jump to navigation

Do You Have A Billion Dollar Nose? February 21, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Life Balance, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Mickey-Ta-DaaaLike to travel?

Enjoy sampling cocktails?

Want to get paid to travel around the globe and sample cocktails?

Intrigued?

If traveling around the world trying out new cocktails is your idea of the perfect vacation, listen up: Spirit brand Absolut wants to pay someone to do this professionally.

One person will get the title of Sensory Expert—or the “Billion Dollar Nose” as the brand is calling it. You’ll need “a creative nose, a trend-sensitive tongue, and a love of vodka,” according to a statement.

To read more:  Get Paid To Travel the World and Drink Cocktails

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - February 21, 2017

I think I’ll have to pass on this…I’d rather taste cheese. 🙂 I thought that guy was Archer Bunker. 🙂

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

He does look like Archie Bunker. A few decades ago, I would have enjoyed this job. Now I’d rather be a cheese taster, or a chocolate taster, or a pizza taster.

2. Joanne Sisco - February 21, 2017

A few years ago I went to Bartender School – just for fun, and I had a blast. However, one thing I discovered is that I don’t have a sensitive palate.

Each day over a 2 week period we would sample different liquors, beers, and wines to compare their tastes. Although I could taste a difference, I could not discern the flavour or the aroma.

In other words, I already know I would totally suck at this job. So sad 😉

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

I’m with you Joanne. I can taste differences in wines, beers, and cocktails . . . but not with the requisite degree of discernment to describe those differences to others.

3. Kate Crimmins - February 21, 2017

I am good with beers and chocolate but that’s about it. Tasting for a chocolate company would be my idea of a great job.

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

Yes! Or if not a job, a party . . . “Please come to a Chocolate Tasting Party at Kate’s House. BYOC!”

Kate Crimmins - February 21, 2017

RSVP! I’ll put a pot of coffee on.

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

Awesome sauce!

4. L. Marie - February 21, 2017

To think I’ve done this for free and could have gotten paid for it. 🙂

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

There are lots of FUN jobs out there . . . if you know where to find them. Alas, sometimes you have to get past the bouncers at the door.

5. Ally Bean - February 21, 2017

I suppose that my preference for Grey Goose vodka over Absolut might be an impediment when applying for this job. Still…

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

They might look askance at your preference, Ally. “Sacre bleu!”

6. diannegray - February 21, 2017

It it was anything but vodka I’d take it. I thought vodka had no taste or smell but I’ve never tried it – I agree with the others, a chocolate taster would be perfect! “D

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

Chocolate taster = PERFECT!

7. anotherday2paradise - February 21, 2017

Not vodka, but I’m with you on the chocolate, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

Mais oui . . . la chocolat!

8. Bun Karyudo - February 21, 2017

Not a job I could do. I’d be an Absolut disaster. 😦

nrhatch - February 21, 2017

Bwahaha! You definitely have the scents you was born with!

Bun Karyudo - February 22, 2017

😀

9. Debra - February 22, 2017

I’d love to have some follow-up on the person who captures this position! It’s a great job for just the right person. I’m not a very comfortable traveler…I’d be inclined to use the Absolut for liquid courage. 🙂

nrhatch - February 23, 2017

I’m with you, Debra. I’m content where I am (most of the time) so long-distance travel isn’t terribly alluring.

My sister is flying to L.A. this morning. She had to get up at 4 am for a 6 am flight. She hopes to doze on the plane. After a few days out there, she’ll retrace her “steps.”

I’d rather just stay put. 😀

10. Tiny - February 25, 2017

Absolut is from Sweden 🇸🇪 and we usually have some at home so maybe I should try for the trip 😜🍹but the photos might not come out very well.

nrhatch - February 25, 2017

Haha! Absolut is clear . . . but your photos could be fuzzy!


What Say YOU?

