jump to navigation

Larissa . . . Stop Following Me! February 2, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

Tree-Frog-PerchedaA “blogger” keeps following me.

She never comments.

She just follows, unfollows, follows, unfollows, follows, unfollows . . . like a strobe light silently screaming for attention.

How do I know?

Almost every morning, I get an e-mail in my in-box that says:

Larissa . . . Β just started following you on SLTW. They will receive an email every time you publish a post. Congratulations.

You might want to go see what they’re up to! Perhaps you will like their blog as much as they liked yours!

I doubt that she has actually read anything on my blog . . . she’s too busy following it!

Aah . . . that’s better!Β 

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - February 2, 2017

LOL! Have you ever had someone follow you to other blogs you comment on and then like your comment, but not comment themselves?

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

Yes! One in particular who likes almost every comment I make, but has never introduced himself to me . . .

Maybe he’s shy!

Jill Weatherholt - February 2, 2017

LOL! We might have the same lurker. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

When I make an average, run-of-the-mill, mundane comment and he “LIKES” it . . . I question his sincerity. πŸ˜€

2. Eartha - February 2, 2017

Lol I get that too. This is #bloglife. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

I’m sure it’s happened before without me noticing it was the same person and the same person and the #sameperson! πŸ˜€

3. Under the Oaks - February 2, 2017

Strange! Maybe she wants you to check out her blog. I have been getting the strangest followers. Good Morning!

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

I’m sure that’s exactly what she wants . . . but her persistence in following and unfollowing and following and unfollowing doesn’t bode well for a relationship based on Honesty and Trust! πŸ˜€

4. philosophermouseofthehedge - February 2, 2017

She’s a stalker all right. Ditto. Every day. Interesting mindset – you do wonder what the game is – and how she has the time.

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

Some people who blog enjoy the connections and community that develops as a result of reading, commenting, and interacting.

For others, it’s all about the numbers . . .

philosophermouseofthehedge - February 2, 2017

and some know how to annoy and enjoy? HA HA

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

True dat!

5. Kate Crimmins - February 2, 2017

Larissa also follows me at least once a week. No comment or like. As you say, it probably happens more often than I notice but her name is distinctive so it stands out.

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

One of the post links listed at the bottom of the “she’s following you” e-mail caught my eye over and over and over.

Something about a BFF . . . but NOT my BFF! πŸ˜€

6. Morgan - February 2, 2017

Its admittedly the wrong way to get your attention, but she did succeed in getting it. Unfortunately, it might result in her being blocked! lol

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

I’m sure she trolls around following (and unfollowing) blogs in an effort to get them to visit her blog. But her behavior has done nothing to get me interested enough to follow her. I tend to follow people who “speak up” and show they’ve actually read posts here.

Joanne Sisco - February 3, 2017

Amen! I feel the same way. I often really question why someone has chosen to follow me … I’ve come to the conclusion it is only to solicit a *follow* in kind.
To me, the whole purpose of blogging is engagement with others. That engagement happens through the comments section.
Is it true that I will resort to only *liking* a post? Yes. If I don’t have something to contribute to the conversation, I will stay quiet … but stay quiet ALL the time? That’s not engagement.

nrhatch - February 5, 2017

I agree 100% . . .

I don’t want 217,371 followers who lurk about in the shadows without ever saying a thing. I’m far more interested in attracting interested and interesting conversationalists.

7. L. Marie - February 2, 2017

Wow. That’s bizarre and a little bit scary, especially if this is happening to other bloggers too.

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

Judging from the comments, Larissa has been doing the same thing on many blogs.

For me, it’s not annoying or scary, it’s just pointless ~> she’s done nothing that ENCOURAGES me to visit her blog . . . just the opposite.

8. Ally Bean - February 2, 2017

I know nothing about Larissa. I don’t follow back within the WP system, so maybe I’m not a good match for Larissa– and her pranks. I’ve had lots of bloggers follow me, then never ever leave a comment, only a “like” on what I write. I find that behavior odd, but then I’m much more of a proactive blogger who leaves comments and gets involved. Lurking doesn’t work for me.

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

I’m with you, Ally ~ I might occasionally “like” a post without leaving a comment. But that’s rare.

I’m too verbose to keep my mouth shut for long. πŸ˜€

9. roughwighting - February 2, 2017

Oh boy, I’m learning from you and the other bloggers’ comments. I’m so naive- why does Larissa and her ‘ilk’ do that? I love that word – ilk. πŸ€— Well, if she really pays attention to your blog, she’ll (hopefully) never follow you again.

nrhatch - February 2, 2017

Ilk is a great word! I’ll report back if I get any more “Larissa . . . is following SLTW” e-mails.

nrhatch - February 14, 2017

Well, this post hasn’t discouraged her one whit . . . she’s followed and unfollowed me another 4x (at least).

roughwighting - February 14, 2017

She’s a loser – sorry that’s the best way of describing her actions. ;-0

nrhatch - February 14, 2017

She’s got stick-to-it-tive-ness!

10. Tiny - February 4, 2017

Lol. Many people follow just so you might follow them…at least she got your attention πŸ˜€

nrhatch - February 4, 2017

This has been going on for weeks . . . now she can turn HER attention to other fish. This one’s NOT biting!

11. anotherday2paradise - February 5, 2017

I’m so jealous!! Larissa has never followed me. What have you got that I haven’t? πŸ˜†

nrhatch - February 5, 2017

Next time she pops in . . . I’ll send her around, Sylvia! πŸ˜€

anotherday2paradise - February 5, 2017

Thanks, but no thanks. πŸ˜•

nrhatch - February 6, 2017

Good call!

12. livelytwist - February 5, 2017

Ha ha ha! She’s probably waiting for you to follow back πŸ™‚

nrhatch - February 6, 2017

No doubt.

I’ve seen people do what she’s doing to get attention . . . but never with such tenacity. She’ll go far!

13. Debra - February 8, 2017

That is just too funny! I am so often amused with blogging behaviors. I have had to unfollow/follow a few times when a site doesn’t regularly appear in my inbox. That’s more of a WP issue, but I’ve wondered if while I’m going back and forth the blog administrator is notified. Now I have that answer. LOL!

nrhatch - February 8, 2017

Haha. Of course, you’re probably a “known entity” to the blogger due to your superb comment etiquette so they would think “aah, technical issues” if they saw you following and unfollowing.

In contrast, this Larissa chick is a flutter bug! πŸ˜€


What Say YOU?

