jump to navigation

Little Pitchers Have Big Ears February 10, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Fiction, Humor, Writing & Writers.
trackback

Donald-Duck-BaseballMy feet dragged down the hall.

I found my older brother Wally sprawled on his bed doing homework.

He glanced up, saw my glum face, and said, “Hey, Teddy.  What’s wrong?”

“Mom and dad are getting divorced.”

Wally shook his head.  “No way, you doofus . . . they’re BFFs.”

“I heard her say so.”

“To who?”

“Don’t know.  Her bedroom door was closed.”

“What did you hear?”

“Hmm . . . ‘I’m tired of being taken for granted.  I want to be swept off my feet’ . . . whatever that means.”

“That doesn’t mean they’re getting divorced.”

“Duh!  I know that!  I’m not stupid.”

“Duly noted.  What else did you hear?”

I better get flowers this Valentine’s Day . . . or I’m getting a divorce.”

Wally frowned.  “I don’t get it.  Mom doesn’t even like flowers.  She has allergies.  They make her sneeze.  I wonder if . . .”

Just then, mom appeared at the door.

“Hey, guys, guess what!  That play I auditioned for . . . I got the part!  Rehearsals start tonight so I’m busy going over my lines.  Pizza OK for dinner?”

Wally nodded.  “Pizza’s great. Hey, mom, do your lines mention flowers, divorce, and Valentine’s Day?”

Now mom looked confused. “Yes. How did you know that?”

“A little pitcher told me.”

I grinned at Wally and hugged mom. “Great news, mom.  Break a leg!”

* * * * * *

Written for Susanna’s 2nd Annual Valentiny Writing Contest.  Entries accepted through 2/14.  Complete rules ~> HERE.

 

 

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - February 10, 2017

You got my vote, Nancy. Cute story!

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Thanks, Jill. It’s been more than 2 years since I last entered one of Susanna’s fun contests. How time flies!

Her story is precious . . . poor dyslexic Tilly. 😀

2. Gregory E Bray - February 10, 2017

I’m glad it was just mom rehearsing. And pizza sounds great for dinner. Good luck!

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Pizza is always a great way to end a confusing day!

3. joyroses13 - February 10, 2017

Awww! Love how it ended! So true how we can assume things and think the worst when we only have heard part of the conversation!

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Thanks! So true. Some even assume the worst when they are privy to the WHOLE conversation . . . especially if they have a tendency to gravitate to the negative. 😀

4. livelytwist - February 10, 2017

Nice one. The problem with eavesdropping and jumping to conclusions … a bit much for a child. Thank God for his older brother.

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Our minds are fertile fields for imagination . . . especially when we let our thoughts run wild without reining them in. Of course, in this case, Teddy’s conclusion wasn’t too far-fetched given what he heard his mom say.

Good thing Wally helped him read between the lines!

5. anotherday2paradise - February 10, 2017

Great story, Nancy. I do love happy endings. 🙂

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Me too! And what could be happier than PIZZA for dinner!

anotherday2paradise - February 10, 2017

Haha. Yes you’re right, Nancy. 🍕

6. Judy Sobanski - February 10, 2017

Don’t believe everything you hear- great lesson. Every story should end with pizza!

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Thanks, Judy! Pizza makes everything better.

7. kathalsey - February 10, 2017

Good use of a twist, and a happy ending and pizza!

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Thanks! To pizza. And BFF’s. And Big Brothers like Wally.

8. Ally Bean - February 10, 2017

Clever. Now I’m off to read about this contest…

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

If your creative juices start flowing . . . ENTER!

9. Debra - February 10, 2017

I like a story that comes with a built-in warning! Children haven’t yet learned not to jump to conclusions. Most adults haven’t learned it either, though. 🙂 Very nice contribution to the challenge, Nancy.

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Haha! So true. When we take every slight personally, even the bad driver who cuts us off in traffic, it’s because we’re spinning yarns in our heads along the lines of “How DARE he do that to me” . . .

