jump to navigation

Don’t Fence Me In December 31, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Less IS More, Life Balance, People.
trackback

xray-christmas-1Crowds give me claustrophobia.

I can’t breathe in close proximity to masses, hoards, or throngs.

When jostled by the hustle and bustle of other people . . . I head for the EXIT sign.

You will never see me in Times Square on New Year’s Eve!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Stolen Quote – Crowded (Chasing Unicorns)

* * *

How do you “ring in” the New Year?  Alone or With Friends?   In or Out?  Awake and Aware?  Sound Asleep?  Sleepwalking?  Sober? Intoxicated?

Mickey-OKHowever you choose to celebrate . . . Be Happy!

Our mood at midnight (as well as the type of food we eat) tends to follow us into the New Year.

And if you’re wondering what to eat . . . I have it on good authority that eating chocolate on New Year’s Eve will bring good luck in the new year.

Comments»

1. Under the Oaks - December 31, 2016

I do not like crowds either. No Times Square for me! Happy New Year’s Eve, Nancy! May 2017 be all that you and BFF want it to be!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Thanks, Pix. Remember to eat chocolate tonight. We saw a show on New Year’s traditions around the world a few years back that emphasized that eating chocolate on New Year’s Eve will improve one’s “luck” in the New Year.

We have an ample supply of chocolate at the ready . . .

Under the Oaks - December 31, 2016

I will eat some chocolate right after we choke down the creamed herring that has been a tradition in my family forever! I had never thought of eating chocolate to get rid of that creamed herring taste… ewwww!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Some traditions are more delicious than others! 😀

2. Val Boyko - December 31, 2016

Glad you got that one off your chest Nancy so you can head to the open beach this morning! Lucky you 💝

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

We are waiting until it warms up a bit. It’s 54 degrees at the moment ~ it never got out of the 60’s yesterday. It should be back in the 70’s later today and in the 80’s tomorrow. Yay!

Have a wonderful time in Scotland!!!

Val Boyko - December 31, 2016

Bbrrrr …. for today! Thanks Nancy 💛

3. Kate Crimmins - December 31, 2016

I’ve never liked to be in large crowds even when I was younger. Also claustrophobic. We can celebrate together, separately in different states with lots of space around us! Happy New Year!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Watching crowds can be fun . . . from a safe distance!

And, yes, let’s celebrate together tonight. Have chocolate at the ready!

Kate Crimmins - December 31, 2016

Watching on TV satisfied me at this point.

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Here’s to Wide Open Spaces!

4. Rainee - December 31, 2016

I agree with you there Nancy. Hope 2017 is kind to you :)!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Thanks, Rainee. I’ve got a post/blog you might enjoy:

https://momentswithmillie.me/2016/12/30/life-is-a-whim/

Rainee - December 31, 2016

Thanks Nancy. I will check it out 🙂

5. William D'Andrea - December 31, 2016

The New Year’s Day Celebration just doesn’t appeal to me at all. I have no intention of staying up late to watch the Events at Times Square. I intend to go to sleep at my normal time. I’ve been doing that for years, and I’ve never felt like I’ve missed out on anything.
Happy New Year Nancy and everyone!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Go you! I can’t think of a better way to greet the New Year than by being well rested after getting a good night’s sleep.

6. Jill Weatherholt - December 31, 2016

I’m with you, Nancy. I’ve never been a fan of crowds, even when I was younger. Have you seen all of the mall fights on the news lately? Crazy! I’ll take me, myself and I any day! Happy New Year!

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

I’ve heard about them . . . but haven’t seen any. Mostly because we only tune into the news for the weather.

“No news is good news.”

Happy New Year!

Jill Weatherholt - December 31, 2016

Amen to that!

7. roughwighting - December 31, 2016

I have claustrophobia and even get uncomfortable in elevators and subways; like you, I avoid crowds. My guy and I plan on having a quiet night in with a glass of cabernet, a cozy dinner in front of the fireplace (New England cold here) and YES chocolate for dessert. 🙂 Here’s to a sweet NEW YEAR.

nrhatch - December 31, 2016

Sounds like a wonderful way to greet the New Year!

8. Tiny - January 1, 2017

Oh, we are so on the same wavelength, Nancy. I had lots of chocolate last night 🙂 Happy 2017!

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Excellent! You’re sure to have Good Luck in 2017!

9. L. Marie - January 2, 2017

I rang in the New Year sound asleep in bed. That is until the fireworks and the texts from friends started rolling in after midnight.

nrhatch - January 2, 2017

We often don’t manage to stay awake until midnight on NYE . . . this year we did. We watched the ball drop and then popped into bed ~ happy that we didn’t have a long “commute.”

Happy 2017!


What Say YOU?

