jump to navigation

2016 “No News” Letter December 25, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

For those of you who have been waiting with bated breath for our 2016 “No News” Letter, here are the Top Ten Reasons we’re L~A~T~E this Season . . .

10.  It can’t be Christmas yet ~> we “just” packed the Santas away after ringing in the New Year.

9.  BFF turned 60 in October and we’re still celebrating . . . with leftover Halloween candy.

8.  When we go for beach walks, the throngs (and thongs) of sun worshippers make it seem more like July 4th than Christmas.

On the plus side:

No Snow => Ho!  Ho!  Ho!

7.  We hit the 80’s yesterday . . . and it was still 74 degrees at sunset!

Ya, mon!

6.  We enjoyed similar temps last weekend while touring the island with my brother’s family who flew in from Colorado and Chicago for Jess & Nate’s wedding.  (See Reason #3)

5.  Most of the Santas around here are dressed in Bermuda shorts and Panama hats.

4.  The only “snowmen” we see in Florida are made of sand or full of hot air.

3.  Jess wed Nate on 12/18 at Leu Gardens in Orlando ~>  it was so H~O~T that guests stayed in the shade until 3:58 pm before grabbing souvenir sunglasses and taking a seat.  (The minister lip-synched lyrics from Donna Summer’s “Hot Stuff” before the “I do’s.”)

2.  We lost some of our “Holly Jolly” and most of our “Fa La La” when Tigger took a turn for the worse right after the wedding.  Two days later we said good-bye to our little guy for the last time.

imgp5949

R.I.P. Tigger (July 2004 – December 20, 2016) . . . you are missed!

But the #1 Reason this missive is L~A~T~E ~>  I lose track of time when playing Bridge.

* * *

Life is full of high notes and low notes ~ the Yin and Yang of life.  We hope your Holidays are Merry & Bright and overflowing with Love & Light . . . ending your year on a high note.

ace25d2a-b137-46e2-b616-abb9c50b16cb

PEACE!

Comments»

1. Kate Crimmins - December 25, 2016

Loved your reasons, all sound! Send some warmth our way. We are having a heat wave (a heat wave in December is the 40s, not the 80s) but I could use a dose of warmth. One question…the thongs that you wear — shoes or underwear…nevermind. Better if I don’t know.

nrhatch - December 25, 2016

Some of the visitors don’t leave much to the imagination ~> they sport bathing suit bottoms that don’t cover their bottoms.

Kate Crimmins - December 26, 2016

Oy vay!

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Some of them should never have said sayonara to sarongs!

2. Val Boyko - December 25, 2016

The best of reasons. Love your list!
Merry Christmas again Nancy! Enjoy the customary stroll along the beach 💝
Speaking of yin and yang. My twin brother had a heart attack yesterday and is in hospital. With 2 stents in, he’s good to go on living for a while. Whew!

nrhatch - December 25, 2016

That’s scary! I’m glad he’s bouncing back. But the hospital is NOT a place I’d choose to celebrate Christmas.

We spent the day in Orlando with my sister’s family, including the newlyweds, two dogs, and a cat. FUN!

Val Boyko - December 26, 2016

Now that does sound like a great time. Its good to get away with no worries 💛

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Yes . . . no undercurrent of anxiety about needing to get home at a certain time to tend to Tigger. So we just relaxed into the NOW and enjoyed the moment.

3. Ally Bean - December 25, 2016

Love your list. So it’s hot where you are, eh? I wouldn’t mind the heat if there was a bit of sunshine to go with it. So gray and drab here… you have no idea. Happy Holidays to you and yours!

nrhatch - December 25, 2016

I enjoy wearing flip flops year round . . . but I was better at getting ready for Christmas when we lived up north and the weather outside was frightful. Here, the blue skies beckon and I have become a Pro-Crastinator!

4. Jill Weatherholt - December 25, 2016

Ugh…the dreaded Christmas letter…not a fan. I like yours better, Nancy. As for the weather, we were able to go for a two mile walk with temps in the mid 60’s. Merry Christmas, my friend!

nrhatch - December 25, 2016

Thanks, Jill. That great! Nothing like a walk to give us a good mood boost!

5. Under the Oaks - December 26, 2016

Peace, Nancy. I enjoyed your list but sad over Tigger. I always love the Santa pictures on the beach! Hope you and BFF had a wonderful Christmas Day!

