jump to navigation

Teaching Old Birds New Tricks! November 23, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Humor, Joke.
trackback

A young man named John received a parrot as a gift.

The parrot had a bad attitude and an even worse vocabulary.

Every word out of the bird’s mouth was rude, obnoxious, and laced with profanity.

John tried to change the bird’s attitude by saying only polite words, playing soft music, and encouraging the bird to “clean up” its vocabulary.

Finally, John had enough and yelled at the parrot. The parrot yelled back.  John shook the parrot.  In response, the parrot got angrier and even ruder.

John, in desperation, grabbed the bird and put him in the freezer. For a few minutes the parrot squawked and kicked and screamed.

Then, nothing.  Total quiet. Not a peep was heard for over a minute.

Fearing that he’d hurt the parrot, John threw open the door to the freezer.

The parrot calmly stepped out onto John’s outstretched arms and said, “I believe I may have offended you with my rude language and actions. I’m sincerely remorseful for my inappropriate transgressions and I fully intend to do everything I can to correct my rude and unforgivable behavior.”

John was stunned at the transformation in the bird’s attitude.

As John was about to ask the parrot what had caused such a dramatic shift in his attitude, the bird said, “May I ask what the turkey did?”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Inspiration:  e-mail from unknown author

To those in the States ~>  HAPPY (almost) THANKSGIVING!  

I am grateful for what I am and have. 
My thanksgiving is perpetual . . .  
O how I laugh when I think of my vague indefinite riches. 
No run on my bank can drain it 
for my wealth is not possession but enjoyment.

~ Henry David Thoreau

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - November 23, 2016

LOL! Poor Mr. Turkey. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 23, 2016

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Jill ~ with NO back talking birds!

2. Tippy Gnu - November 23, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 23, 2016

Gobble. Gobble. Pass the Nachos!

3. Under the Oaks - November 23, 2016

Hahaha! Happy (almost) Thanksgiving to you and BFF!

nrhatch - November 23, 2016

Hope you and CH have a warm and wonderful day tomorrow . . . with piles of good food and peals of laughter!

Under the Oaks - November 24, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving you two!

nrhatch - November 24, 2016

Thanks, Pix! Hope you had a belly full of laughs and a belly full of good food!

4. Ally Bean - November 23, 2016

Cute. Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 23, 2016

Thanks, Ally! Hope the day exceeds your expectations in all the right ways.

5. Kate Crimmins - November 23, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 23, 2016

Happy cooking AND eating, Kate! I’ll be making my way into the kitchen to do some prep work soon ~> our meal is easy to fix with no turkeys or foul-mouthed parrots to impede our progress!

6. A Walk into the Woods - November 23, 2016

Ha ha… That was a good one!

nrhatch - November 24, 2016

Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for swinging by our neck of the woods!

7. diannegray - November 24, 2016

Haaaa – so clever. Happy Thanksgiving, Nancy xxx

nrhatch - November 24, 2016

Thanks, Dianne! We had a very Happy Thanksgiving. Guests just left . . . now it’s time for us to dive into bed.

Tomorrow = LEFTOVERS! (My favorite!)

8. Tiny - November 25, 2016

Hehe…a clever bird! Aren’t they all 😀

nrhatch - November 25, 2016

Some birds are amazing. Others are dodo’s. 😉

9. Joanne Sisco - November 25, 2016

A most alarming wake-up call for the parrot!

nrhatch - November 25, 2016

Exactly!

10. L. Marie - November 26, 2016

Ha ha!!
I had a great Thanksgiving! Lots of good food and conversation.

nrhatch - November 26, 2016

Excellent! Just the way the day should be celebrated.

11. livelytwist - November 27, 2016

He should have put the parrot in the freezer much sooner! 🙂

nrhatch - November 27, 2016

It definitely changed the altitude of its attitude.

12. Debra - November 27, 2016

What a fabulous joke, Nancy! That’s one I’m going to share with my grandchildren. And thank you for the Thoreau quote. I love Thoreau and certainly know his attitude about being thankful and satisfied, but I didn’t have that quote in my memory. I would like to copy that one down and memorize it!

nrhatch - November 27, 2016

This Thoreau quote is one of my favorites ~ perfect for Thanksgiving!

Hope your grandkids enjoy the joke.


What Say YOU?

