jump to navigation

Anger ~> From Apathy To Action January 1, 2017

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

220px-Alice_par_John_Tenniel_27Rainee shared an interesting quote about anger in her recent post on Notable Quotables:

“The world needs anger. The world often continues to allow evil because it isn’t angry enough.”
~ Bede Jarrett

I agreed with Bede.

Anger can be a useful motivator . . . moving us from apathy to action.

Donald-Duck-MadAnd not just to counter evil in the world.

For example, Donald (at left)  is angry that his pants “shrunk” and no longer fit his big fat duck butt.

That anger motivated him to get moving and go for a walk!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Happy New Year!

Good luck with your resolutions, whatever the motivation.

* * * * *

One’s life has value so long as one attributes value to the life of others, by means of love, friendship, indignation and compassion. ~ Simone de Beauvoir, French writer & philosopher

I adore that she included indignation (anger aroused by something unjust) in her short list . . . that type of anger often motivates positive change.

Comments»

1. Rainee - January 1, 2017

Thanks Nancy for linking to my post – a nice surprise 🙂

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Quotes are a terrific learning/teaching tool . . . thanks for sharing!

2. Jill Weatherholt - January 1, 2017

Poor Donald…I hope he gets back into those pants. 🙂 Happy New Year, Nancy!

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Donald can be the poster boy for any Get Moving resolutions!

Happy New Year, Jill ~ hope 2017 brings you lots of happy things.

3. Under the Oaks - January 1, 2017

I have Donald’s problem. I don’t do resolutions but I am motivated and determined to get out for my heart healthy walks!

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Good luck, Pix! BFF and I have been walking 2 miles most days and it makes such a difference to our moods, our energy levels, and our circumference!

To 2017!

4. Kate Crimmins - January 1, 2017

I had one of those mornings where nothing (clothing-wise) felt comfortable. It was the duck in me I’m sure as I haven’t gained weight. Sometimes I just get tired of stuff. Most (if not all) great upheavals were preceded by a lot of anger and dissatisfaction. I remember the 60s vividly.

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

I feel that way when it’s cold . . . I’ve never enjoyed bundling up in turtlenecks, bulky sweaters, socks, shoes, coats, hats, scarves, mittens, etc. I’m much happier on days when I can pull on capris and a t-shirt and be good to go. Anger/Annoyance with cold weather motivated me to move to Florida!

And, yes, the storming of the Bastille, the Boston Tea Party, the Civil Rights Movement, the Vietnam War protests . . . most stemmed from anger and dissatisfaction with the status quo.

I wonder if 2017 will be the year we get angry enough to upset the quo status?

Kate Crimmins - January 1, 2017

We can only hope. I am too old to do the walks and protests but hope the young’uns do! I will support them as I can.

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Yes . . . I won’t be joining in any sit-ins or walk-outs, but we can still spread the word and cheer from the sidelines!

5. suzicate - January 1, 2017

Interesting, I’d never thought of it like that…anger does motivate us to make changes! It has certainly motivated changes in the political system!

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

That’s probably why the quote resonated with me . . . because I hadn’t viewed anger as a spark for change before.

6. Tiny - January 1, 2017

I think I might have the same problem after the holidays…need to allow Dylan to double our walks and to speed them up 🙂

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Dylan suggested something along those lines in his recent posting ~ he might even make you RUN!

We’re just back from a 2 mile walk on the beach ~ glorious!

7. viviankirkfield - January 1, 2017

I’m still using an old Kathy Smith DVD called Moving Through Menopause…I love the 45 minute low impact aerobics that keep me limber and the arthritis at bay. And knowing how to channel anger/frustration into positive and constructive behaviors is a crucial life lesson we all need to embrace.
Wishing you the happiest and healthiest New Year, Nancy!

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Thanks, Vivian. Exercise really is the “fountain of youth” . . . as long as we don’t overdo it. I find daily walks are great for my mental, physical, and emotional well-being.

Good moves = Good moods!

Happy New Year!

8. Val Boyko - January 1, 2017

Anger is the spark of an unmet need within us. Let us listen out for it this year!
Hhmmm… I have the Donald’s problem too, but as I know I will be be welcomed with good food and wine in Scotland, I’m taking a size bigger with me.
I fully expect to be motivated when I get back 😉

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Sometimes it’s an unmet need . . . other times it’s just Ego always wanting MORE! 😉

That said, taking a moment to think about we need/want paves the way for creating positive change in our lives.

Sounds like a plan, Val ~> Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . .

9. Behind the Story - January 1, 2017

Or maybe Donald will learn that a hot dryer will shrink his pants.

All things in moderation: not too much anger, not too little. And always check if you have a valid reason to be angry.

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Of course! The dryer shrunk his pants.

Good point, Nicki. When we feel a flicker of annoyance or a blast of anger . . . it’s good to press pause for a moment. Choosing to act with mindful intention, rather than re-acting based on pre-conditioned responses, almost always results in a better result.

10. Barb - January 2, 2017

Mr. Duck and I have the same problem.

nrhatch - January 2, 2017

Too many quackers? 😀

11. L. Marie - January 2, 2017

I agree with Barb.
The right kind of anger is very motivating.

nrhatch - January 2, 2017

Here’s to getting off our butts!

12. Tammy - January 2, 2017

Unfortunately, I find the same motivation!

nrhatch - January 2, 2017

Good luck harnessing that motivation, Tammy!

13. poetsjasmineblog - January 12, 2017

LMAO… Awesome post. Yes, anger is a necessary evil. It’s a great thing that many people do end up expressing their anger one way or another.
But moderation is the key to success. Anger in moderation is a good thing and it’s a powerful motivator and resourceful tool. Brilliant article indeed. 🙂

nrhatch - January 12, 2017

Hope you find just the right balance!

poetsjasmineblog - January 12, 2017

Thank you. 🙂


What Say YOU?