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Thanks, Pix. We had a very pleasant day at my sister’s in Orlando yesterday ~ good food, fun games, and lots of laughs.

Plus PETS for us to play with. We gave Kokomo Tigger’s scratching post perch . . . and some catnip. She got “drunk.” We gave the dogs, Ray and Skylar, more that a few pats on the head. And they got big bad-ass bones which absorbed them for hours.

Still quiet here without the little guy, but we know it was “time.”

6. Luanne - December 26, 2016

Some very good reasons, but especially RIP Tigger. So sad, but I suspect Tigger had a good life with you. xo

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Thanks, Luanne. Tigger put a lot of LIFE into his years. We miss him, but are beginning to smile at memories of his comical antics and gestures. He was a tigger-rrific cat!

Luanne - December 26, 2016

Aw, those are the wonderful comforting memories!

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

I haven’t built up my “courage” to flip though the photos of him yet . . . but soon.

Luanne - December 26, 2016

I understand. I lost my Mac 1 1/2 years ago. Two of my cats that were close to him still look hopeful if they hear his name.

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Aww . . . that’s sweet. Cats do care!

7. William D'Andrea - December 26, 2016

A late Merry Christmas to everyone reading this!

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Merry Christmas, William! Hope your day was merry and bright.

William D'Andrea - December 26, 2016

Oh it was. My friends invited me to dinner at their house on Christmas Eve, where we ate lasagna. They also invited me to share Christmas Dinner at their house yesterday evening; where we has a full turkey dinner.
I was eating real good! And they gave me a large amount to take home. At my age, that’s the best Christmas present there could be.

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Awesome!

I made a lasagna last week for my brother’s visit . . . YUM!

8. Joanne Sisco - December 26, 2016

Life is definitely full of high notes and lows. I hope you’re singing mostly highs from here on out 🙂

nrhatch - December 26, 2016

Life is short. Bad things happen. I laugh whenever I can!

Joanne Sisco - December 26, 2016

Me too 🙂

nrhatch - December 27, 2016

It’s a good habit!

Even last week in the throes of despair, I found myself laughing while talking to someone about “silly stuff.” The more I laughed, the better I felt . . .

“We do not laugh because we are happy. We are happy because we laugh.”

9. Tammy - December 27, 2016

Happy holidays Nancy!

nrhatch - December 27, 2016

Thanks, Tammy! Right back atcha!

10. L. Marie - December 27, 2016

I wish all of the holiday newsletters I receive at Christmastime was like yours, Nancy.
Still thinking of you and Tigger this holiday season.

nrhatch - December 27, 2016

Thanks, Linda. We received only one LONG-WINDED newsletter this year . . . the rest were just brief highlights of high notes.

11. livelytwist - December 30, 2016

I’m sorry to hear about Tigger. Despite the loss, I’m glad that you’re ending your year on a high ‘hot’ note. Happy New Year in advance.

nrhatch - December 30, 2016

Thanks, Timi. Being “catless” is quite an adjustment. For one thing, now we have to boss ourselves around. 😉

Hope 2016 ends on a high note . . . and sets the stage for 2017.

12. Pocket Perspectives - December 30, 2016

Nancy, I’m so sorry for your loss of Tigger…what a gift he was in your life! Kathy

nrhatch - December 30, 2016

Thanks for the kind words, Kathy. He was a joy . . . except when he was a pain. 😉

Hope you have a Happy and Healthy start to the New Year!

13. Tiny - January 1, 2017

I am reading this letter right now…so you were not late at all. Btw all your reasons are very convincing 🙂

nrhatch - January 1, 2017

Thank you! Christmas does have a habit of sneaking up on me when the temps seem more like July than December.

Not that I’m complaining . . . this is MY kind of weather!

14. Debra - January 6, 2017

It did seem to sneak up on us, too! But this year we had rain. Can you believe it? I love Santa in his Bermuda shorts! You undoubtedly made a lot of people quite envious with your list! 🙂

nrhatch - January 6, 2017

I packed up the decorations today ~ surprising how fast the season came and went this year. WHOOSH!

How great that you had rain! It’s raining here right now. Things have been a bit dry, so it’s welcome.


What Say YOU?

