jump to navigation

How Patriotic! January 28, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, Less IS More, Life Balance.
trackback

Little-Miss-ScatterbrainIn the USA, shopping, spending, and buying STUFF, especially on credit, is considered patriotic.

That’s why some of the biggest sales fall on Presidents’ Day, Memorial Day, Veterans’ Day, and Labor Day.

OMG . . . Presidents’ Day is right around the corner!

Get ready . . .

Get set . . .

C~H~A~R~G~E!!!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Financial Advice for Today’s 20-Somethings (Charles Schwab)

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - January 28, 2017

No way! I’m a cash only gal. Happy Saturday, Nancy!

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

We charge for convenience and pay off the balance every month. We use cash for small purchases . . . and vending machines. 😀

2. Tippy Gnu - January 28, 2017

I pledge allegiance to my stores, in the United States of America . . .

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

Haha! I love it!

3. Ally Bean - January 28, 2017

I charge it, then pay for it within the month. That way I get to be patriotic– and clever about earning points on my credit card. It’s about the biggest win-win there is!

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

Same here . . . it’s more convenient not to carry a bunch of cash and I have better records of where the $$$’s went.

4. Kate Crimmins - January 28, 2017

I think I’m shopped out.

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

I dreamt about YOU last night, Kate.

You were working in a library & I stopped in with two co-workers. We didn’t have time for a true meet and greet so I went back the next day to see if you wanted to go out and get some pizza for lunch, only you weren’t working.

One day . . .

Kate Crimmins - January 28, 2017

If you are dreaming about me, you need to stop that night cap before you retire! 🙂

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

Ha! I haven’t had a drink in over a week. Wait! Maybe that’s the problem . . . 😀

The dream flowed from your post on shopping with co-workers and my comment about giggling over a pizza and chocolate . . . with swirls of the surreal (both of us working?!) tossed in for good measure.

5. Under the Oaks - January 28, 2017

I don’t carry any cash… ever! I charge all and pay my balance every month! Ditto on points!

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

Me too! But I don’t view it as “buying on credit” since we pay the balance off every month. Here’s to racking up points without racking up a mountain of debt!

6. L. Marie - January 28, 2017

Sad but true, Nancy.

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

In Simplify Your Work Life ~ Ways to Change the Way You Work So You Have More Time to Live, Elaine St. James addresses this issue in the section on Being More Efficient with Your Money:

* Unfortunately, our culture has operated on the belief that the appearance of wealth is more important than actual wealth. As a result, we have a nation of consumers up to their eyeballs in debt for products and services that make them look great but feel poor. [p. 162]

* [Many] people have bought into the popular cultural conditioning that tells us we’re not successful ~ we haven’t achieved the American Dream ~ unless we live in a big house, drive the latest cars, wear the hottest fashions, and own all the other “necessities” credit card debt can buy. We’re indoctrinated by television, magazines, movies, billboards, and advertising to believe not only that wealth equals worth but also that by appearing wealthy, we are wealthy. [p. 164]

* The fear of what one’s neighbors or family or friends might think often keeps us living beyond our means. . . . Consider the insanity of allowing your financial decisions to be based on the opinions of someone whose regard for you is ruled by the number of square feet you occupy. [p. 197]

When we spend all (or more than) we earn . . . we can’t get off the merry-go-round no matter how dizzy we feel.

7. anotherday2paradise - January 28, 2017

Seems like every day is president’s day at the moment. 😅

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

I try to steer clear of any mention of he-who-must-not-be-named.

anotherday2paradise - January 28, 2017

Very wise, Nancy.

8. Joanne Sisco - January 28, 2017

This would actually be funny if it wasn’t so accurate 😦
As usual, Tippy nailed it with his comment!

nrhatch - January 28, 2017

He did!

9. Debra - January 29, 2017

Boy, this is the truth! I often think to when I was young and my parents didn’t have a charge card for anything. If they didn’t have the cash to back up the purchase that was just the end of the story. I think of that sometimes when I’m tempted to be too free with flashing that plastic! 🙂

nrhatch - January 29, 2017

I’ve never been one to run up credit card debt . . . but I hate carrying wads of cash. So we charge “everything” and pay off the balance every month. The only debt we’ve ever had is student loans, mortgages, and auto loans (and, then, ONLY if the rate was super low so that it didn’t make sense to pay cash).

10. Behind the Story - February 1, 2017

When I heard Bush tell us to go out and shop after 9/11, I was shocked. It’s so crass. Do you remember that? I can’t remember exactly what he said, but the assumption was that shopping was patriotic.

With the changing economy, we not only have to find new jobs, we have to have a new attitude toward work. I’m not sure what it is. Historically, we went from 90% of the people working on farms to whatever small number it is now. People then must have thought it was impossible to find enough work for people if we didn’t all do farm work. Other changes: the 5-day work week, holidays, retirement. Maybe we don’t need as many full-time workers. And we certainly don’t need so many “things.”

nrhatch - February 1, 2017

I do remember that . . . “Don’t drop. Don’t stop. Just shop.” ACK!

In line with your last post (about Gaslighting), I highly recommend the movie DENIAL ~ based on a true story about David Irving (a Holocaust Denier) who sued historian Deborah Lipstadt for libel, issuing a complaint under British law requiring the American academic to prove that the greatest atrocity of World War II actually took place. Great cast, costumes, script, and story.

11. Bun Karyudo - February 1, 2017

We have a new regime in my apartment. Every penny is under house arrest for the next year. 🙂

nrhatch - February 1, 2017

And then they’ll all march out the door when your son leaves for college!

Bun Karyudo - February 1, 2017

Yep… 😦


What Say YOU?

