s house for Happy Hour. ย The rum-soaked guava berries in the bottom of the bottle were amazingly terrible . . . like eating concentrated NyQuil.

Since misery loves company, I made sure that everyone tried one!

Along with Pere Noel, we received two Kinder Surprise Eggs (also from St. Maarten). ย Inside the hollow chocolate egg are Cracker Jack type prizes ~ we got a Fireman with hydrant and hose and a Chef with a bar-b-q grill.

Like everyone else, the Chef was unimpressed with his taste of Pere Noel’s guava berry rhum.

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

 

Comments»

1. Ally Bean - March 1, 2017

Medicinal? Ugh. But the bottle is cute, I’ll give you that.

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

I got a kick out of the bottle . . . even if its contents were less than Yummy.

2. Kate Crimmins - March 1, 2017

I would have dumped the stuff out but feeding it to neighbors is the next best thing.

anotherday2paradise - March 1, 2017

Haha ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

I appreciated the thought behind the gift ~> my niece knows I love Santas . . . and rum. She said she’ll get me a different brand next year. ๐Ÿ˜€

3. anotherday2paradise - March 1, 2017

Well, in that case, I’m glad we’re not your neighbors. Sounds awful, Nancy. Sometimes the packaging is much better than the actual present inside. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

Haha! The first sip was such a surprise to all of us on Christmas Day. Just unexpected!

4. Jill Weatherholt - March 1, 2017

Ugh! This brought back a college memory of the tequila shot with the worm in it…yuck! I do like the bottle though. Cheers!

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

Tequila is an acquired taste . . . even without the worm!

5. Joanne Sisco - March 1, 2017

This would be the type of thing I would consider an ungift ๐Ÿ™‚
Toss in a couple of Kinder Surprises which I think are outright nasty and you have a winner – or loser – depending on how you want to look at it ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

My niece used to love Kinder Surprises when she was a kid. She got a kick out of seeing them again . . . and sharing them with us.

But make mine DOVE chocolate! ๐Ÿ˜€

Joanne Sisco - March 2, 2017

Alas … I’ve had to severely cut my chocolate consumption. My stomach will no longer tolerate it. Unfortunately it’s Cadbury Easter Cream Egg season and I LOVE them. Sadly, I’m just passing them by … so far ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - March 2, 2017

Quel horreur! I hope your stomach gives you a reprieve soon.

6. diannegray - March 1, 2017

Medicinal and unpalatable – haaaa, I love the way you describe it Nancy. One year my sister-in-law gave my kids two ‘female’ mice. Within months they were reproducing at an enormous rate and my husband called it ‘the bloody gift that keeps on giving’ ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

OMG! No wonder you have snakes hanging around your place, Dianne. Snakes love them little mousies . . . mousies what they love to eat!

So . . . I’ve got to know. What did you end up doing with that colony of mice?

diannegray - March 2, 2017

Haaaa – the colony of mice was in another state/city about 10 years ago. We gave them to a pet shop when we moved to where we are now. I believe the mice lived happily ever after – and you’re right, I wouldn’t keep mice here – too many snakes ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - March 2, 2017

Yes . . . no reason to entice more snakes to hang around the “all you can eat buffet.”

7. Debra - March 1, 2017

How funny! Nyquil, huh? I’ve heard of Pere Noel and like you, would have assumed something like maybe a mulled wine or grog. A fun container and a remarkably memorable gift. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve now been warned!

nrhatch - March 1, 2017

Jess says there is a different brand that might be better tasting. She bought this one for us without sampling it first.

We shared 1/2 the bottle on Christmas Day with 8 “revelers” . . . none asked for a re-pour! ๐Ÿ˜€

8. L. Marie - March 2, 2017

Ewww. I think I would have pretended to put it in my mouth, then slipped it into a napkin. ๐Ÿ™‚
Love the Kinder surprise eggs. They are always fun to get.

nrhatch - March 2, 2017

At least they weren’t fish eyes! When my dad served with the Intelligence Corps in Korea during the war, he was invited to a family’s home for dinner. As the distinguished guest of honor, he was presented with two bulging bulbous fish eyes to eat. Ack!

9. William D'Andrea - March 2, 2017

During this past Thanksgiving weekend, I was visiting my sister and her family. That Friday night, we attended a Birthday party for one of her friends, who was celebrating her 80th birthday. It took place at a local private club, and the event turned out to be a cocktail party.
That was actually the first one I’d ever attended. The food turned out to be light snacks, with the emphases on the beverages. Now I personally hardly ever drink alcohol; and I wasn’t sure what to order. I remembered what I used to drink, back when I was a traveler, and spent many vacations in Mexico. I ordered a margarita cocktail. It was good, and I enjoyed it, and I thought that would be enough.
The problem was, that the waitresses were also going around leaving glasses of champaign on all the tables. I had one, after finishing the margarita. Then my brother-in-law beckoned me over to his table, where I had another glass of champaign. Then we went back to my sister’s house, where I had a glass of red wine. After that I had no trouble getting to sleep.
Please don’t get the wrong idea. Like I said, I hardly ever drink alcohol, so what I did drink had a much strong effect than I’d expected. I also didn’t behave badly.
The next day, I was given the impression that the next time the family gets together, my niece and grand nieces, are planning to have some fun with Uncle Bill. It may be that they’ll present me with a gigantic pitcher of margarita mix.
All I can say to that is, “Thank you. Let’s share it with the more than a dozen people who usually attend my sister’s Thanksgiving dinners.”

nrhatch - March 2, 2017

It’s easy to have “too much” at cocktail parties . . . glad that you didn’t behave badly after margaritas, champagne and wine!

William D'Andrea - March 4, 2017

After all that, the only way I was able to behave, was getting a good night sleep.

nrhatch - March 4, 2017

I believe it!

10. roughwighting - March 3, 2017

Sometimes sharing a ‘bad bottle’ of spirits makes spirits rise with laughter and shared bad-taste faces that make everyone remember the night with joy. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - March 3, 2017

Yes! Perfect sum up, Pam. We got a lot of laughs out of the unexpected taste of the guava berries and rhum . . .

11. Tiny - March 7, 2017

Medicinal is to be enjoyed as medicine. I’m sure it can cure this and the other ailment ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - March 7, 2017

The spirit of Pere Noel put us in good spirits . . . and that’s always good for what ails us!


What Say YOU?