When, of course, 9 times out of 10, it has NOTHING to do with us. We just happened to be there at the wrong time.

10. Val Boyko - February 10, 2017

A story with a moral and a surprise ending is always good! Thanks Nancy 💛

nrhatch - February 10, 2017

Thanks, Val. Susanna’s contests are always fun ~ and well attended.

11. roughwighting - February 10, 2017

Awwww, I love your Valentine’s story, full of heart and family love. And humor and a touch of a lesson. 🙂

nrhatch - February 11, 2017

Thanks, Pam. Communication can become garbled as it passes from ear to brain for “decoding.”

We manage best when we stayed tuned to our intuitive radar. 😀

roughwighting - February 11, 2017

ALWAYS!!!

12. Jilanne Hoffmann - February 11, 2017

Great story! Love the twist of an ending. Such relief for the kids!

nrhatch - February 11, 2017

Exactly! Relief + Pizza = Perfect Together!

13. Gabi Snyder - February 11, 2017

Ha! Wonderful plot twist — well done!

nrhatch - February 11, 2017

Thanks, Gabi! Susanna’s got some great entries for her Valentine’s contest.

14. Maria Marshall - February 12, 2017

Nice twist and I like the brother’s interactions.

nrhatch - February 12, 2017

Thanks, Maria. Supportive siblings are the best!

15. jeanjames926 - February 13, 2017

Ah yes the dangers of eavesdropping lol. Great story good luck!

nrhatch - February 13, 2017

Thanks! I envisioned him innocently overhearing her as he walked down the hall after school . . . but maybe he WAS eavesdropping! 😀

16. Amanda Sincavage - February 14, 2017

After reading Colleen Murphy’s story, I’m really glad it worked out for Wally and his sibling. Nice work!

nrhatch - February 14, 2017

Thanks! Here’s to having moms and dads who are also BFF’s.

17. Lynn A. Davidson - February 14, 2017

I like the surprising and happy ending. I wish you well with this story.

nrhatch - February 14, 2017

Thanks, Lynn. Hope your Valentine’s Day was happy!

18. Traci Bold - February 14, 2017

This story made me laugh as I have been there done that with this story scenario. Even funnier, we had pizza tonight for dinner too but only because I was busy revising a PB ms. Good luck Nancy!

nrhatch - February 14, 2017

Ha! Pizza is a great “go to” meal when we have other “got to do’s” that we gotta do!

19. Cathy Ballou Mealey - February 15, 2017

Ha! A fun mis-heard tale. May your real Valentine be sweet and clear!

nrhatch - February 15, 2017

Thanks! We had a fun Valentine’s Day at Epcot.

Cathy Ballou Mealey - February 15, 2017

Oh be still my heart – the almond covered pretzels at Norway are delish!

nrhatch - February 15, 2017

We’re going back on Friday . . . and plan to stop at the bakery in Norway. So I may check one out!

20. Joanne Roberts - February 15, 2017

Great job. You had me fooled.

nrhatch - February 16, 2017

Thanks! From the entries I’ve read, Susanna’s request that we toss confusion into the mix is paying off in delightful twists, turns, and roundabouts.

21. viviankirkfield - February 16, 2017

I clicked liked, Nancy…but I wanted to click LOVED. This is so much fun…and so REAL. I could see this happening…and your voice was spot on authentic for the kids AND the mom. Well done!!!! And I hope you are going to give the #50PreciousWords Challenge a go next month also. 😉

nrhatch - February 18, 2017

Thanks, Vivian!

I might do the #50Precious Words Challenge ~ I’ve always loved Dr. Seuss’s way with words, especially his Green Eggs and Ham.

22. Susanna Leonard Hill - February 18, 2017

Hahaha! A lesson in eavesdropping 🙂 And those brothers sounded so believable and authentic! Nice job 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in the Valentiny fun!

nrhatch - February 18, 2017

Thanks! And thanks for being the hostess with the mostest!


What Say YOU?

